MoneyGram Employee Reviews

Found 88 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Gram
Sr. Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  huston, TXDecember 23, 2015
Great Employer. Employee first. cool colleagues. helpful bosses. career advancement opportunities. health and growing work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diversity
Financial Analyst Intern (Former Employee) –  Denver, CODecember 22, 2015
facility closure.It was very diversified. It was also fun to work.A lot of évents. however, no cellphones. Some supervisons were unfair
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working atmosphere,
Senior Director Owned Stores, USA (Former Employee) –  nation wideDecember 3, 2015
MoneyGram is a company with good working atmosphere, where employees are stimuled and supported to develop skills.
On my area there is great flexibility to implant my own leadship style.
It is the second most important/large company on the remmittances industry, Because of that sometimes focus and general alignment to the objectives is deviated. Too much people making decisons on one topic that some times impacts negatively on the bottom line of the financials.
Pros
Bonuses and Long term incentives
Cons
Poor and expensive Health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Fraud Prevention Representative (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn Park,October 20, 2015
Good Company...Wonderful management and great co-workers. I loved going to work. Management always strove to give its people opportunities to grow -and pay was always competitive and fair.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job
Subpoena Processor Legal department (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn Park, MNOctober 16, 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job are, able to provide the right service to all clients around the work. Helping out customer on their needs when transfering money to their love one. I really enjoyed helping people.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great call center
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, COSeptember 28, 2015
helped customers that called in with questions about their personal wire transfers. Helped customers with information about the money orders that they purchased,
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Operations (Former Employee) –  Lakewood COSeptember 16, 2015
Company down sizing, understaffed, outsourced most of the positions to save money, hiring inexperienced and less capable personnel. Great co workers but most of them were fired.
Pros
Great direct Managers (fired) great diversity
Cons
No budget to keep and support talent
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 11, 2015
Fast moving processes, busy environment. Overall good place to work, learn a lot. Good people and place. Would recommend to friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Customer Service/Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Santo DomingoAugust 31, 2015
At MoneyGram I answered incoming phone calls and helped people from all around the world transfer money to family, friends, and businesses and gave current currency rates. It was very busy because we had a lot of calls and were given a certain amount of time to take of our customers.
Pros
Flexible hours and shifts
Cons
No opportunities to grow as an employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for I learned so much
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 10, 2015
Come into work and check all financial reports for the banks
I learned different programs to learn what I needed to be productive in the Official Check Area
Management was awesome very supportive in all areas of work and personal
The coworkers we were a team helping each other with our accounts to stay in the 60 day compliance
Working with the banks to get in balance and reconcile
Taking on new accounts and getting them into balance was very awarding once they reached the compliance requirements
Pros
Fantastic Benefits
Cons
Working in corporate you would bring your work home
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FULL CYCLE AP
AP Consultant (Current Employee) –  FriscoJuly 22, 2015
• Transition all Accounts Payable operations from Minnesota to Frisco, Texas
• Process and Code invoices for worldwide entities as well as using multiple currencies for MoneyGram International
• Route invoices for approval using workflow tool
• Reconciliation and analysis of large invoices/vendor statements
• Understand and maintain the highest standard of process and cash controls.
• Process intercompany transactions and help with month end accrual process
• Responsible for reviewing AP Holds Report and providing Holds Resolution
• Coaching & Training of 8 AP Processors on daily AP SOP’s and activities.
• Assist in the handling of vendor inquires and payment issues utilizing both dedicated Email and Phone Line for AP Inquiries
• Assists in Cash Disbursing, US and Internationally. Knowledge in VAT Taxes, SWIFT Codes, ACH, Conversions and International Banking practices.
• Responsible for monitoring, tracking and correcting Invoice Duplicates.
• Ensure vendor invoices are accurately scanned, coded, and routed for approval
• Ensure all vendors are paid per contractual terms and that inquiries and payment issues are responded to and resolved in a timely manner
• Assist in the development and evaluation of accounts payable processes and policies, and ensure external and internal controls and policies are adhered to
• Work with company personnel to resolve service issues using sound business acumen and financial judgment in decision-making.
• Completes special projects, and duties as needed using Excel, Pivot Tables, V-Lookup
• Help identify and drive process
  more... improvements
• Perform Due Diligence for Escheatment on outstanding Checks
• Work with Treasury to research international payments.
  less
Pros
Flex time
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employer in Transition
Commissions Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJuly 14, 2015
I have learned a great deal, but in the past year we have gone through a large transition.

Many jobs have ended or been relocated from the building that I was located in.
Pros
Friendly workplace with tenured employees
Cons
In transition workplace, with many jobs moving overseas
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Environment
IT Manager (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis ParkJuly 13, 2015
So much change happening and skilled employees are being replaced Offshore, unfortunately a very toxic work environment and frequent turnover at the executive level
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Holds Specialist (Former Employee) –  Denver ColoradoJune 26, 2015
I worked with MoneyGram International for 2 years, I started with MGO then moved to Escalations and later was trained in Holds, I enjoyed assisting customers and was nice receiving different scenarios on a daily basis. Although the company was outsourced I enjoyed my short time there and gained a lot of experience that will help me in the future.
Pros
being able to work with people of different nationalaties/cultures was very nice
Cons
some supervisors were not always helpful, when you addressed an issue they would not always find an answer for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sr.Net Developer.
Sr.Net Developer (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJune 25, 2015
MoneyGram is MN based Software company. MoneyGram Payroll application is an online application for billing, payroll and cost accounting. Features job estimation, a desktop application and customizable reports. Tracking features include cost and billing rates, timesheets, generating and sending invoices, billing approvals process and time tracking reports. Once reported, this data can be used for multiple purposes, such as calculating the monthly working hours of employees, seeing who’s overloaded and who’s underutilized, or calculating the total effort invested on certain project.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job!
Partner Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn Center, MNMay 27, 2015
Data Enty in a cubicle
To much to list
Needs to be thinned out
Coworkers are like family
rembembering all the bandaids to make systems work
work independly and early hours
Pros
short travel distance
Cons
the higher ups don't come down to see our world
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Partner Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMay 21, 2015
Free coffee and tea is quite good. Co-workers are nice and generally care about their work and the betterment of the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it
Compliance Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Frisco, TXMay 6, 2015
Great place to work
They often allow us to work independently. No micro-management
I love the free lunches on days when we are too busy to get a lunch break
Pros
Very comfortable atmosphere
Cons
Working late takes a toll on your personal life when its daily
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Senior Product/Delivery Manager (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis Park, MNApril 16, 2015
Enjoyed working and learned a lot from MoneyGram. Great working environment and positive leadership. Lots of exposure to senior leadership. Good advancement plans.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely competitive environment
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Plano, TexasApril 14, 2015
1. A typical day at work involves meetings with external agents and helping them in developing the application

2. Great learning experience as I was new to this domain. Learned Actimise

3. Co-workers and management are helpful

4. The hardest part of the job was maintaining a work life balance

5. Learning experience
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 101 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture