Monro Muffler/Brake Employee Reviews

Found 60 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Plain & Simple
Manager (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHJune 22, 2017
Let's start with this, if you have a family or really anything outside of work, kiss t goodbye! You will work 12hrs a day, everyday including Sundays! Corporate Office big wigs will tell you how to do your job and when you do it and it fails, they say you didn't do it. Pay is HORRIBLE! Your salary which comes out to below minimum wage. Store Staff is normally pretty cool, but the big wigs are pencil pushers who don't care about you. Equipment for the techs is OUT DATED! They say you can get bonuses and yet they make the bonuses impossible to get so they don't have to pay you. Monro and Mr Tire is such a pitiful excuse for a company.
Pros
Cool store staff
Cons
Long hours, no pay, no bonuses, upper management rude and bullies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
face paced and very upbeat
Head Technician (Former Employee) –  Auburn, NYJune 15, 2017
a very fast paced place to work and will make you driven and a hard worker. It will teach you time management skills and training in all aspects of automotive world. will teach you to be consistent every time you touch a vehicle to give customers the best service available.
Pros
doing what i love
Cons
hard work long hours, fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people to work with
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  3222 Delaware aveMay 23, 2017
I loved working on the cars and creating a relationship with the customers and learned a lot about sales and having great customer service just couldn't continue to work for Penny's.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See other reviews.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Solon, OHMay 16, 2017
Worked for 11 months. Cleaned up shop and inventory. (total mess) First months were mostly comebacks from untrained techs.Hard to get good help with the poor pay. Spent many hours training technicians. Market Manger is a joke. His best assets would be lies and ripping off the public. Don't even think of getting sick or having an event during open hours. No time off allowed. Could not hit last years numbers with half the technicians so you can guess what happened.
Pros
none
Cons
No home life, long hours, no sick time.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average tire shop with good people
General Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Mt. Airy, MDMay 12, 2017
Good little shop. Great for anyone looking to get a start in the automotive field. Pay is as low as they can get away with and work conditions are not the best.
Pros
On the job training
Cons
Dirty shop, long hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not bad to work for
Asst. Manager (Current Employee) –  Harrisonburg, VAMay 12, 2017
Not bad as corp. But just don't trust people at stores some stores are good some are bad they like to hire of the street before promoting people with in the store
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Broome County, NYMay 11, 2017
Very hard company to work for. Its was good for learning purposes but not as a career. Very poor management all round. You do want they want our go home. There moto was ripe people off so they get more money in there pockets
Pros
Learning
Cons
Dead end job
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blood suckers
Manager (Former Employee) –  Monroeville, PAMay 8, 2017
This company uses people, they hire drug addicts who are in rehab. Bad situation- lot of moving around of techs.
They expect the impossible of staff. Shortage of techs to perform work needed to grow.
Pros
not much to say
Cons
time off
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok pay if your a manager not as a tech
Store Manager/Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Winsted, CTMay 2, 2017
Huge turn over rate no family work balance expect 12hr work days and almost never able to get a lunch. Benefits are not bad. Upper management is ok.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place for an experienced Tech
Assistant Manager/Technician (Current Employee) –  Erie, PAlApril 28, 2017
As a starting job its fine but if you are experienced you will not make enough to justify being there. The hours are long and everyone expects you to live monro working 12 hours or more a day and most of it off the clock. They change your pay rate as they see fit. Upper management will lie to your face and tell you anything you want to hear but never follow through. Equipment is poorly maintained if at all. I could go on and on.
Pros
Discounts on parts for my cars
Cons
Little or no breaks even though you are deducted a 30 minute lunch every day. Pay is poor, store manager edits your clock time to before you actually left, poor equipment maint.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location
Technician (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, MAApril 25, 2017
Location brings business because they are open 7 days a week.
The workers cleaning the place themselves including the maintenance of tools and other things which are needed to run the place.
Pros
location
Cons
better background checks should be done
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you need a job, take it, but continue to look
Manager (Former Employee) –  MarylandApril 21, 2017
I was a mr tire manager and i worked my tail off to be fired for daring to seek medical help after being assaulted by an employee. Most of the management, in this market anyway, have substance abuse problems, and some of the upper management are convicted felons. Stay away from this company
Pros
None
Cons
To many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lying stealing a-holes
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Cuyahoga Falls, OHApril 20, 2017
First off, $30.00/hr is B.S lie! You can't make anywhere near that! If you have a family or like some time off they could care less! Went from a tech to store manager in a month, didn't get my "promised bonuses" which are complete lies. District manager has a family and gets to spend all of his time with his family, then harasses you cause he's not making money! Biggest scam joke ever!!
Pros
Nothing at all
Cons
Everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  New London, CTApril 11, 2017
Very bad work environment, Hourly pay is a joke, very hard to make commission to make a good weekly paycheck. Sales writer has a hard time selling work.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manegment could do a better job.
Serive technician (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 10, 2017
I Love the work i do, just dont approve of the money thats being earned. Been employed there for 3 years and i have gained alot of knowledge. Just wish it was more that could be done to earn more money.
Pros
The knowledge and education I received. Im always learning something new.
Cons
They subtract paychecks based on productivity, Managers are all about them selves, I cant make money if no work is being sold, managers do not sell, customers do not buy.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment. Garage type environment
Oil Change Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 28, 2017
Good place to work for starting automotive technicians. Flat rate pay so you can make as much as you can do. Work at your own pace work environment as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful and time consuming.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMarch 27, 2017
Not willing to comment. Improper training from Middle Management. And unrealistic viewing of Store Managers. Needs seriously review of Market Mangers.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Life no problem. Monro is just for you!
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  PaMarch 20, 2017
If you have somewhat of a life or anything extracurricular kiss it goodbye. Was hired on at 47 + bonuses. You might clear 30 if your store is down like mine was. 6 days a week 12 hour days angry people on a daily basis. Employees are scum of scum. Upper management and corporate will leave you hanging from a cliff. If you need help outside your store and corporate is your only answer, good luck! You'll hate your life working here. Outdated systems will leave you stranded. The list goes on
Pros
Lol there are none.
Cons
Just look at the pros
Was this review helpful?Yes17NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A breathe of fresh in Monro
Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 19, 2017
The previous "DM" came back to Pittsburgh.
I have been working for Monro for 10 years as a technician and now there is a new "care" about the business and our success.
He talks to us, the technicians 1st before talking to the management asking us what he can do for us ? He asks about your family, our well being and truly is concerned with us making the money we want.
We all work hard and he works just as hard as we do and wont shy away from anything or helping us out when we are busy.
He even buys lunch for us when we have a good day.
He is concerned about his customers and makes sure that the management takes care of them and we do it right the first time.
Days can be long at times, but you make the money if you want to.
Other techs will help you if you get into a bind or have issues repairing vehicles.
I once again enjoy the job I do and the people I work with.
Pros
Good pay when business is good
Cons
working weekends and holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just say No!
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYMarch 7, 2017
Not a place you want to find yourself working at. Management is clueless on how to handle or support employees. Corporate office is just as screwed up as the shops. Low pay, poor managers, lazy employees, double standards, no time for family.

Only take work here if your desperate. And find something new fast.
Pros
Nothing good
Cons
You name it, they suck at it.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Monro Muffler/Brake. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

1.9
Based on 61 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
1.8
Compensation/Benefits
1.8
Job Security/Advancement
1.9
Management
1.9
Culture
2.0