Monro Muffler/Brake Employee Reviews in United States

Found 26 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a joke
Automotive Technician,Inspector (Former Employee) –  Amsterdam, NYAugust 19, 2016
I worked for Monro for 11 years.Was doing well,in Virginia where i started.Had to transfer to ny and was promised "You will make more than you ever have". Not telling me the pay scale or anything until after working a 50 hour week,and not even making a third of what i made in Va. Toughed it out another 3 years but could no longer survive on minimum wage I moved on. They lied to me and others about how much you could make and the conditions are unsafe and unbearable.I wouldn't recommend this job to anyone.
Pros
None
Cons
No lunch break, even though its taken out of the pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run
Manager Assistant (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYAugust 17, 2016
I currently work there was promoted and demoted no upper management help and when asking for help it is your problem cause upper management doesn't care. And plan on being verbally down graded ever chance they get... I'm looking for an out as we speak.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an ok place to work.. the shop and location was nice.
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Troy, OHAugust 7, 2016
They do not follow guidlines. There shop was broke into and all my tools were stolen.. Two days after turning in receipts I was fired and my tools were never replaced.
Pros
flexible schedules
Cons
not much pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work for this company no matter how badly you need a job
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 4, 2016
Do not work for this company. They are bad!!! District Manager will lie to you and will toss you away quickly. You do not have a personal life. You will work five twelve hours days and then they expect you to work a 6th day on top of that. Just stay stay away from this company they do not care about there managers at all.
Pros
Non
Cons
Not allowed to have a personal life
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No matter how hard you work it's not enough.
Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  Stow, OHJuly 30, 2016
They will work you like a dog, you will get cut, bruised, and burned every day and only make 9 an hour. Worst job I've ever had.
Pros
None
Cons
No breaks, no lunch, they take 30 minutes for lunch in spite of the fact that you don't get a lunch break, no compensation for damaging your tools, one day a week off or less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better Company over the last year or two Happy Again to be Called a MONRO employee
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJuly 30, 2016
The company has taken a new change in upper management that has made a big difference in the way the employees are treated and the work life vs home life is seen.
They are truly concerned with how you feel about the direction of the business and how to make the business better from your perspective.
A stronger customer service focus on how to take care of the customer better & what is best for our customer in repairs and future services needed.
I have been with the company for a little over 10 years as an assistant manager and I see a big difference in how the market managers are there to be helpful instead of busting humps.
I enjoy working for Monro and see great things to come in the future.
Pros
$$ when you do your job. bigger bonus opportunities in the last year for techs and assistants, employee discounts on tires
Cons
Working weekends, holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here.period.……
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  PGH, PAJuly 17, 2016
I worked here a long time. The upper management is like some secret society. They make all the money while you slave and literally give your life to them. I swear they think your a slave. When they get everything out of you they will throw you away like used toilet paper and flush you down the comode. They only care about what they make and how far their career will go. I achieved things at monro only a few have and was never asked to be promoted. I think their afraid I would take their job because I was better than 75 percent of them. I gave my life to them and could not care less. I'm better off now and should left them 15 years ago. Again, do yourself a favor don't work here.
Pros
None
Cons
Miss everthing you cherish in your LIFE…
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grab an air matress and plan to sleep on the streets
Store Manager/ Assistant Manager/ Technician (Former Employee) –  New JerseyMay 14, 2016
This company is one of the worst companies I have ever worked for. You give your life to this place you miss everything with your family and yet it's still not good enough. They make you work 60 plus hours every week for NO money and you get nothing for it. You get NO SICK DAYS so forget it if you are vomiting all day you still have to go in. Even if your in the hospital their first contact is "when are you going back you can't be out." You get NO TIME OFF, this job is seriously the worst of its kind. I would tate this a 0 but I had to give it at least a star.
Pros
Um....you can have access to the lifts for your personal car once in a blue moon
Cons
No break, 60+ hours a week, no weekends off, no sick time, horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is a joke
Technician (Former Employee) –  Coventry, RIApril 27, 2016
Management is a joke. They only care about how many oil changes you do and that is bad considering you are paid by commission on what you sell. Long hours (open to close) 6 days a week. The location was terrible and our customers were the snobs who thought having a BJ's card (contract between Monro and BJ's which didn't last long) gave them the almighty power of God and not have to wait for their car to be brought in.
Pros
You have a job
Cons
No breaks, poor management, no outside life, terrible customers
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They really don't have much of a clue
Worker bee (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYFebruary 9, 2016
The management really needs to pull really hard on their ears until they hear a pop, then their collective heads, should be out of their exhaust port. You can make money here but it comes at the cost of home life. Or until someone decides you're too costly then they give work to the less than skilled hacks
Pros
If you have no life this is the place for you. Or you start drinking heavy.
Cons
Maybe drinking is the way most of them actually handle it.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kettering, OHJanuary 7, 2016
If you have a family that you wish to see at some point in your existence then i would steer you towards another place of employment. Getting overtime actually hurts your paycheck in the long run and can cause your "guaranteed" rate to drop, which can go all the way down to minimum wage. Most days I was scheduled in at 7:30 am and would work until between 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm. They give you only one half hour break to eat lunch and tell you you can't take it a lot of the time. The pay scale is sub-par for the Automotive technician field, starting around $11 per hour and that is for techs with certifications. Overall just a bad work experience, and an extremely high turn over rate so expect to be short handed in the shop most of the time.
Pros
Job with a paycheck
Cons
short or no lunch, low pay, high hours
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get started and gain some Experience
Help Desk Technician (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYNovember 10, 2015
monro muffler as a company is not the best and not the worse.. 'With that being said , it is a good place to get started and it is a good place to hone your skills ..
Pros
Experience Building, Work Environment
Cons
No benefits, no Bonuses, little to no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant changing work enviroment
Assistant Manager and Technician (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYOctober 25, 2015
Very demanding job, long hours. Hard to manage personal life around the position I held. High expectations set everyday that seemed almost non achievable
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back work environment
auto mechainc (Former Employee) –  york,paOctober 21, 2015
things start off very laid back and slow when really much work and things need to be done. then thru out the day as the day get busier people r overwhelmed and rushing and trying to get things done as fast as possible not double checking certain vehicle safety recommendations and etc. management is very poor but then is turn around as the mechanics aren't doing there jobs like they should. lots of broken and half put together things..very unsafe work environment


not enough care or management skills at all.
Pros
some free lunches. no breaks
Cons
5mins break for smoking only and unclean lunch room.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers helpful and easy to get along with
Service Technician/Certified CT Emissions Expert (Current Employee) –  Monroe, CTMarch 6, 2015
A typical work day for me at Monroe brake/muffler is doing a lot of oil changes and emission testing. There is on most occasions that I have no work at all. So to sum it all up theres not a lot of challenging work and steady work flow, which is why im looking for new opportunities as a mechanic.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is the absolute worst.
Technician (Former Employee) –  Harrisonburg, VANovember 26, 2014
No time with family. No training. No time off. They pay is the worst. Sheets starts out more. As for raises you can forget it. Management is the absolute pits. They will lie to you. They will cheat you. My advice is never work for them.
Pros
none.
Cons
rare to get a lunch. pay is horrible. management is the pits.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PASeptember 2, 2014
-The work is challenging and interesting. Everyday i'm learning something new which keeps the job interesting, using new tools and equipment, discussing and explaining to customers, and diagnosing and troubleshooting.
-The management and co-workers are all hard working and look out for each other. We all work and assist each other to work to the same goals. The management always makes sure we have what we need, such as pay, time off, and shop supplies.
-the job is fun, but challenging. Sometimes you have unexpected problems or malfunctions that u have to over come to accomplish the task. Situations such as that are the hardest part of the job, which is why there my favorite.
Pros
hands on experiences
Was this review helpful?Yes5No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this company is a joke
manager (Former Employee) –  ctSeptember 2, 2014
U work 70 to 80 hours a week oh and if u work pfp (paid for performance) and get paid an extra 1/2 a percent oh boy. Pay is a joke. Hours are long forget about having a family cause managers are expected to be there from 7:30 to 7 every day. U get 3 holidays off are year BigDeal. Upper management is a joke, they come around once a month and break balls. Benefits are horrible. Oh and if u want to work with the dumbest retards on the planet cause monro hires anyone with a heartbeat then ur in luck. And every buddy works on comission so ges where thst leads. This company is A JOKE.
Pros
comission
Cons
long hours, no pay, no holidays, high pressure, horrible benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes21No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy workplace with great culture.
6 Week student internship (Former Employee) –  Glenmony NYJanuary 30, 2014
Formal work environment
Time management skills have been improved from experience
Co-workwers are helpfull and always friendly
Pros
busy days not ime for lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldnt work for them
I quit (Former Employee) –  euerka moDecember 2, 2013
Managers lie and steal trying to blame techs hr will not take care of problems safety is a problem
Cons
80clock hrs for 20 hrs of pay
Was this review helpful?Yes17No4Report

Overall rating

1.7
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
1.8
Compensation/Benefits
1.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.0
Management
2.0
Culture
2.1