Find companies:
MOKA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

MOKA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place where I have grown a lot with the different people I have come to know.
Residential Support Staff (Current Employee), Muskegon, MIMarch 25, 2014
Pros: flex-time
Cons: no upward mobility
I begin my shift by checking in with the staff and finding out how the individuals day went. I then begin bed checks and checking our individuals, making sure they are comfortable, toileting, and readjusting them. I then begin cleaning the home and checking on the individuals periodically. I pass medications and give showers, hygiene, cook meals, and – more... transport them to day programs.
I get along with all staff, communication and acceptance is vital. The hardest part of my job is trying to comfort and care for someone without a voice. I have to really watch body language and all nonverbal cues to gather information. My greatest joy is when I do break through and I make someones day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Find another company!
RSS (Current Employee), West MichiganJanuary 25, 2014
Work for MOKA if you enjoy coworkers who are always late and don't do their job and a management that knows, but doesn't care because if they followed policy and dismissed these workers, they'd have to work the open shifts.
The goal of the company is wonderful and working with adults with disabilities and helping them to change their lives is AMAZING.... – more... it's the company its self that needs a lot of work and restructuring. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many problems to stay...
CLS worker (Former Employee), MichiganJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: i loved the time i got to be with the individuals i served
Cons: i missed having coworkers, i was always on my own
**Inconsistent hours/ clients often ended earlier than was scheduled
**No compensation for no call/no shows
**Mileage compensation was very low, and there was a TON of driving involved
**Workplace environment was often hazardous
**Management was not quick to help
**There were a lot of additional expenses that were not compensated (plans included community – more... events/outings and those came out of my pocket) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
realy
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Muskegon, MINovember 1, 2013
sexist.i was placed in a dangerous high behavior home because i'm
male.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Direct Care Staff (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIMay 28, 2013
Persons with a disability has always been a rewarding career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place of employment but hours are not consistant
Community Living Support Aide (Former Employee), Allegan, MIMay 15, 2013
Pros: positive environment
Cons: lack of consistency
Great people to work with. Management was great with communication and direction. Only down fall is the lack of consistent hours. Hours frequently fluctuate do to individual need and services required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with the consumers...
RSS (Current Employee), OttawaMay 10, 2013
Cons: you top out at 10 dollars, no breaks, corporation has lost sight of it's mission statement!
I've worked for this company for approx. 10 years, I've enjoyed working with the consumers and I think that's what has kept me with the company. When I first started, the company valued it's employees and worked hard to deliver on its mission statement. Over the years this organization has lost sight of why there in business and who actually keeps it – more... running. They fail to realize that its the "direct care staff" who keep the consumers living as much as a normal life as possible... you'd think that by all the over turn in staffing, they'd see that they must be failing some where. It starts from the TOP!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working with indiviuals at MOKA.
Residential Support Staff (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIDecember 30, 2012
I take my job very serious. I believe that everyone deserves to have a meaningfully and productive life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to be
Direct Care Staff/Home Shopper (full-time) (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MINovember 25, 2012
Co-workers and management are great. many people are college students, and everyone is very flexible with switching shifts with each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work that is very need
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Muskegon, MINovember 14, 2012
Pros: company organized well
Cons: site seeing while driving
working with many disablities was challagen some goals were met some not.The team of co-workers was great,helping someone learn different thing in life was the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work..
Direct Care Worker (Current Employee), Muskegon, MIOctober 24, 2012
Pros: lunch is free, enjoy alot of the outing
Cons: healthcare
I enjoyed the challenges, every day is drifferent. my bosses are firm and great.
i have been learning more and more about Moka
Enjoy working with my co-workers
te hardest thing is leaving the guys at the end od my shift.

.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Just loved working for this company.
Residential Support Staff (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIAugust 15, 2012
Pros: great bonuses
Cons: no time managed breaks.
full of adventure, I learned that taking part in someone's life makes you feel like a better person. Hardest part of the job was dealing with high behaviors. Most enjoyable part was seeing the residents smile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hours were not stable.
Direct Care Worker (Former Employee), Allegan, MIJuly 24, 2012
Pros: enjoyed working with my clients.
Cons: low pay, no insurance, hours unpredictable from day to day
I again enjoyed working with the clients I was assigned to. Staff were very over worked.Schedules were always changing without me knowing. Which made it very hard for my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 Stars
Mentor (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIApril 16, 2012
Moka is a great place to work if you have a passion to work with individuals with developmental disabilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun atmosphere with a fast pace environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), 1023 Broadway NMarch 12, 2012
its a great company that is a lot of fun to work for. It is a fast moving environment with an emphasis on customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low paying with much expected from MOKA
Community Living Support (Current Employee), Allegan officeSeptember 16, 2011
Cons: split shifts
I work for MOKA as a Community Living Support provider. I enjoy the individuals I work with, but the company does little to provide support for the CLS worker. The job requires a lot of traveling but only reimburses for miles driven while working with an individuals. I work shifts that range from 2 to 4 hours and if the shifts are not back to back the – more... cost of driving to these shifts comes out of my pocket. The job also requires excessive paper work and there isn't always time to do the paperwork during the shift, so time spent filling out the paper work is often done on my own time w/o compensation from MOKA. – less