Find companies:
MoneyGram
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
58 reviews

MoneyGram Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Tech IV (Former Employee), Lakewood, COOctober 30, 2014
Costly benefits. Work hours good.
Management good.
Training good
Work environment good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good working in Moneygram
Sr. ETL/BI Developer (Former Employee), MinneapolisOctober 8, 2014
• Involved in designing logical and physical model for staging and target data base.
• Performed high level and detail design for outbound data extracts from Central data warehouse.
• Worked with XML sources and targets, flat files.
• Wrote UNIX shell scripts to work with flat files, to define parameter files and to create pre and post session commands.
 – more... Simplified the development and maintenance of ETL by creating Mapplets, Re-usable transformations to prevent redundancy.
• Configured the mappings to handle the updates to preserve the existing records using Update Strategy Transformation.
• Identified and fixed bottlenecks and tuned the complex Informatica mappings for better Performance.
• Involved in BW Data load scheduling, monitoring and troubleshooting data extraction and load problems.
• Created complex mappings which involved Slowly Changing Dimensions, implementation of business logic and capturing the deleted records in the source systems.
• Exclusively used Informatica optimization techniques like push down optimization and pipeline partitioning.
• Performed peer code reviews to ensure compliance with ETL standards.
• Coordinating when and how environments would be deployed.
• Enhanced system performance by optimizing and tuning database objects and ETL processes.
• Extensively involved in recovery process for capturing the incremental changes in the source systems for updating in the staging area and data warehouse respectively. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Worst Company in DFW as of Sept 24, 2014
Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: free parking
Cons: unstable, low pay, plenty of stress, horrible insurance and much more
Moneygram is the worst company to work for! Very unprofessional and the culture is horrid. They have a 67% perecent turnover and FOR A GOOD REASON. The employees are leaving this company at a higher rate then Enron. The employees are all new including the managers who have ALL been there less than 1 year. If you are looking for unstable and to take – more... a step back in your career then MoneyGram is the place. Don't be fooled, like I was by the Recruiter on false promises- they hide it well. Once you are hired, it will take you less than 2 months to fugure out why your position was a replacement role. Majority of all MoneyGram openings are replacement roles from previous employees quitting. Please ask!
You have been warned as of 9/24/2014. Very unstable, low pay and plenty of stressful days! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an "Our Employees are our Greatest Asset" Employer
Former Employee (Former Employee), All Over, USASeptember 5, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: unreliable
MGI is a machine. Its employees are nothing compared with its bottom line, and it pays little mind to the impact its profit-driven changes have on the people who change their lives to work for it. One day you are working hard, happy and looking forward to the future, and the next you are being supervised while you pack your things and escorted out of – more... the offices. When its good its good, but when you're out you're out like a criminal. Soulless. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement and highly unstable
Compliance Analyst (Current Employee), Frisco, TXSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: access to the building with the badge nearly any time
Cons: micromanagement, monitoring constantly, low pay, far commute, no advancement, etc.
MoneyGram is a corporation that has to play the number's game with its contractors like myself. We are let go anytime they cannot afford our services, or if we slack off at all. Many of the contractors have been hired on full time. I have been here almost a year and am still a contractor. People doing the same job as me are getting payed significantly – more... more because for one reason or another they were hired over me. There just seems to be hope one minute, and then the next you feel you may be let go. It is highly competitive, but feels more like a popularity contest than performance based. Even if it were both, I would have a very high chance of not hearing one way or the other how I'm doing or even what I should work on. No room for advancement, no real communication with supervisors, and no accolades other than at the quarterly meetings. Not very satisfying work for me, ready for a change. The bright side to this company is the fact that they have kept me around over many others over time, I just wish it was more clear how to apply for a full time position instead of finding out 6 months in how that process works.
And if you are hired on full time, you get many obvious benefits, like covered parking, or a lenient schedule, or three to four times the pay that I receive. Very short lunch breaks that are not paid for as well. No paid time off, no benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad to see the changes
Supervisor - Technical Support Center (Current Employee), Denver, COAugust 18, 2014
When I started, the environment was dynamic, exciting and engaged. Employees were encouraged to contribute and often did far more than the confines of their job descriptions. Management communicated quickly across multiple levels of the organization. However over the last several years, the environment in Operations became progressively less engaged, – more... less optimistic, and less informed as cost cutting efforts took their toll on employee contributions and morale.

As of 2014, the Operations division will be off shored or outsourced, and obviously these mass layoffs have had a dramatic negative impact on engagement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place
Assist customers and agents (Current Employee), Lakewood coloradoAugust 5, 2014
I got so much better with my computer skills because of my Jo here. The co worker are always there to help when you need help. All the supervisors are very detail oriented and make sure the company keeps it great reputation. The Hardest part of my job is waking up everyday at 12 am to be at work at 1 am. what i love mostly is putting a smile on those – more... customers faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible would be an improvement
Senior Compliance Operations Analyst (Current Employee), DallasJuly 23, 2014
Pros: very skilled employees
Cons: from a-z; far to many to name as well as illegal actions.
MoneyGram is a dead end career that has numerous talented and skilled employees however they are never promoted. Work life balance is awful, you aren't asked to work overtime just forced to. Benefits are also very poor with each year getting worse. Management is very unethical and every employee that reports concerns are "mysteriously" terminated after – more... no previous write ups. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culturally Stuck In Time
Manager (Former Employee), DallasJuly 9, 2014
Pros: some really nice people at the staff level
Cons: culture of micromanagement
This is an environment short on flexibility and long on micromanagement. The leadership stays secretive and everyone walks on pins and needles because their jobs are held over them. If you are an experienced professional, this will be a difficult place for you to work because you are treated like an entry-level employee. From my role, I saw it happen – more... to numerous people. I don't know how the recruiters are going to find people to work here. If they do, they won't stay long. Turnover is extremely high. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center
Customer Service Representative / HR Intern (Former Employee), Lakewood, COJune 27, 2014
Pros: benefits and employee refund tuition fees
Cons: compliance being outsourced, tech support already outsourced, health care was not the best
Help customer from all over the world to resolve their issues while using MoneyGram services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and helpful management and supervisor teams.
Paper Products Specialist II (Financial Services) (Current Employee), Lakewood, COJune 10, 2014
Pros: excellent coworkers, continuous product upgrade, advancement opportunities and very friendly and professional work environment.
Cons: a second language would have been of great benefit.
MoneyGram International is extremely professional in every aspect. Training is excellent and enjoyable. The management and supervisor teams are attentive and take the time to assist whenever necessary. Team communication is very professional. Training and product knowledge are constantly updated immediately when necessary.

My coworkers are always friendly, – more... professional and willing to assist one another.

There are plenty of advancement opportunities.

A typical day at work would start with review of emails and product/ industry announcements. Calls would be taken and made immediately following and throughout the day a variety of issues regarding bill payments, wire transfer fraud investigations and inquiries, supply and check orders for agents and transfer concerns would be reviewed and addressed.

The most important thing I learned at MGI was to how to build upon my ability to communicate and fully establish excellent business relationships with the customers and represented the company in a professional and businesslike manner.

The most challenging part of the job: When it comes to someone’s finances, customers can occasionally (and understandably) become very difficult to deal with. As long as the rep is patient, understanding and able to fully communicate, matters can be resolved effectively and in an acceptable time frame.

The most enjoyable part of the job: Excellent coworkers, continuous product upgrade, advancement opportunities and very friendly and professional work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MoneyGram
Compliance analyst (Current Employee), Lakewood,COMay 7, 2014
Good work/life balance. strong company. good leadership. Great potential for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MoneyGram
Compliance analyst (Current Employee), Lakewood,COMay 7, 2014
Good work/life balance. strong company. good leadership. Great potential for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people there are great to work with.
Admin. Asst. to VP-Procurement, VP-Audit, VP-Tax (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNApril 30, 2014
Pros: location is easily accessible and teamwork within the department.
Cons: lack of technical support; many departments are moving to dallas
I enjoy the variety of responsibilities in the position and have learned many new programs.

My co-workers in the department are great to work with and willing to help out when needed.

The hardest part of the job was getting help with technical issues. The service center was outsourced and communication with the representatives was difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Treasury Analyst (Current Employee), Dallas, TXApril 17, 2014
Is very exciting to work with one of the largest money transmitter companies in US
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contracts position
Compliance Analyst (Former Employee), Dallas, TXApril 1, 2014
Reviewed and analyzed all relevant KYA documentation received from agents for accuracy and recommendation of action
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at Moneygram! great environment and great people.
I.T. Support Technician IV (Current Employee), Lakewood, COMarch 31, 2014
Pros: was able to take hour lunches when we had pot lucks
Cons: health care was not the best
Provide technical troubleshooting for MoneyGram's agents in regards to their POE. This includes but is not limited to: connectivity issues, errors occurred during transaction processing, equipment replacement, handling calls from onsite support personnel (technicians, sales reps, trainers, etc), and troubleshooting all associated issues with agents – more... using the AgentConnect platform. That includes working with individuals from the corporate offices of those agents, as well as technicians and ITSG personnel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Sr. Manager - Project Management, PMO (Current Employee), Saint Louis Park, MNMarch 21, 2014
Moneygram has a great culture to work, very productive environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brief Synopsis of responsibilities while Recruiting for MoneyGram International
Talent Acquisition Consultant/ Contractor (Current Employee), Dallas TXMarch 17, 2014
Pros: high volume and fast paced environment
Cons: n/a
•Liaised between hiring managers, candidates, and human resource representatives (i.e. processed and submitted all candidates via ATS, managed recruitment process, advised hiring managers regarding candidate offers, extended verbal offers, negotiated offers, and provided formal offer letters).
•Provided guidance, advice, and process training to hiring – more... managers by setting up in-take/strategy calls to discuss all roles pertaining to their individual teams, the recruitment process, feedback, and expectations during the interview and hire process.
•Effectively partnered with HR Business Partners to ensure the correct hiring processes according to the company’s policies, job description approvals and updates, offer letter verbiage, etc.
•Recruited financial, information technology, and compliance professionals – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Agent Services Department, ASMG (Current Employee), Lakewood, COMarch 17, 2014
Pros: benefits and employee refund tuition fees
I have learned to always be there for the customers and helped them as best as i could.
It has always be a pleasure to work as Customer service Representative and also as a Compliance Analyst.
The hardest part of my job is to make the customers realized that they have been a victim of fraud or scam.

1 2 3