Monro Muffler/Brake Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life Balance N/A
Manager (Current Employee) –  VAOctober 15, 2017
Extremely long hours, short staffed , insurance very costly, outdated both in operations and equipment. The company wants to pressure you to sell products to the customer that does not want or need. No work/life balance expect to put in a minimum of 70 hours a week for management.
Pros
none
Cons
benefits, no lunch breaks, no work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good place to start as a technician.
Mechanic Technician (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVOctober 5, 2017
Monroe is a good place to start as an entry level mechanic but with lack of benefits and pay it is not a stable or perminate place of employment with cars and sales varying from day to day.
Pros
Great learning experiance for new technicians.
Cons
Poor benifets and pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Place Sucks
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHOctober 5, 2017
Poor work environment. Hard to meet sales Goals with a $10 oil change special that they expect you to turn into a $500 sale every time. Not enough staff to do the job. Techs were under trained and needed guidance for basic repairs. Oh, and the bulk bins of oil had open fill ports. They were located right beside where they cut exhaust tubing with a reciprocating saw. So metal shavings go into the new oil destine for oil changes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Technician (Former Employee) –  OhioOctober 5, 2017
I would never recommend a company to anyone that has had a lawsuit towards the company for not paying employees for the time they put in. They automatically deduct time for breaks and seldom ate you able to take those breaks due to poor management.
Cons
Saying i work for monro
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Wheeling, WVSeptember 29, 2017
Customers were great fast paced work environment employees and management always fun to work with well compensated for the work that we do if we do it right benefits are great would recommend to anyone
Pros
great opportunity
Cons
lots of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and learn
Technician (Former Employee) –  Ewing, NJSeptember 26, 2017
Monro is absolutely a great place to work. Also you learn more everyday on every aspect of a job. The best part is learning how to independently use all machines.
Pros
Free uniforms
Cons
Short breaks. Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very very stressful
Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Kingston, NYSeptember 21, 2017
It was a very stress full job with co-workers breathing down your neck for anything wrong you were doing no matter how big or small it was. I was miss treated and wasn't happy their. It brought me to a depressed state to where I just had to leave at the end of the day and told them I will not return. The managers on the other hand were very nice about all this. They wanted to help me out and they understood why I left. They offered me unemployment but I did not accept I thanked them for at least trying to right their wrong but after that I will never step back into that place again. I even had them mail me my last check.
Pros
Work was consisdant, always something to do, slow days weren't as stressfull
Cons
Co-workers, Pay, Stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monro Muffler/Brake
Manager (Former Employee) –  Norwich, CTSeptember 15, 2017
Good company to work for for an entry level technician. Fair wages for the duties performed. Good management to work with and informative help desk when dealing with automotive problems.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here!!!!
Technician (Current Employee) –  Lapeer, MISeptember 7, 2017
Just like they say! It's all ture! Grease your butt and hang on! You will work all the time! No lunch and they still take the half hour pay off your check!
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not what i wanted
Manager/Lead Technician (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHSeptember 7, 2017
As a asstistant manager/tech, I learned alot about buisness etiquette. Worked 80+HRS per week, Had 3 managers quit on me, and I had to run the store...3 years straight 7 days a week only days off were Christmas and Thanksgiving all three years.. burned out, ended up getting sick 30 days in hospital, 16 in ICU with Pnuemonia.
got better job offer from Conrads, better hours little better pay good work enviroment.
Pros
discounts, benifits
Cons
excessive hours, old equipment, old buildings, no maintence.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAAugust 24, 2017
Given the chance i would no doubt work for this company again, paid well, fantastic work environment, management was outstanding. I would for sure recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  MichiganAugust 16, 2017
I have been in the company for 6 years, starting as a store manager and moving up the management ladder. This is a honest company that allows all employees to build a future.
Pros
ability to grow
Cons
Long business hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work don't even consider
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Reading, PAJuly 23, 2017
Pay is terrible. I see that it is advertised as $30 an hour on this website. You will barely make $200 every two weeks. It's a terrible company to work for. It is not maintained and everyone is lazy.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJuly 18, 2017
Where do I start......lets start with 0 time for lunch breaks, say goodbye to your weekends and holidays ( except christmas, thanksgiving and easter). Your hourly pay will drop without any notice if your productivity is low. I would not recommend anyone to work for this company. If you change the letters around in Monro you get moron. That's what you'd have to be to work there
Pros
None
Cons
Everythig
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Mt. Pocono, PAJuly 15, 2017
Long hours, Awful work environment and job culture. expected to produce high volume with incompetant employees.... (example) three so called mechanics that weren't qualified to change light bulbs.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours..upper management lacking
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Inspection Technician (Current Employee) –  Erie, PAJuly 13, 2017
Monro is a company full of liars who are all cutthroat ppl I don't know how many times I was lied to about everything and with the recent management change things r probably gonna get worse...if u don't fit in with their lil groups they put u out.......no work..no jobs....no money just sit around doing nothing
Pros
Working on personal vehicle on days off
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monro muffler warehouse
Warehouse Stocker (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJuly 12, 2017
Mostly entry level hires, no begining benefits, minimum wage, rude workers, time critical, you really feel like a "number" here. Your speed in collecting ordered determines your employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work....EVER
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaJuly 5, 2017
This is a money hungry company that does not care about the safety of it's customers as long as the Store Manger/Asst. Manager are pushing outrageous sales on their poor customers.
This is the place to work if you like working 60+ hours a week for minimal pay and upper management who have no clue about working on the cars themselves. They are just worried about the sale.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
The entire business
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Plain & Simple
Manager (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHJune 22, 2017
Let's start with this, if you have a family or really anything outside of work, kiss t goodbye! You will work 12hrs a day, everyday including Sundays! Corporate Office big wigs will tell you how to do your job and when you do it and it fails, they say you didn't do it. Pay is HORRIBLE! Your salary which comes out to below minimum wage. Store Staff is normally pretty cool, but the big wigs are pencil pushers who don't care about you. Equipment for the techs is OUT DATED! They say you can get bonuses and yet they make the bonuses impossible to get so they don't have to pay you. Monro and Mr Tire is such a pitiful excuse for a company.
Pros
Cool store staff
Cons
Long hours, no pay, no bonuses, upper management rude and bullies
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
face paced and very upbeat
Head Technician (Former Employee) –  Auburn, NYJune 15, 2017
a very fast paced place to work and will make you driven and a hard worker. It will teach you time management skills and training in all aspects of automotive world. will teach you to be consistent every time you touch a vehicle to give customers the best service available.
Pros
doing what i love
Cons
hard work long hours, fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Monro Muffler/Brake. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.0
Based on 79 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
1.9
Compensation/Benefits
1.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.0
Management
2.0
Culture
2.1