Find companies:
Montgomery County Public Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
59 reviews

Montgomery County Public Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent mission and opportunities to grow within the organization
Communications Specialist (Current Employee), Rockville, MDSeptember 19, 2014
The employee is given the chance to take on more responsibility, work independently, and provide input. Co-workers play a big part in this, and are always in the best interest of the organization. The hardest part of the job is understanding the bureaucracy and nature of working for a public school system, may take more time to implement new changes – more... that one would hope. Having a positive impact on the students and families is the most enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teacher
Teacher (Former Employee), Rockville MDSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: staff and children
Teacher duties
Worked with an initiative Principal in an Autism Center for children grades K-5
Wonderful work environment with supportive administration who understood the difficulties working with children with Autism and additional multiple disorders
Most enjoyable was getting to work with the children and celebrate the smallest of academic or social – more... gains – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun staff
Teacher of Analog and Digital Photography (Former Employee), Montgomery County,MarylandJuly 30, 2014
Pros: planning periods, lunch break
Cons: some times a very large class size.
I arrived at work everyday at 5:30 am, 2 hours before my start time, after commuting for 45 miles. I taught 5 class periods a day with the class size on an average of 35 - 37 students. In the spring semester, I also coached varsity softball. I coached for 20 years. My co-workers were great and supportive. The hardest part of my job was my commute to – more... and from work. My commute was 90 miles a day for 33 yearsThe most enjoyable part of my job was watching the students learn a new photographic process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much to do
Substitute ASL and English Language Teacher (Former Employee), Rockville, MDJuly 17, 2014
Unless you're an Educator and want to strive for the best then aim for the sky!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MCPS
Teacher (Former Employee), Meadow Hall ESJuly 8, 2014
I worked for MCPS for about 25 years and enjoyed every minute of my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching students is enjoyable and challenging.
Kindergarten teacher for 18 students (Former Employee), Rockville, MDJune 9, 2014
Pros: free lunches, free parking and training teachers and educators.
A typical day at work allowed me to collaborate with other teaching professionals under a common goal of meting educational goals.

I was allowed to create an expository reading and writing program that was used on all levels-Kindergarten through sixth grade. In this environment it allowed me to grow as part of a team.

The principal was able to get – more... results from us as educators and we annually exceeded teaching and learning capabilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Special educator in variety of different settings with MCPS
Special Ed Teacher, Carl Sandburg Learning Center (Current Employee), Special Ed Teacher, Redland Middle School,May 8, 2014
Pros: interactions with students, job- salary and benefits
Cons: need for materials to constantly be created, always need new and challenging materials to teach
Most recently I teach 3 classes in the School Community Based program at a Middle School with Montgomery County Public Schools. I have learned to adapt a general education curriculum to meet the needs of students with Intellectual Disabilities. I have learned to create material that can be used in that instruction. Meeting the individual needs of the – more... students in my class is a constant challenge as the subject and complexity of the curriculum changes is probably the most challenging part of my job. I enjoy relating to the individual students and rejoicing when they have mastered a concept or skill.
I also teach a reading intervention class to under performing 8th grade students in the special education program as well as coteach a 6th grade on level English class. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with children there was no typical day.
Special Education Assistant (Former Employee), Elliston-Lafayette, VAApril 25, 2014
The best part of the job was working with the students. Never having the same day twice. Great co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy work environment with a great staff
Para-Educator @ James Hubert Blake High School (Current Employee), Rockville, MDApril 15, 2014
I work with predominantly special ed students with IEPs and slight learning disabilities. The staff is very supportive and extremely considerate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifestyle At Work
PARA EDUCATOR (Former Employee), Rockville, MDApril 3, 2014
A typical day at work is to pick up the kids, follow the routine, correspond with parents, and respect specialists in the special education department. I have learned to be patient with the students, their parents, and to manage my time judiciously. The hardest part of the job is dealing with parents that are in denial that their children have been – more... diagnosed with autism. The most enjoyable part of the job is when the students make reasonable progress that affect their lives. In teaching special education, teachers work very closely to see that the students meet their respective goals and objectives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MCPS is a good place to work. The benefits were great.
Bus Operator (Former Employee), Rockville, MDApril 1, 2014
Pros: health care, and the hours. i had a long break in the middle of the day.
Cons: not may of the runs are full time. my route was part time.
I drove a school bus for MCPS for 12 years. The co-workers were like one big family. The hardest part of the job was driving in inclement weather. The most enjoyable part of this job was my students. This was a part time position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun meeting wonderful teachers and office staff
Building Service Worker (Former Employee), Rockville, MDMarch 14, 2014
Pros: meeting wonderful teachers
Cons: no breaks, evil place to work
Very busy and problematic co-workers who always were hiding cleaning materials. I was treated with disrespect from the Vice-principal and Manager. The position was only part-time, I was under a six-month probation period. Meaning I can not complain to Human Resources, if something happens to me. The school has the right to fire me just because. I was – more... supposed to work only four hours but unfortunately I worked passed my time limit. They constantly changed my time schedule and added more responsibilities then what I could handle. But according to the Manager they can clean the whole school within thirty-minutes! According to the Vice-Principal it can be done.
I enjoyed meeting the students and all the teachers staff were so nice too me. That was the only thing that was enjoyable. I personally do not recommend anyone to apply for a "Building Service Worker" position. Their Managing system sucks! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Evaluation Specialist (Former Employee), Rockville, MDMarch 6, 2014
Very professional and hardworking staff. Many resources are made available to staff to be able to produce high quality products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintaining and repairing
Mechanic Technician (Former Employee), Silver Spring, MDMarch 4, 2014
Pros: one hour lunch
Cons: excellent benefits
Performed Preventive Maintenance on Schools buses in concordance with Maryland State Regulation.
Performed Diagnosis and Repairs on Vehicles as needed by respecting safety regulations.
Performed a yearly mandatory schools buses safety inspection
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient, Effective and strong academic delivery system
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Montgomery County, MarylandMarch 4, 2014
A typical day at work is a pleasant greeting in the moring and easy climate. Work is vigorous but can be managed. My co-workers are well prepared and eager to get the day moving. The management is flexible and fair. The hardest part of the job is knowing all kids do not get a fair start. The most enjoyable part of the job is that I can make that day – more... better for that child. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offers training if it assist the students.
High School Distance Learning Language Facilitator (Current Employee), Arlington, VAFebruary 27, 2014
My typical day:
-servicing the classroom laptops;
-reading school email that address the day's schedule;
-checking BlackBoard for the classroom assignments, passwords and handouts;
-maintaining daily attendance by SYNERGY;
-monitoring students work during their online activities; and
-informing teachers if adjusts need to be made to the day's activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute Teaching Role
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Rockville, MDJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: excellent pay
Cons: no benefits
As a substitute teacher it sometimes is difficult to find a niche in a school since you are not a permanent employee however it is a phenomenal school district with excellent resources to help children reach their potential.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a salary
Administrator (Current Employee), Rockville, MDJanuary 6, 2014
Need a stable job with more hours, salary and a place where I can learn things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Truck Driver/warehouse/Bus Operator (Current Employee), Rockville, MDJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: na
Typical day making sure that my surrounding were safe for me an student, that i Transported.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Building Service Worker (Former Employee), Rockville ,MDDecember 26, 2013
• Worked cooperatively with other staff members to maintain the educational environment
• Cleaned and sanitized classrooms within educational facilities.
• Handle routine restocking of toiletries and paper supplies for entire facility
• Perform to dust blinds and polish file cabinets, furniture and fixtures, phones, computers and window sills in entire – more... facility areas along with vacuuming
• Proven ability to manage priorities in strict deadlines

What I learned from this position is the ability to complete any task in a desired time in an efficient manner – less

1 2 3