Find companies:
Modern Woodmen of America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Modern Woodmen of America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but bad training.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Salem, ORAugust 8, 2014
Pros: great team, good pay
Cons: not very good training in how i learn.
When hired on I was not given any real direction on how to properly go my job. I was told to read a manual and that was it. The manual only covered bits of what they really want from you. Manager was great, he just needed to let things go so I could do my job more efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Services
Financial Representative (Former Employee), Denver, COJuly 31, 2014
An educational atmosphere to learn in. Gained valuable knowledge in financial services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rigid company to work for
Clerk (Former Employee), Rock Island, ILMay 2, 2014
Compensation and benefits are good. Very controlled work environment. Company does not place a lot of trust in their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management, great support
Financial Representative (Current Employee), Greenwood, INApril 9, 2014
Pros: great managers and directors
Cons: commission only
Modern Woodmen of America is a great company. Working as a Financial Representative for MWA is a challenging and rewarding experience. You have the opportunity to build your own business with the support of great managers and directors. I appreciate all of the support that I received, both from managers and co-workers. The hardest part of the job was – more... being paid by commission only. I know that potentially you can make a great living with MWA but it is very hard when you are first starting out and have a family. I am the sole earner in my family and it is hard when the payment is commission based with no salary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization to work for - if you can make it
Financial Representative (Current Employee), New HampshireApril 2, 2014
Pros: unparalleled benefits. great managers.
Cons: 100% commission.
The managers, employees, and administration were all excellent in my experience. They worked very hard to help me make it in a difficult career. In the end, I couldn't make enough sales to live on the commission (the job is 100% commission based).

Still, for someone starting out in the business, I don't think there's a better place to look. MWA has – more... a great compensation package that is designed to help out new agents as much as possible, and everyone is willing to go above and beyond normal work requirements to help with getting started.

Plus, MWA does a TON to help local communities and families in need, and they allow their agents to find and help those people directly. There really is a lot of job satisfaction while helping people, because you know that MWA will do everything possible to take care of it's members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place where you make alot of phone calls
Administrative assistant (Former Employee), topeka, ksFebruary 16, 2014
you make alot of phone calls and work mostly on a computer. The management is flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Even if you work hard you still don't get paid enough!!!!!!!
Financial Representative (Former Employee), Louisville, KYFebruary 13, 2014
Cons: no pay, no support from management
This job is 100% commission! I worked in sales for seven years in the telecommunication industry and did an awesome job. I won trips, cars, tons of bonuses, incentives, etc.... The point I am trying to make is that I know how to sell but this just doesn't work. Where I'm located no knows who Modern Woodmen of America. Modern Woodmen of America is a – more... very conservative Christian close minded organization. No matter how well you sell unless you know somebody higher up in the company or their clientele you won't be successful period. If you try it make sure you have lots of money saved up........Good luck – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Data Entry (Student Employee) (Former Employee), Rock Island, ILDecember 16, 2013
Pros: employee oriented
Always something new to learn about the company and things that are done in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture-driven company with many opportunities for growth.
Workflow Analyst (Former Employee), Rock Island, ILNovember 4, 2013
Pros: very flexible and accommodating to personal needs.
Cons: culture-driven vision may limit growth as a company.
I thoroughly enjoyed my time working at Modern Woodmen of America as I received many opportunities to add variety to my job. I also enjoyed working with and developing relationships with co-workers as well as field agents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building a business for yourself but NOT by yourself
Regional Director (Current Employee), Nashville, TNFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: unlimited income potential, high impact with your community and peers and independence within your work schedule.
Cons: if you don't have the ability to build relationships with people, this position may not be the best fit.
Modern Woodmen is a very fiancially strong conservative company that is proud of its rich history and culture. I love the fact that within the Middle TN region, we still say the pledge and prayer before every meeting. You must have a servants heart because fraternally financial reps are very involved within there communities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place to grow as a leader!
Regional Director (Current Employee), Sioux Falls SDFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: ability to earn a great living while impacting people in a positive way!
As a fraternal financial services organization, Modern Woodmen helps people plan for their future, while at the same time giving back to the local community, truly the best of both worlds. The pathway to leadership program provides the right candidate with a track to follow and to grow and advance as a leader with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest, Intelligent Effort is Always Rewarded Here!
Managing Partner (Current Employee), Cumming, GAFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: atmosphere, benefits, compensation, products
I have served in management positions with other industries for over 15 years. However, I wanted something more stable and lucrative! I definitely found that in Modern Woodmen! Through their Pathway to Leadership program, I entered Management after one year and am now on my way to a career for which I always dreamed! It's hard work - don't think you – more... just show up and business comes to you. However, the people are incredible. The Home Office is supportive. Training is world-class. My Regional leadership is top-notch. And the benefits are unparalleled! If you have an entrepreneurial spirit, there is no better place to be! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impact and Security
Regional Director (Current Employee), Indianapolis IndianaFebruary 22, 2013
Pros: philanthropic. extremely upwardly mobile, fun
Cons: no place to hide or coast
I've worked for Modern Woodmen for almost 8 years now and it has been the best career move of my life. I have been able to help hundreds, maybe thousands of people reach financial security and my family has benefitted greatly from it. I'm able to be very active in my children's schools, the community, and all other sorts of charitable interest. Furthermore, – more... I been able to advance into a leadership role to have an even bigger impact on my community. I would recommend Modern Woodmen of America to anyone with an entrepreneurial spirit, a servant's heart and a deep desire to be successful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Compensation, Extensive Benefits package, A+ Financial Rating
Financial Representative (Current Employee), ColoradoFebruary 22, 2013
Pros: be in business for yourself but not by yourself
If you're interested in commissioned sales, but don't want to pay a company to work for them (like the real estate industry model), look no further. Modern Woodmen has an in-depth training program for new Representatives, offers proven systems to manage your business and provides fraternal programs to help new Representatives develop relationships personally – more... and at the local community level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern Woodmen
Financial Representative (Former Employee), Greeneville, TNDecember 5, 2012
I didn't do well enough to give a good review. It was my fault, not their fault.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100% Commission-based; Great Community Values
Financial Representative (Former Employee), Alcoa, TNDecember 4, 2012
Pros: community values
Cons: 100% commission-based
Zero salary, commission-only. Was difficult to do in this economy. Company gives lots of money to local organizations and provides great educational tools and opportunities for schools.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity
Management (Current Employee), FloridaDecember 4, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule, opportunity for advancement, income, helping people, the culture
A great place where you can retire. Not everyone is cut out for this business however it is very rewarding for those who are. The truly successful advisors view this career as a calling and a way to help people. The company has great systems to follow, great products, and opportunity for advancement. The culture is a culture of giving and helping others. – more... For those of us who work here we have found some of our life long friends through this great company.
This career is more will than skill you have to be willing to do the work and the skill will come, along with the income. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be right for the right person
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Layton, UTNovember 15, 2012
Pros: flexibility of time and schedule. great earning potential
Cons: always prospecting, always. if not you won't make it
It's a tough career. I've seen more people leave it than have done well. Those that do well can make a great living and enjoy a lot of flexibility and freedom. It takes the right person and the right drive and there are people who fit that role. My experience is that most do not. If you are not afraid to prospect and don't mind doing it a lot, you will – more... be successful – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Come Up With 100-200 Friends and Relatives To Prospect
Agent - Sales (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MINovember 5, 2012
Pros: you are selling to friends and family.
Cons: you are selling to friends and family.
First you will need to come up with 100-200 friends and relatives to try and sell a fair amount of products that Modern Woodman offers.

From those friends and relatives you visit, you then try to get names of their friends and neighbors to go to after you've went though all the people you know.

From those names, phone numbers, and people you visit, – more... you try to get information of their friends, relatives, and neighbors to go and see. It never stops. That's basically how do all your prospecting in the first several months.

Be prepared to drive/travel to where these people live, or work, and that might not be in your local area. Just like anything, if you work hard you have the opportunity to succeed. It is not a fast track to fortune however, and you might lose some friends in the process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Built on a great culture of leadership and fraternalism!
Internet Recruiting Coordinator (Current Employee), Rock Island, ILSeptember 14, 2012
Pros: amazing benefits for our field! you earn what you are worth. no limit on income!
Our financial representatives and managing partners provide financial security to our members, however, they also are heavily involved in their local communities through fraternalism. We are a general fraternal, therefore, there is no religious or political affiliation to become a member of Modern Woodmen of America. Being fraternal is very important – more... and is part of Modern Woodmen's culture. Fraternal benefits to our members include college scholarships, fraternal aid funding, grief assistance program, and much more. Other benefits that we give to our local community include youth education programs, planting trees, youth service clubs, and matching funds projects.
As you can see, individuals that we are interested in pursuing a career with us have to be more than just good at sales. We look for individuals who want to grow as leaders, because that is what we do and have been doing for over 125 years. – less

About Modern Woodmen of America

Modern Woodmen of America is a fraternal benefit society based in Rock Island, Ill. Modern Woodmen serves more than 760,000 members – Read more