Find companies:
Mobile Infirmary Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37 reviews

Mobile Infirmary Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for.
Charge/Staff Nurse, Coronary Care Unit (Former Employee), Mobile, ALOctober 2, 2014
Worked in the critical care unit on various shifts. Provided patient care with patients who had cardiac dysfunctions using hemodynamic monitoring and vasoactive agents for stabilization. Preceptor for nursing students and new employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like high school again
CT Technologist (Former Employee), Mobile, ALSeptember 25, 2014
Cons: no lunches most days
The work environment was very much like high school. If the team leader was unhappy with you, you were on your own in all aspect of the job. Even when help was needed for a patient's care. Unfortunately, no one in upper management are willing to hear that the team leader in this department was stealing time and working the system in every way she possibly – more... could. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Radiographer in O.R. (Former Employee), Mobile, ALJuly 23, 2014
Loved the challenge everyday. Enjoyed the team work with my co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers...just wish I could say that about the management
Lab Tech (Former Employee), Mobile, ALJuly 16, 2014
I was originally hired at a position which did not require much work. By the time I left I was doing about 4 different people's work as well as mine. It just slowly gets added on especially small things that management should be doing but dont want to do. They pulled everyone's sick time and compensations before it was time to retire and a lot of the – more... people working there should have retired long before but couldn't. Great place to use as a stepping stone, just don't plan on staying there for too long. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancing Enviroment
Outpatient Analyst (Current Employee), Mobile, ALJune 25, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: short breaks
Making sure is the most important is the biggest part of our department. Everyday we are constantly learning about a new form that has been created within the company. The hardest part about this job if the system is not functioning properly it slows down the production which can cause a major set back. The most enjoyable part knowing that we have completed – more... the task successfully without any errors – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant Atmosphere
Nursing Service/Staffing Secretary (Former Employee), Mobile, ALJune 25, 2014
While I was employed at Mobile Infirmary Medical Center I enjoyed my time there. My supervisors were insightful, helpful, energetic, understanding, & were pleasant to work with. I also enjoyed other employees that I worked with. During the timeframe of being at work, the time passed quickly because I was always surrounded by friendly and helpful people – more... that made my shift go by plesantly quick. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest Medical facility in Region
Telemetry Monitor Technician (Former Employee), Mobile, ALJune 7, 2014
Pros: heavy turnover- jobs usually available.
Cons: no breaks; broken/out-dated/lack of equipment;expensive medical coverage
Telemetry Monitor Tech:
Review 20 (ICU Units) to 50 (Cardiac room) patients per shift. Report and Chart Cardiac arrhythmias.
Report Time of Death.

Management not supportive of non-registered employees.

Co-workers very supportive, maintains high level of integrity of department.

Hardest part of the job is lack of respect and support of management.

Most – more... enjoyable part of job: interaction with patients; personal sense of growth in patient care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Job
Sterile Processing Technician (Former Employee), Mobile, AlMay 8, 2014
Pros: flexible with work schedule
Cons: very "family/friend orientend"
Clean surgical equipment
Sterilize equipment and linen
Prepare instruments for surgery
Answer phones
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, patients are great to work with, great co-workers and management
Diagnostic tech, Receptionist, Insurance Analyst (Former Employee), Mobile, alApril 30, 2014
Pros: free medical advice
Cons: micro management
sign in patients, collect insurance info. get orders from EMR from doctor for patient. file xrays, ekg, lab test, deal with doctors and management. the most enjoyable part of the job was the patients and seeing the smile on their faces.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
night shift
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), mobile alApril 8, 2014
very long nights and long am collections usually 30 t0 40 collections in the am rounds
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to be worked to death and not be appreciated this is the place for you
RN (Former Employee), Mobile, ALOctober 13, 2013
Pros: high salary initially. but only 2 tiny raises in 5 years :(
Cons: everything you can fathom
I took exactly zero vacations in 5 years at this "hospital". The management could care less how you feel, your recommendations for improvement in the work place, or the patients. They are interested in making money. Period. They will do anything make the most money they can. 7 and sometimes 8 Pts to one RN on a cardiac unit is not an acceptable ratio. – more... As soon as u try to take a vacation, question management, or look for another position elsewhere after you figure out they are a less than ideal facility, they will find a reason to fire you. Oh yeah, they're being sued by the federal government for 550+ million dollars in alleged Medicare fraud. Have fun with this one! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay. staffing was poor at the time
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Mobile, ALOctober 6, 2013
I haven't worked for this company in some years so I am not sure how much has changed. but back in 2006 when I did work there, the pay and help were inadequate
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, poor concern for employee wellbeing
Staff RN (Former Employee), Mobile, ALOctober 1, 2013
Pros: salary
Cons: poor management, overload of work
I made a little bit more poor hour while working at MIMC than I did at my previous job at a teaching hospital. The extra pay was not worth it. Nursing staff is treated horrible by MDs (cursing at nurses, treated nurses like they are stupid). My nurse manager never helped when we were shorthanded. Nurses hardly ever got a lunch since we were always understaffed – more... and had complicated patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Phlebotomist Technician (Current Employee), Mobile, ALSeptember 28, 2013
a typical day at work will consist of collecting 30-40 blood specimens a day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced a people learning experience.
Admissions Assistant (Former Employee), Mobile, ALSeptember 23, 2013
Cons: angry hostile people.
This job was a job that built on people skills and trust in your fellow man. A job to learn compassion and the love for your fellow human being. The people I worked with were full of life and driven. From the people on admissions staff to the doctors and nurses. I really liked this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited opportunity for advancement.
Medical Electronics Technician (Current Employee), Mobile AlabamaSeptember 1, 2013
Pros: hours, diversity of employees
Cons: limited advancement, poor leadership development
None or very insignificant raises in several years of employment. Seems to not like to promote from within. Excellent opportunity to develop customer service skills in a Medical setting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work experience.
Record Analyst (Former Employee), Medical Record DivisionAugust 8, 2013
Mobile Infirmary Medical Center was a excellent company to work for and provided a great experience to start my work career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning how to be a nurse
RN (Former Employee), Mobile, ALAugust 5, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: hours
Treating patients as doctor orders, operating medical equipment, managing charts and discharging patients. Learned how to treat and help patients.Management could be trying at times, co workers were great and supportive. Hardest part was hours. Loved caring for patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work with many discounts
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Mobile, ALJuly 8, 2013
Pros: employee discounts/payroll deductions for meals, uniforms, and gift shop purchases
Cons: short breaks and lunches (the cafeteria is too far away from the lab location).
A typical day at work would be during the early morning hours an early morning collector (someone who starts at 2, 3, or 4 am) would be assigned floors. That collector could have anywhere between 15 and 40 patients to stick depending on the workload. These early morning collectors would have to have these labs drawns and resulted by 7 am when the doctors – more... would take a look at the results and base their decisions on those levels. After 7 am the supervisor would keep track of how many labels would be on the board whether they were stats, urgents, or rountines. The management and co-workers were easy to work with in terms of helping you whenever you had a hardstick or if a patient refused to have their labs drawn. The hardest part of the job was sticking babies and children but it had to be done and the most enjoyable part of the job was the people I met while performing my duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high fast paced environment........
Unit Secretary (Current Employee), Mobile, AlMay 8, 2013
Pros: flexibility with scheduling days off
Cons: holidays, weekends, no raises, lack of being able to take full break
Overall a good place to work, very fast. Can hardly get a full break without being interrupted. Pays better than all the other hospitals but haven't had a raise since I have been there. Food in new cafeteria is expensive and nasty.