Monsanto Employee Reviews

Found 552 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
District Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Turlock, CAMay 12, 2017
Great company, committed to R&D and bringing the very best new products to the market that change the landscape of agriculture. A typical day is always changing, and the culture is fast paced and dynamic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to know what it was like in the 80s, read on
Research Biologist I (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, MOMay 12, 2017
Good place to work if you didn't mind being kept on as a temp w/o benefits for ever - or until someone killed your project and layed everyone off. That was then, before Pharmacia/Pfizer/Solvay/Monsanto².
Pros
nice campus
Cons
projects live and die, taking employees with them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, IAMay 9, 2017
I worked as a labor worker so i was mainly outside. It was mostly hot but Monsanto provided good products to help with the sun. If it ever got hot we'd get pop-sticks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment with great professionals
Billing Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 8, 2017
Typical day included pulling customer files for claim payers; preparing workmen's compensation weekly payments; working in the machine room (preparing insurance claims with payment checks); closing machine room; preparing claims and checks to be mailed to various Monsanto main offices throughout the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and Bad
Scientist (Current Employee) –  Soda Springs, IDMay 6, 2017
Good
Opportunities to learn and receive training
Good Pay
Great Benefits



Bad
Overworked (work life balance non existent)
Discrimination
Favoritism
heavier workload than job description due to lack of performance of co workers.
increased workload without additional pay
Bias in a small community
Pros
Opportunity for learning and training, good pay, great benefits
Cons
no breaks, bias in small community, discrimination, poor work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with great people
Field tech assistant (Former Employee) –  Mason, MIMay 2, 2017
Working as a research assistant was a great opportunity. The management was great and the workers were easy to get along with. I learned a lot in the process.
Pros
Good work and cowerkers
Cons
A lot of travel on a personal vehicle which costs a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment for fostering learning and team building relationships
Environmental Engineer Co-op (Former Employee) –  Luling, LAMay 1, 2017
Great working environment for fostering learning and team building relationships specially for university students at a co-op level that gives them an exposure to real world atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente ambiente laboral
Logistic Coordinator DC MX, CAMCAR & NAM (Current Employee) –  Guadaajara MexicoMay 1, 2017
La flexibilidad de timepo que ofrece es muy buen factor para tener una buena balanza de vida trabajo y vida.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture of innovation and inclusiveness
Global Business Planning Lead (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 1, 2017
Monsanto has been a great school for me not only from a career standpoint but also as a leader.
The company ensures the employees have a performance plan for business results as well as personal development and works focused on it.
It is a company that takes risk, stretching employees moving to new roles, more responsibilities, and at the same time provides mentors, coaches to allow them to be successful.
I have been able to achieve my professional goals so far working for Monsanto.
Pros
Great career opportunities, supports cross functional and geographies moves
Cons
Has been working vey lean, ends up keeping people under additiona stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot, kept busy
Pollinator (Former Employee) –  Stanton, MNApril 18, 2017
It was very hot, very tiring work, beware of spiders, a job for someone is is not afraid to work long days in the sun. Constantly had water for you, had a nice supervisor.
Pros
First aid readily available, water always available, decent pay
Cons
Hot days in the sun, pollen, corn spiders
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment with work/life balance in mind
Test Automation Coordinator (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 17, 2017
- Casual work environment
- Learned many technical skills. Was privileged to take development courses as well as people manager trainings to further advance in my career.
- Management lost it's way when IT restructured.
- Was able to experience a number of diverse resources ranging from technologically advanced individuals to scientists from the lab side of the business to sales.
- Most difficult part of working in IT at Monsanto was a seemingly constant state of reorganization within groups in IT. Most of which were not planned very well.
- I mostly enjoyed the challenge of new technologies reshaping the way we performed IT.
Pros
Great benefits. Outstanding work life balance with the ability to work from home often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be great in all aspects; not so much anymore
Accountant (Current Employee) –  Creve Coeur, MOApril 17, 2017
This used to be a great place to work. The managers were amazing, there was always plenty of help when you needed it, and the company really cared. That all went downhill when Monsanto went through their restructuring period and let go a lot of their managers and replaced them with people who don't know how to manage. Information regarding decisions are slow to make their way down the pipeline and it's often relayed too late.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Managers, Informed decisions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Crew member (Former Employee) –  Olivia, MNApril 14, 2017
The friends I made while working were great! The people were all very nice no matter how hot it was out. Everyone working was always very enthusiastic and were always excited to be working!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative
Finance Program Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 13, 2017
Innovative workplace, great work-life balance, excellent benefits and vacation, culture seems to be changing depending upon which department you are in,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
compensated well but work to life ratio was crazy
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 12, 2017
A very well run company that provided compensation based on performance. Management was difficult to get to know but provided the tools and resources to be successful.
Pros
compensation, business opportunities
Cons
work to life ration
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2nd shift allowed working more with operators.
Systems Reliability Engineer (Former Employee) –  Ankeny, IAApril 10, 2017
2nd shift allowed working more with operators. On day shift there were more meetings and the process of repairing equipment took more time than what I could do at night.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a seasonal worker, it is very rewarding working for Monsanto
Supervisor for detasseling crew (Current Employee) –  Boone, IAApril 10, 2017
My work for Monsanto is seasonal.
I enjoy it very much. We are able to employ young people of our community, and teach them about a work ethic, as well as the agricultural piece of our farming community.
Monsanto is very safety conscious, and takes good care of their employees. They are amiable to work with and professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab and people experience
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCApril 10, 2017
Good company to work for , work/life balance. they made sure you were safe at work and home. Trainings each year to assure we met continued progress. I feel that the company worked to improve the life of people working toward the present and the future of the world. Provided fun activities during the year and provided daily recreation for down time. I was able to grow as a person in responsibility. I gained experience, learned how to adapt to different cultures.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different tasks on a daily basis
Warehouse Operator (Former Employee) –  Waipahu, HI 96797April 9, 2017
alot of different task to learn if you are willing too.
need to have great communication skills and teamwork.
work can sometimes be fast pace and will need you to work underpressure.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
learned all task. no room to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place
Field Worker (Current Employee) –  Kīhei, HIApril 8, 2017
Its fun working place because I enjoying with all of the workers and the managers and we are all tritening each other like a family members in the whole theme
Pros
Free energy drinks
Cons
We get 4times break a day
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Monsanto. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 1,087 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1