Find companies:
Modell's Sporting Goods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
138 reviews

Modell's Sporting Goods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modells
Store Manager (Current Employee), Cherry Hill NJSeptember 5, 2014
Modells is a good place to work for. The hardest part of the job is working with union hourly employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 31, 2014
Maintaining a clean and safe environment for customers, suggesting different styles and retrieving merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest and Oldest Family Owned and Operated Sporting Goods Retailer
VP Strategic Store Planning & Visual Merchandising (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 25, 2014
Pros: team bonding such as themed lunches: (world cup, super bowl, cinco de mayo)
A passionate, busy and fast paced organization from top to bottom. No two days are the same and management and associates work together on all projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lakewood, NJAugust 25, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: not enough hours
Enjoyed working there. Co-Workers made the day go by. Management was great, very helpful and friendly.

Work hours were sometimes lacking. Almost overstaffed at times, and was difficult to find work causing large periods of down time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a good experience
Cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 20, 2014
this was my first job so i learned how to handle the money and loved to be a cashier
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Job was ok as a stepping stone
Sales Associate (Former Employee), new York, NYAugust 15, 2014
Pros: nice co-workers
Cons: short breaks, low pay
I enjoyed my co-workers but i felt they used me for what they could get. I was in training to become an apparel manger and instead they hired someone from the outside which wasn't fair to me. But i did like my co-workers aside from that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviroment but not much chance to advance
SALE ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Bronx,NYAugust 14, 2014
Pros: schedule flexibility, co-workers, weekly pay
Cons: short breaks, benefits, store location
The people I worked with and the schedule flexibility were the main reasons I remained in Modells. I've learned that teamwork really makes a significant difference when handling big work loads and that being patient is essential when dealing with customers. The hardest part of my job was to close and recover three departments by myself at the end of – more... the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working retail isn't a career of interest
Associate (Current Employee), Bronx, NYAugust 14, 2014
Pros: working amongst people
Cons: pay, benefits
A typical day of work consist of routine, maintaining store cleanliness throughout the day, repetitive customer service.
The best part maybe working along with co-workers, and giving customers an overall great shopping experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment!
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Bronx, NYAugust 5, 2014
Modell's Sporting Goods is a great company to work for; it is family owned which makes the atmosphere that much comfortable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, diverse and fun environment
Operations Manager /Key Holder (Current Employee), valley stream nyAugust 4, 2014
Pros: good healthcare benefits
Cons: no 401k for hourly asociates
typical work day consist of price changes, processing trucks. doing safe proof, morning meeting prior to store opening. Making sure all cash till balance and the daily bank deposit is complete. making sure web fulfillment are processed and ready for pick up and customer service.
I learned how to prioritize task and complete them in a timely manner.
co – more... workers are very diverse in culture which make work a little more interesting.
the hardest part of the job is trying to get all the other manners to follow up with associates who are given specific task or making sure associates are productive at all times.
the most enjoyable part of the job is knowing I can help someone with whatever their looking for whether it is a customer or my fellow co worker. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was great with training
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Manchester, NHJuly 27, 2014
Pros: healthcare and benefits were good
Cons: wasn't any real room for advancement
10 hour work day, communication is #1,training and customer service is key to a strong business. Not having enough time in a day to get everything done was hard. I enjoyed all the associates that I had the pleasure to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Cashier/Footwear Associate (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJuly 24, 2014
• Low pay for amount of work needed to be done.
• At the time, management was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modell's Sporting Goods
General Manager (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 16, 2014
Day to day overseeing, handle deposits, train and coach associates. I learned how to manage a team and run a store. Management was good. Co workers were okay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Eatontown, NJJuly 16, 2014
Its a fun place to work. They was flexible with hours. MAngers was very funny. They should build one in ga.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced work environment
Customer & Sales Associate (Former Employee), Warminster, PAJuly 14, 2014
Slow store, not many sales or customers unless it was a holiday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hated it
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Paramus, NJJuly 10, 2014
nothing to say about working in modells, the management was awful, id word 2 day n not be scheduled to work the next 3 weeks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn customer service
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 30, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: no benefits, pay
A typical day at work would consist of coming in cleaning up the store then counting money getting the day started and letting customers in and being a cashier all day. Everyone helps out you're moving around helping everyone where help is needed. You may help out in apparel, footwear, and sporting goods as well. I learned a lot of customer service – more... and how to handle different situations. Management were very personable easy to get along with as well as the staff. Hardest part were hours/pay. Most enjoyable part would be working with people and expanding customer service knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment.
Cashier (Former Employee), Holmdel, NJJune 26, 2014
Pros: gift cards for working hard.
Modell's taught me a lot with working in the different areas of the store from a apparel to sports. There were times where I didn't know much about a sport when it came down to measurements with balls. mitts, bats, weights & etc. Coming into work everyday I would always want to work more in the sport section because I wanted to learn everything possible. – more... Learning everything about a sport would definitely help me help the customer a lot more. Overtime time I've learned a lot, which made improvements in customer service for me. My team were the greatest people to work with when it came to helping one another and customers. We worked and had fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace but need a change
Sporting Goods Department Manager (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJJune 24, 2014
I've been at Modell's for about 18 yrs. I've seen the many changes. Some good and some bad. I'm at a time in my life that I believe that retail is not for me anymore.
Unfortunately it's my only job so I don't really know anything other than retail so it's hard for me to start over from scratch.
I don't take failure well so I always stride for perfection. – more... I don't deal with failure well. People say you won't learn without failing once. This is probably why I haven't ventured out and tried something new. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modell's
Sporting Goods Department Manager (Current Employee), Paramus, NJJune 5, 2014
Fun place to work. You have the ability to show your skills. Customer service based.

1 2 3 4 5

About Modell's Sporting Goods

MODELL'S SPORTING GOODS is the nation's largest family-owned sporting goods chain, operating stores throughout the Northeastern – Read more

Modell's Sporting Goods Photos