Monro Muffler/Brake Employee Reviews

Found 49 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you need a job, take it, but continue to look
Manager (Former Employee) –  MarylandApril 21, 2017
I was a mr tire manager and i worked my tail off to be fired for daring to seek medical help after being assaulted by an employee. Most of the management, in this market anyway, have substance abuse problems, and some of the upper management are convicted felons. Stay away from this company
Pros
None
Cons
To many to list
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lying stealing a-holes
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Cuyahoga Falls, OHApril 20, 2017
First off, $30.00/hr is B.S lie! You can't make anywhere near that! If you have a family or like some time off they could care less! Went from a tech to store manager in a month, didn't get my "promised bonuses" which are complete lies. District manager has a family and gets to spend all of his time with his family, then harasses you cause he's not making money! Biggest scam joke ever!!
Pros
NOTHING AT ALL
Cons
Everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  New London, CTApril 11, 2017
Very bad work environment, Hourly pay is a joke, very hard to make commission to make a good weekly paycheck. Sales writer has a hard time selling work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manegment could do a better job.
Serive technician (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 10, 2017
I Love the work i do, just dont approve of the money thats being earned. Been employed there for 3 years and i have gained alot of knowledge. Just wish it was more that could be done to earn more money.
Pros
The knowledge and education I received. Im always learning something new.
Cons
They subtract paychecks based on productivity, Managers are all about them selves, I cant make money if no work is being sold, managers do not sell, customers do not buy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment. Garage type environment
Oil Change Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 28, 2017
Good place to work for starting automotive technicians. Flat rate pay so you can make as much as you can do. Work at your own pace work environment as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful and time consuming.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMarch 27, 2017
Not willing to comment. Improper training from Middle Management. And unrealistic viewing of Store Managers. Needs seriously review of Market Mangers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Life no problem. Monro is just for you!
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  PaMarch 20, 2017
If you have somewhat of a life or anything extracurricular kiss it goodbye. Was hired on at 47 + bonuses. You might clear 30 if your store is down like mine was. 6 days a week 12 hour days angry people on a daily basis. Employees are scum of scum. Upper management and corporate will leave you hanging from a cliff. If you need help outside your store and corporate is your only answer, good luck! You'll hate your life working here. Outdated systems will leave you stranded. The list goes on
Pros
Lol there are none.
Cons
Just look at the pros
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A breathe of fresh in Monro
Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 19, 2017
The previous "DM" came back to Pittsburgh.
I have been working for Monro for 10 years as a technician and now there is a new "care" about the business and our success.
He talks to us, the technicians 1st before talking to the management asking us what he can do for us ? He asks about your family, our well being and truly is concerned with us making the money we want.
We all work hard and he works just as hard as we do and wont shy away from anything or helping us out when we are busy.
He even buys lunch for us when we have a good day.
He is concerned about his customers and makes sure that the management takes care of them and we do it right the first time.
Days can be long at times, but you make the money if you want to.
Other techs will help you if you get into a bind or have issues repairing vehicles.
I once again enjoy the job I do and the people I work with.
Pros
Good pay when business is good
Cons
working weekends and holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just say No!
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYMarch 7, 2017
Not a place you want to find yourself working at. Management is clueless on how to handle or support employees. Corporate office is just as screwed up as the shops. Low pay, poor managers, lazy employees, double standards, no time for family.

Only take work here if your desperate. And find something new fast.
Pros
Nothing good
Cons
You name it, they suck at it.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where I went to work
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Saugerties, NYMarch 3, 2017
It paid the bills. customers were nasty and the commute was over an hour drive each day and very tiring long nights and pay wasnt that good
Pros
paid every week
Cons
drive, people
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minimum wage, poor work enviroment, extremely poor management
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Norwich, NYMarch 2, 2017
Managers extremely self inflated ego made work unbearable. Pay was minimum wage, almost impossible to meet the 4000 dollar commission. Not worth the hassle of your time.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lame place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  KentuckyFebruary 11, 2017
Started as a tech when it was Ken towerys, moved up the ladder. Now assistant manager. No bonuses, can't keep people in the shop because of the pay being low and having to buy your own tools. A lot of stress day to day and not enough pay
Pros
Dealing with cars
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  Ashland, MAFebruary 5, 2017
start working at 7:30 most of all do oil changes and sometimes do some brake jobs.we also sell tires and do muffler work.i learned on align vehicles i also do timing belts and change parts like bearings,rack and pinions and comlete engines.do all kind of works
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needs to be arrested
B Technician (Former Employee) –  Chester, NYFebruary 3, 2017
I worked for 2 different locations in 2 different states .first one Was a great experience ...2nd one not so good...illegal inspections by unlicensed techs..Hollowing out catalytic convertes..parts being left off vehicles..senior tech taking credit for jobs that he didn't do so he met his subsidiaries and management turning a blind eye to it...couldn't even get upper management to respond to a request to speak about the issues...stay away from Chester ny.monro muffler
Pros
Only way you make money is if your a liar
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place to work for a mechanic.
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Derby, NYJanuary 31, 2017
Worst place I ever worked. They lie to get u in the door. Only management takes the high paying jobs. Everyone else did the oil changes.
Cons
No lunch break, worked 12 shift alone, twice a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just say no
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 29, 2017
This company will work you like a dog. You are expected to work 65 to 70 hours per week. They will harass you on your day off. Not a good work life balance
Pros
None
Cons
Work you to death
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big joke...
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Indiana, PAJanuary 28, 2017
Worked here for 2 weeks the manager was beyond rude, never got a lunch brake, pay sucks, nothing is good about this place, this place is nothing but a joke
Pros
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely room for advancement.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Toledo, OHJanuary 26, 2017
Monro does provide a definite opportunity for advancement . Monro also provides , all in all a stress free environment .Having an opportunity to build a business is also a plus.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked under paid
Technician (Former Employee) –  Vienna, WVJanuary 25, 2017
no since of a management team at the store level higher up management is a joke company is a joke first place I have ever worked to makes you pay for and requires you to use there uniforms
Pros
get to work on cars
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Writer & Customer Service
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJanuary 11, 2017
My typical day begins around 7:30 am and works through until 7 pm. Opening the business as of turning off alarms, bring up computers, lights, and compressors. Greeting customers & writing up a PMA to have service done on their vehicle. Once the technician has filled out their PMA I overlook the vehicle and the PMA. I then view this with the consumer and ask if they would like any of the suggested services or repairs made. Some PMA's take ordering parts, providing consumer with shuttle to home or work. Ensuring technician has performed required work properly. Then cashing the customer out and thanking them for their business.
Hardest part of the job is being on your feet for long periods of time. The most enjoyable part of the position is helping others in their process of services or repairs on their vehicle.
Pros
Bonus program
Cons
Rarely time for lunches or breaks when the business is busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Monro Muffler/Brake. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

1.8
Based on 50 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
1.8
Compensation/Benefits
1.8
Job Security/Advancement
1.9
Management
1.8
Culture
2.0