Modell's Sporting Goods

Modell's Sporting Goods Employee Reviews

Found 401 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs a lot of work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Valley Stream, NYDecember 8, 2016
Management is rude. I learned co workers and management gossip too much.The hardest part of the job consists of rude customers, rude employees and lack of teamwork. I enjoy when the store is slow. and when they actually accomplish goals, which is rare.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique and one of a kind
Intern Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYDecember 7, 2016
Its struggt at home with no interruption of a noisy crowded office. In addition, you set your own rules and own pace. Success is all in the hands of the beholder.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 1, 2016
providing customer service , very diverse, handling money transaction. work with your schedule, being able to provide for my customers when needed was the best part
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modells is one of the leading sporting goods companies in the US.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 30, 2016
Modells Sporting Goods is one of the leading sporting goods companies in the United States of America. It is a very challenging but yet rewording place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
modells
Sporting Goods Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 30, 2016
it was a very good work environment management was very helpful and respectful they really do care and if you needed any accommodations they would really try to help you in any way possible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 28, 2016
hours always get cut. you can go from working 32 hours per week to only 14 hours. managers don't care about you or your health only the store. my manager was rude.
Pros
discounts which isn't much
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales associate
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  white plains roadNovember 27, 2016
-they have a great team and its a very easy going job,
-They welcome new employees with opened hands
-union company
-normally gets busy during the afternoon and closing times of the day
-very good co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terribleeee
Sales Associate and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 21, 2016
Terrible. Not a place where you can grow. Manager was terrible. Communication sucked. Unfair workplace where favoritism is highly noticeable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting job.
Sales Associate, Footwear Associate (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 21, 2016
Learned a lot from this place. Got great training as soon as I started. Management was also very helpful. The scheduling was also very flexible, even when they call you in when no other associate is available to work that day.
Pros
Flexible hours, open opportunity
Cons
short lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJNovember 21, 2016
Met a lot of great people but we all agreed that we weren't being treated fairly. New manager abused his poor and threatened to fire everyone and bring his staff from his old job to take our place. A lot of stolen merchandise. However, I did enjoy working with my coworkers and helping out our customers. I obtained more knowledge that I could use to better myself as a sales associate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced!
Sales Representative/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 16, 2016
I honestly miss working here, just not the pay. The company is built like a family, you actually get to meet the CEO, I was even on the news a few times during local sporting events!
Pros
Discounts, You can cash your check there, hours
Cons
Mostly management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fast pace environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 12, 2016
I love dealing with the customers and helping them find desired products of their choice. I learned how to be a great listener and great communicator because you never know who you will run into.
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good work place
Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 1, 2016
My co-workers were the best to me and the management was good and they told me everything I needed to do the best I can do working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive , Fun place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 26, 2016
Very good experience, it was only a temporary position but i enjoyed my time there. Great people great energy. I've learner how to stock, help ad greet customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 25, 2016
I did not enjoy working there, however, I may not have much of an opinion due to the fact that I was just seasonal. I was laid off after 87 days or a 90 day probation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family orientated environment
Key Person/Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 24, 2016
I loved working at models. the managers were really cool and down to earth. However the pay sucked even being part of core staff. Everyone was always friendly and work was never a regular boring day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing!
Multiple Positions (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYOctober 22, 2016
I love the Modells in Times Square. The managers were awesome. The employees are nice and when I worked with them, they treated all the new workers with respect.
Pros
Lunch breaks, able to hold merchandise after work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service while providing help in multiple departments
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 20, 2016
fitness department, which consists of helping customers to the fullest and giving them accurate information upon products they may be seaking in order to reach fitness goal. Also assisted in clothing and sneaker departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day at work
Sales (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJOctober 18, 2016
 Greet and assist customers.
 Ensure high levels of customer satisfaction.
 Maintain floor area clean.
 Remain knowledgeable on store products.
 Work as a team with coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strict and boring , it's all about the customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 17, 2016
While working at Modell's the customers are the most fun and entertaining part of your day, whether you're helping them look for clothes, ringing up their items or simply just standing having a casual conversation they are the highlight of probably all employee's work day. The job often is very boring when it's a slow day but employees weren't allowed to mingle or have our phones on the work floor which would make time seem like it's moving slower than normal. The managers were very strict about what they wanted to do and had their favorites that they would joke with.
Pros
Assosciate appreciation week
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Modell's Sporting Goods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 408 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

Modell's Sporting Goods Reviews by Location