Find companies:
Moody's Investors Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Moody's Investors Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Becoming more Corporate and less Personal
Assistant Vice President (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 10, 2015
Pros: located in lower manhattan. robust business model.
Cons: penny wise, pound foolish.
The company went from having a collegial, affirming work environment to being contentious and back-biting. As corporate revenue mushroomed, staff reshuffling and managerial indifference seemed to increase as well. Management would boast of the company's success and the size of the IT budget, and at the same time be very stingy when it came to training, development tools, and workstations. One thing they did well was to allow for work from home.
I felt that their technology was plagued by indecisiveness and a culture of inertia.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and exciting learning
Sr. ORACLE DBA (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 4, 2015
Great management team, Provides excellent opportunity to grow independently and motivate people to steer to success.

Best location and great collection of technologies, fast moving in terms of adapting new technologies and implementing in time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice about working here
Vice President, Senior Analyst (Current Employee), New Yor, NYJanuary 4, 2015
Pros: people, base salary
Cons: everything else
Senior management sucks big time. Bad initiatives with even worse IT. People are nice, but a real sweat shop. Looking to leave yesterday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if you want to learn throughout your career
Vice President (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 16, 2014
Great place if you want to continue to learn throughout your career
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Operations Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 22, 2014
Pros: unlimited overtime
Cons: financial debacle
Generate detailed financial and operational projections via Excel (i.e. revenue per region and product, expenses per headcount, expenses per department and project, capital expenditures)
Prepares and analyzes financial and tax accounts according to prescribed rates, laws, and regulations
Compiles productivity, compliance and profit/loss reports
Quantitative analysis with regression and what-if scenarios
Analyzes records of operations, trends and costs, estimated and realized revenues, administrative commitments, and obligations incurred.
Develops, installs, and maintains reporting systems that provide control of tax expenditures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So-so company
Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 22, 2014
Pros: nice people
Cons: long hours
Diverse people and culture. Can be scarce on resources. Long working hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to enhance analytic skills
Analyst (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 16, 2014
This is what I have accomplished, which self-explains how much hard worker can achieve from this place

Analyst - Loan-Level Research Team Leader, Residential MBS Surveillance July 2012 - Present
• Won Moody’s Structured Finance Research Award for two consecutive years. Selected publications out of 26:
- “Rising Home Prices Won’t Improve Subprime RMBS Loss Severities in 2014,” Moody’s ResiLandscape, 26 Mar. 2013.
- “Recoveries on Failed Modifications Higher than Average, Set to Rise More,” Moody’s ResiLandscape, 22 Feb. 2013.
• Improve accuracy of mortgage loss curve and cash flow projection by factoring in collateral risk profiles, servicer-specific advancing and loss mitigation practices, structural features, and macroeconomic trends
• Revamp Moody’s SQL algorithm on in-house and Lewtan mortgage loan-level data to calculate (re)default rate, loss severity, liquidation timeline, roll rate, modification rate, CPR, loan-to-value, and advancing rate

Associate Analyst, Residential MBS Surveillance Nov. 2010 - June 2012
• Analyzed 400+ MBS transactions backed by prime, subprime, Alt-A, option ARM, commercial, FHA-insured, or non-US mortgage, and 50+ resecuritized transactions; communicated collateral or structural risk to investors
• Created Servicer Metric, a unique indicator in RMBS industry to quantify and rank-order servicers’ performance, based on on-site servicer review, loan-level analysis of delinquent loan resolutions, and close dialogue with servicers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Moody's
Creative Designer (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 9, 2014
Pros: benefits (health insurance, etc), free museum passes
Cons: creatives paid well below market
Well established, stable company with global presence where financial analysts are well compensated but creatives are paid well below market rates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe job
Senior Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 6, 2014
Pros: dinner and car service after 7:30
Cons: compensation
If you want a stable job with no risk of getting fired or laid off then this is the place. It is also a good company to gather experience and leverage it to move to a better place after a few years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Issuer Relations Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 17, 2014
*Talking directly for analysts regarding debt instrument ratings.
*Co Workers were very supportive and fun to be around.
*Talking to customers regarding billing and pricing was not easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Strategic Planning Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 11, 2014
Very good work-life balance. Co-workers are nice. Progression is slow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average work place. Initiatives taken to advance are not rewarded
Debt Issuer Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 24, 2013
Their pay is on par with the industry averages. Location is very nice. There is security in the building. And you can make good friends.

As far as career advancement is concerned there is none. You could be over qualified for a job and you may take initiative by working on complicated projects but these efforts are not appreciated.

Management is too old fashioned and many managers have been running the show for much too long. Perhaps they need some new blood.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest place to work.
Operations Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 9, 2013
The corporate culture is a bit awkward and advancement opportunities aren't great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and growing company.
Supervisor-Information Management Group (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: always changing and updating to provide better services.
Cons: commuting to the city.
answer Information Center emails, gather documents for analysts who are reviewing a company, Update attendance tracking database for employees,over see we have all staff covering phones and email inquiries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with such great people, they taught me alot.
Senior Product Service Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 7, 2013
My day would begin with my checking my e-mails and seeing if I had any requests for CD's or print products. I learned how to work on a website and I also learned how to burn CD's with information. I can not say enough kind and wonderful words for my management. They were very understanding of my situation. The hardest part of my job was when I had to work late at night from home and test the website to make sure it was running properly. The most enjoyable part was learning so many new things and being able to apply what I learned to my position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace with solid work/life balance
Lead Financial Data Analyst - Public Finance (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 4, 2013
For the most part, I enjoy working there. My coworkers are great, get along with all of them. Management can tend to be on top of you too much and focus on things that aren't as important (in other words, micromanaging). Hours are usually 9-5, which gives me a good work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!
Senior Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 26, 2013
By far the most rewarding job I have ever had. Very, Very happy!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent - Great Hours and Job Security
Procurement Manager, Procurement & Sourcing (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 9, 2013
Pros: decent - great hours and job security
Cons: poor management
Decent - Great Hours and Job Security, poor management not much room for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training, most people enjoy a good work life balance, orginization and pay is very flat
Associate Analyst, Corporate Finance Group (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: more laid back than most financial firms. some people enjoy a good work life balance
Cons: pay is below market, very hard to get promoted, extra effort and work is not rewarded, managers are very removed from day to day
Great credit training and exposure to the market. Company is experiencing alot of regulatory changes. Experiance and hours can very widely depending on the group you work in,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, very good benefits.
Product Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 27, 2012
I have been working there for 13 years. I am ready for a fresh start.

About Moody's Investors Service

Across Asia Pacific, Moody's is an integral part of the financial landscape, rating most of the region's cross-border issues. – Read more