Find companies:
Montgomery County Public Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 reviews

Montgomery County Public Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy work environment with a great staff
Para-Educator @ James Hubert Blake High School (Current Employee), Rockville, MDApril 15, 2014
I work with predominantly special ed students with IEPs and slight learning disabilities. The staff is very supportive and extremely considerate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifestyle At Work
PARA EDUCATOR (Former Employee), Rockville, MDApril 3, 2014
A typical day at work is to pick up the kids, follow the routine, correspond with parents, and respect specialists in the special education department. I have learned to be patient with the students, their parents, and to manage my time judiciously. The hardest part of the job is dealing with parents that are in denial that their children have been – more... diagnosed with autism. The most enjoyable part of the job is when the students make reasonable progress that affect their lives. In teaching special education, teachers work very closely to see that the students meet their respective goals and objectives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MCPS is a good place to work. The benefits were great.
Bus Operator (Former Employee), Rockville, MDApril 1, 2014
Pros: health care, and the hours. i had a long break in the middle of the day.
Cons: not may of the runs are full time. my route was part time.
I drove a school bus for MCPS for 12 years. The co-workers were like one big family. The hardest part of the job was driving in inclement weather. The most enjoyable part of this job was my students. This was a part time position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun meeting wonderful teachers and office staff
Building Service Worker (Former Employee), Rockville, MDMarch 14, 2014
Pros: meeting wonderful teachers
Cons: no breaks, evil place to work
Very busy and problematic co-workers who always were hiding cleaning materials. I was treated with disrespect from the Vice-principal and Manager. The position was only part-time, I was under a six-month probation period. Meaning I can not complain to Human Resources, if something happens to me. The school has the right to fire me just because. I was – more... supposed to work only four hours but unfortunately I worked passed my time limit. They constantly changed my time schedule and added more responsibilities then what I could handle. But according to the Manager they can clean the whole school within thirty-minutes! According to the Vice-Principal it can be done.
I enjoyed meeting the students and all the teachers staff were so nice too me. That was the only thing that was enjoyable. I personally do not recommend anyone to apply for a "Building Service Worker" position. Their Managing system sucks! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Evaluation Specialist (Former Employee), Rockville, MDMarch 6, 2014
Very professional and hardworking staff. Many resources are made available to staff to be able to produce high quality products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintaining and repairing
Mechanic Technician (Former Employee), Silver Spring, MDMarch 4, 2014
Pros: one hour lunch
Cons: excellent benefits
Performed Preventive Maintenance on Schools buses in concordance with Maryland State Regulation.
Performed Diagnosis and Repairs on Vehicles as needed by respecting safety regulations.
Performed a yearly mandatory schools buses safety inspection
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient, Effective and strong academic delivery system
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Montgomery County, MarylandMarch 4, 2014
A typical day at work is a pleasant greeting in the moring and easy climate. Work is vigorous but can be managed. My co-workers are well prepared and eager to get the day moving. The management is flexible and fair. The hardest part of the job is knowing all kids do not get a fair start. The most enjoyable part of the job is that I can make that day – more... better for that child. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offers training if it assist the students.
High School Distance Learning Language Facilitator (Current Employee), Arlington, VAFebruary 27, 2014
My typical day:
-servicing the classroom laptops;
-reading school email that address the day's schedule;
-checking BlackBoard for the classroom assignments, passwords and handouts;
-maintaining daily attendance by SYNERGY;
-monitoring students work during their online activities; and
-informing teachers if adjusts need to be made to the day's activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute Teaching Role
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Rockville, MDJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: excellent pay
Cons: no benefits
As a substitute teacher it sometimes is difficult to find a niche in a school since you are not a permanent employee however it is a phenomenal school district with excellent resources to help children reach their potential.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a salary
Administrator (Current Employee), Rockville, MDJanuary 6, 2014
Need a stable job with more hours, salary and a place where I can learn things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Truck Driver/warehouse/Bus Operator (Current Employee), Rockville, MDJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: na
Typical day making sure that my surrounding were safe for me an student, that i Transported.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Building Service Worker (Former Employee), Rockville ,MDDecember 26, 2013
• Worked cooperatively with other staff members to maintain the educational environment
• Cleaned and sanitized classrooms within educational facilities.
• Handle routine restocking of toiletries and paper supplies for entire facility
• Perform to dust blinds and polish file cabinets, furniture and fixtures, phones, computers and window sills in entire – more... facility areas along with vacuuming
• Proven ability to manage priorities in strict deadlines

What I learned from this position is the ability to complete any task in a desired time in an efficient manner – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Christiansburg, VADecember 17, 2013
Cons: no healthcare, low pay
I have to say that working without any benefits is a bummer, but that is not all. The management in Transportation stinks, they play favorites and have no problem letting everyone see who their favorites are. Are not consistant, very untrustworthy. I would NOT recommend anyone going to drive a bus for them. The pay stinks too.

I loved my job and that – more... is the only reason I stayed for so long. The kids make it worth putting up with so much. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Administrative Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee), Rockville, MDNovember 20, 2013
Great place to work for a high school student, alot of great people to learn from especially when it comes to school
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great way to give back
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Rockville, MDNovember 11, 2013
Pros: lots of pta lunches and breakfasts
Cons: pay
There is too much joy giving back and being part of the education process. The school system shows you there are many opportunities for children to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to work
Montgomery County, MD (Current Employee), anywhereOctober 27, 2013
Working for Montgomery county public schools has overall been a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and i enjoy working at Shady Grove Middle School
Security Assistant (Current Employee), Gaithersburg, MDOctober 16, 2013
Pros: everyone really work together.and willing to lend a hand always.
Cons: by me being the only security assistant, i really never get a chance to really get my 1/2 hour lunch break without being interrupted
love working at Montgomery County Public Schools, i love being and working around the young people,i get to interact with them, they come to me with various problems, i get to share my long life experience with them. and let the student no that my door, will always be open to any student, no matter what the problem may be. and the staff is great to – more... work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Building Service Worker (Current Employee), Rockville, MDOctober 15, 2013
Pros: good
Cons: good
good,job security,satisfying,customer service passion,serving students,parents, staff.Including good team work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy interacting with young people and I feel that because I am young I will be able to offer inspiration
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALOctober 9, 2013
My typical day begins with a phone call from the Substitute Employee Management System and I accept a job and I arrive within 30-45 minutes to the school. I gain control of the class and I distribute the work materials/assignments that the permanent teacher may have left.
In interacting with the children I learn a lot about their personalities and what – more... they like. They often have questions for me because they feel as if I can identify with their issues because I am much closer in age to them as opposed to their regular teacher.
The hardest part of the job is seeing how the children in MPS do not have a strong desire to learn or be different.
The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that I may inspire. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typival day at work
Building Services Coordinator (Current Employee), Rockville, MDSeptember 7, 2013
Its an easy job, although the management can make the job more difficult.

1 2 3