Monro Muffler/Brake Employee Reviews in United States

Found 19 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grab an air matress and plan to sleep on the streets
Store Manager/ Assistant Manager/ Technician (Former Employee) –  New JerseyMay 14, 2016
This company is one of the worst companies I have ever worked for. You give your life to this place you miss everything with your family and yet it's still not good enough. They make you work 60 plus hours every week for NO money and you get nothing for it. You get NO SICK DAYS so forget it if you are vomiting all day you still have to go in. Even if your in the hospital their first contact is "when are you going back you can't be out." You get NO TIME OFF, this job is seriously the worst of its kind. I would tate this a 0 but I had to give it at least a star.
Pros
Um....you can have access to the lifts for your personal car once in a blue moon
Cons
No break, 60+ hours a week, no weekends off, no sick time, horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is a joke
Technician (Former Employee) –  Coventry, RIApril 27, 2016
Management is a joke. They only care about how many oil changes you do and that is bad considering you are paid by commission on what you sell. Long hours (open to close) 6 days a week. The location was terrible and our customers were the snobs who thought having a BJ's card (contract between Monro and BJ's which didn't last long) gave them the almighty power of God and not have to wait for their car to be brought in.
Pros
You have a job
Cons
No breaks, poor management, no outside life, terrible customers
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They really don't have much of a clue
Worker bee (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYFebruary 9, 2016
The management really needs to pull really hard on their ears until they hear a pop, then their collective heads, should be out of their exhaust port. You can make money here but it comes at the cost of home life. Or until someone decides you're too costly then they give work to the less than skilled hacks
Pros
If you have no life this is the place for you. Or you start drinking heavy.
Cons
Maybe drinking is the way most of them actually handle it.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kettering, OHJanuary 7, 2016
If you have a family that you wish to see at some point in your existence then i would steer you towards another place of employment. Getting overtime actually hurts your paycheck in the long run and can cause your "guaranteed" rate to drop, which can go all the way down to minimum wage. Most days I was scheduled in at 7:30 am and would work until between 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm. They give you only one half hour break to eat lunch and tell you you can't take it a lot of the time. The pay scale is sub-par for the Automotive technician field, starting around $11 per hour and that is for techs with certifications. Overall just a bad work experience, and an extremely high turn over rate so expect to be short handed in the shop most of the time.
Pros
Job with a paycheck
Cons
short or no lunch, low pay, high hours
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get started and gain some Experience
Help Desk Technician (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYNovember 10, 2015
monro muffler as a company is not the best and not the worse.. 'With that being said , it is a good place to get started and it is a good place to hone your skills ..
Pros
Experience Building, Work Environment
Cons
No benefits, no Bonuses, little to no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant changing work enviroment
Assistant Manager and Technician (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYOctober 25, 2015
Very demanding job, long hours. Hard to manage personal life around the position I held. High expectations set everyday that seemed almost non achievable
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back work environment
auto mechainc (Former Employee) –  york,paOctober 21, 2015
things start off very laid back and slow when really much work and things need to be done. then thru out the day as the day get busier people r overwhelmed and rushing and trying to get things done as fast as possible not double checking certain vehicle safety recommendations and etc. management is very poor but then is turn around as the mechanics aren't doing there jobs like they should. lots of broken and half put together things..very unsafe work environment


not enough care or management skills at all.
Pros
some free lunches. no breaks
Cons
5mins break for smoking only and unclean lunch room.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers helpful and easy to get along with
Service Technician/Certified CT Emissions Expert (Current Employee) –  Monroe, CTMarch 6, 2015
A typical work day for me at Monroe brake/muffler is doing a lot of oil changes and emission testing. There is on most occasions that I have no work at all. So to sum it all up theres not a lot of challenging work and steady work flow, which is why im looking for new opportunities as a mechanic.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is the absolute worst.
Technician (Former Employee) –  Harrisonburg, VANovember 26, 2014
No time with family. No training. No time off. They pay is the worst. Sheets starts out more. As for raises you can forget it. Management is the absolute pits. They will lie to you. They will cheat you. My advice is never work for them.
Pros
none.
Cons
rare to get a lunch. pay is horrible. management is the pits.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PASeptember 2, 2014
-The work is challenging and interesting. Everyday i'm learning something new which keeps the job interesting, using new tools and equipment, discussing and explaining to customers, and diagnosing and troubleshooting.
-The management and co-workers are all hard working and look out for each other. We all work and assist each other to work to the same goals. The management always makes sure we have what we need, such as pay, time off, and shop supplies.
-the job is fun, but challenging. Sometimes you have unexpected problems or malfunctions that u have to over come to accomplish the task. Situations such as that are the hardest part of the job, which is why there my favorite.
Pros
hands on experiences
Was this review helpful?Yes5No11

Want to know more about Monro Muffler/Brake?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this company is a joke
manager (Former Employee) –  ctSeptember 2, 2014
U work 70 to 80 hours a week oh and if u work pfp (paid for performance) and get paid an extra 1/2 a percent oh boy. Pay is a joke. Hours are long forget about having a family cause managers are expected to be there from 7:30 to 7 every day. U get 3 holidays off are year BigDeal. Upper management is a joke, they come around once a month and break balls. Benefits are horrible. Oh and if u want to work with the dumbest retards on the planet cause monro hires anyone with a heartbeat then ur in luck. And every buddy works on comission so ges where thst leads. This company is A JOKE.
Pros
comission
Cons
long hours, no pay, no holidays, high pressure, horrible benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes16No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy workplace with great culture.
6 Week student internship (Former Employee) –  Glenmony NYJanuary 30, 2014
Formal work environment
Time management skills have been improved from experience
Co-workwers are helpfull and always friendly
Pros
busy days not ime for lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldnt work for them
I quit (Former Employee) –  euerka moDecember 2, 2013
Managers lie and steal trying to blame techs hr will not take care of problems safety is a problem
Cons
80clock hrs for 20 hrs of pay
Was this review helpful?Yes16No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
asst.manager
asst manager (Former Employee) –  fitchburg,ma /leominster,maNovember 2, 2013
horrible upper management ..no involvement from upper management ..no employee recognition ..not worth the pay nor the heada ches that could be simple fixes that turn into monthly projects..
Cons
no compensation for hard work..horrible management ..
Was this review helpful?Yes20No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard automotive retail job
General Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAMarch 27, 2013
Managed daily operations, including training and staffing technicians, also maintaining sales and profit increases
Was this review helpful?Yes21No24
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Asst Mngr
Assistant Service Manger (Former Employee) –  Saratoga Springs, NYDecember 28, 2012
Difficult corporate structure,lack of upper management involvement,. Compensation below industry standards,poor medical benefits.Long hours,no employee recognition.
Pros
great customers
Cons
all listed above
Was this review helpful?Yes24No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm sorry but I've never considered "fun" to be part of the work environment. there wewre no ping pon tables or such at Monro. The only good days
Auto Technician (Former Employee) –  Kingston, NYJuly 30, 2012
Monro Muffler/Brake was okay for techs but not so good for management at my level.
Pros
there were very few "pros" for monro at my level!
Cons
the " cons" at my level certainly out weghed the "pros" for lower level management
Was this review helpful?Yes13No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a paycheck barely
automotive technician (Current Employee) –  Pottsville, PAMay 24, 2012
when i started everything was ok, but after the first month my hours got cut, because there is not enough business. the pay was already lousy. i think im actually losing money working there because i have to drive 30 minutes to get to work. Currently looking for another job so I can pay my student loans and other bills. This job is a joke!
Cons
not enough hours, pay is bad, not readily willing to help
Was this review helpful?Yes27No7

See more Monro Muffler/Brake reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

1.9
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture