Monroe College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Internship (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 20, 2017
I never felt unhappy while doing my internship with Monroe College, i feel satisfied. I learned a lot in that period. It was my first oppurtunity to do an internship. I KNOWN the difference between internship and an actual original job at the workplace during this period.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYDecember 18, 2017
Very cutthroat setting which is not conducive to the work environment. There’s not enough support for adjunct. However, you do learn a lot about creating plans and have the autonomy to make changes to syllabi
Pros
Getting to see your students graduate or use the skills learned in their professional lives
Cons
Zero support from leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYNovember 27, 2017
Greeted students and visitors to the Office of Career Advancement.
Directed students to their relevant career advisors, took incoming messages, supervised 2 student workers and assisted career advisors with purchasing supplies and other tasks

Sharpened my customer service skill, leadership quality, & interpersonal skills

Laid back and fun to work with

Balanced and an amicable atmosphere (family-like)

Hourly-pay and short work hours

Working with the rest of the staff
Pros
Friendly atmosphere
Cons
Low pay and short work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun envirounemnt
Facilities Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYNovember 15, 2017
counseled students regarding classes, grades and activities. forwarded facilities request students had to the facility manager, helped design new facility measurements for a smother working methods
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome experience while in College!
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYNovember 7, 2017
It help me understand the restaurant industry! I obtain knowledge from all my Chef and Professors. I was able to also instruct student on their internships.
Pros
Very educational
Cons
Only tempoary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Academic Advisor/Student Services Counselor (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 27, 2017
I enjoy working at my current position. I learned a lot and the culture was great. The management was fair. The most enjoyable part of the job was the camaraderie.
Pros
benefit package
Cons
overtime with no pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current President is a nightmare
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 26, 2017
Worked several years for this company. Horrible, horrible environment. The new president is extremely unethical, hates the Bronx campus and hates all minorities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great For Entry Level
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 22, 2017
You will learn a lot about working in higher education here. And it will give you access to other departments and how to handle a diverse student population. Once you work at Monroe you will be able to handle working in any other higher ed. environment.

The downside is advancement, salary, and management.
Pros
Family Culture, Flexibility with work hours for doctors appointments
Cons
Healthcare package, mgmt, salary, and career adv.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superior to CUNY
Student Life Coordinator & Services Counselor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 10, 2017
The level of student care was outstanding. Staff were dedicated. Unlike CUNY, I did not hear ongoing remarks like, "I don't care as long as the check clears", or " You should be glad you have a job".
Pros
Excellent student focus
Cons
Needs to do better with advancement of woman to key positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growing and up and coming college
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 3, 2017
Monroe College in the West Bronx is a thriving, growing, energized college. The overall educational atmosphere is positive. I believe most students enjoyed going there.

The hardest part of teaching there is teaching students to make the transition from college to the "real world." As with many schools some students come to school with an attitude that it should not be hard or challenging and that they should be given just about everything. It's not easy, but eventually students see the light and do better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive & fun work place
ASSISTANT COLLEGE BASEBALL COACH (Current Employee) –  New Rochelle, NY 10801September 19, 2017
I wouldn't call it work because i love it. i help kids progress in their baseball skill. I teach them how to act professional on and off the baseball field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WebAdvisor
Freshman Financial Aid Web Advisor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 26, 2017
It was supposed to be work study for students. Often it would be slow in the Financial Aid office and it would have been great if during that time students were able to catch up on work or apply to after Graduation jobs, but sadly that was not the case. The manager would prefer for students to re-organize or do petty/minimal work that to complete a school assignment or look for advancements in their future.
Pros
Occasional Free Lunch
Cons
Short breaks/ Uncomfortable work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun lab to work at
IT Office Assistant & IT Resource Center Tutor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 25, 2017
I was working here as a tutor and assistant to IT dean. It was pleasant work place environment. Half of the time I have to work at the lab and tutor students and half of the time at the office with the dean.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is supportive of their staff.
Online Learning Academic Advisor (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 13, 2017
I was able to be promoted from intern to Student Service Counselor. Helped shape student's minds. Worked with incredible professors and staff. Learning how to admit and service college students.
Pros
You will work 1/2 a day on Friday.
Cons
Late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment for fringe students
Professor (Current Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYAugust 7, 2017
The culture definitely serves the purpose. Provides an opportunity for the fringe student who either neglected their education or needs some additional educational assistance to succeed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive: Learn a lot; Great Experience! Great Staff
Advisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 4, 2017
Love the Staff and People who work for the company.
I have learned a lot about the higher education from multiple departments. Cross Training you get a feel of Various Departments and what their Job entitles.

the work is a lot but definitely manageable!
the staff and faculty is very diverse and all very friendly and welcoming!!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 29, 2017
Still work here.
great place.
good co-workers.
pay low but nice environment.
Have to give more raises, but love the job.
alot of hours
Overal gre
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good start
Financial Aid Advisor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 24, 2017
This is a place where you can come in and get a start and make it. If you go with the flow and dont get caught up in anything you can go far in the company. They promote based on who they like. so just be liked and you will move up.
Pros
Job security
Cons
People stay there for a long time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Cashier/ greeter (Former Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYJuly 6, 2017
A good experience but won't go back, this is more like a who knows who job. When it come to working here, they have a lot of long term people here that have been for 20 plus years.
Pros
Thr environment
Cons
No paid time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE Place to work!!!
Assistant Director (Current Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYJune 29, 2017
Not worth the time nor effort. Horrible management across the entire college. No work life balance and managers DON'T listen to staff that actually cares
Pros
1/2 day friday
Cons
To many to add - Last resort kind of place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Monroe College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 125 reviews
548
445
317
210
15

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Monroe College Reviews by Location