Find companies:
Morgan Stanley
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
741 reviews

Morgan Stanley Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, demanding company with no work/life balance
Director (Former Employee), Fells Point, MDDecember 18, 2014
A typical day for me was filled with meetings, conference calls, approving wires & journals, monitoring a staff of 9 to ensure they completed their daily tasks accurately, responding to emails and client complaints.

I learned how to be a better leader and mentor to my subordinates.

Management was unreasonable.

My co-corkers were stressed, but they – more... were great team players.

The hardest part of my job was trying to find the time to complete my required daily tasks during normal work hours.

I did not enjoy anything about working for Morgan Stanley. I developed a headache everyday when I entered the building. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive environment filled with ambitious people
Investment Banking Summer Intern (Former Employee), London,December 15, 2014
Pros: varied deals, so busy turning away clients
Great place to work if want a career in IBD. Learnt financial valuations and deal execution even in the summer which are typicaly quieter.

Lots of varied events held so met IBD interns as well as interns from across the firm. A great way to build your network. Morgan Stanley has a clear emphasis on the development of its people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To large of a company, compensation not competitive, unable to find good operational and compliance managers
Wealth Management Associate (Former Employee), Bryn Mawr PADecember 10, 2014
Pros: location, branch manager
Cons: complex management
Handled all operational work for a HNW producer and all administrative aspects.

Complex managers didn't seem to be able to high experienced, good operational and compliance managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced, intense, and rewarding work environment
Administrative Assistant, Investment Banking (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 7, 2014
Pros: benefits, diversification, motivating, and fun
Cons: time management
Morgan Stanley is a great company, filled with a diverse and cultured staff. Their room for growth and improvement was prominent, as well as an amazing work place environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet comfortable work environment
DIRECTOR OF N.A. POWER AND NATURAL GAS OPERATIONS (Current Employee), Purchase, NYDecember 5, 2014
Pros: work, life balance; mobility
There's a good sense of comraderie in this firm. There are much skills to learn from as well as be challenged with on a daily basis. Senior management is approachable and willing to provide guidance for career grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Senior BPM Admin (Current Employee), New York, NYDecember 4, 2014
Excellent Team and working environment.It was a great experience working in ad hoc projects and challenging tasks on day to day basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a,smhf oiweubt09w8gi
Operations - Registered Associate (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLDecember 3, 2014
•a typical day at work - 8:4:30
•what you learned - Compliance and operation procedures
•management - Branch management
•your co-workers - good people
•the hardest part of the job - no training
•the most enjoyable part of the job - co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of freedom
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 2, 2014
Lots of freedom.
Demands personal initiative.
Coaching available. Training ok.
Very high turnover for new FA's.
Long hours required for first 5 years while building clientele.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managers were great
CLIENT SERVICE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Mt. LaurelDecember 1, 2014
worked overtime a lot when my group moved from another company
they were very helpful getting our group what we needed
gave us a special team that helped us get organized
insurance was given at a good price
had great lunches all the time, and many difference training events
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 1, 2014
Great experience, great place to learn and grow. Challening work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good env
Technology & Communication Project - Manager (Former Employee), new yorkNovember 30, 2014
Technology & Communication Project - Manager
• Managed and administered Field services group technology
• Worked directly with Sales force developers and enhanced system according to needs
• Worked with entitlement department ensuring entire desk had proper entitlements
• Performed checkout to ensure integrity of complete environment and troubleshot – more... servers
• Worked with network groups to resolve complex connectivity issues involving multiple VLANs
• Worked directly with Avaya vendors and implemented changes to current platform
• Worked on UNIX platform to maintain and secure current infrastructure
• Worked on SQL database to input Avaya speech database
• Maintained and secured speech recognizer server and supported AVP
• Performed the Data Migration from regular desktop environment to Virtual machine – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Financial Intern
Summer Intern (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 23, 2014
Pros: helpful people in the workplace always willing to answer your questions.
Cons: due to status as an intern, there was a limit as to how much you can contribute
As a financial intern I was able to report to professionals in the industry who have experience dealing with high net individuals. Most of the days involved building vast amounts of spreadsheets that helped communicate key metrics in terms of leverage and other classifications. An eagerness to learn is appreciated here and it leads to harder projects – more... which ultimately builds your own skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many intelligent and hard working people
Basel III Reporting, Senior PM - Consultant (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 22, 2014
Many intelligent and hard working people working towards a common goal. Good teamwork across the board. A typical workday includes team meetings, reviews along with some time to focus on analysis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The firm has continually broken new ground in advising our clients on strategic transactions
Accounting Consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 19, 2014
The firm has continually broken new ground in advising our clients on strategic transactions, in pioneering the global expansion of finance and capital markets, and in providing new opportunities for individual and institutional investors. Click below to see a timeline of Morgan Stanley's growth, which parallels the history of modern finance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vauable Training available
Corporate Finance Analyst (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDNovember 17, 2014
Great environment with training opportunity for individuals within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place for college graduate
Sourcing Analyst (Full-Time) (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 16, 2014
Pros: many versions of milk in their pantry
Morgan Stanley doesn't foster a culture of innovation. Their policies are traditional, and management is allergic to change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, friendly and fast paced environment
Receptionist (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 15, 2014
A typical day at work was getting in ahead of the crowd and beginning the tasks which were most time sensitive for that day. I enjoyed working with my co-workers. I appreciated the support and contact I had with them. The hardest part of my job was when an unplanned assignment came up and time was short. It would be then that I realized how important – more... it was to plan for the time sensitive tasks for that day. Though, the unplanned assignment was always completed and well done, it became a bigger challenge in a short time frame. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with and meeting other employees from different departments. I enjoyed learning new skills which I could incorporate into my position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work at
Jr Project Manager -PMO - Consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 13, 2014
A Qualified IT graduate with comprehensive knowledge of Product lifecycles, Analysis, MS Excel, Access, Project, Crystal reports, SQL, Powerpoint,etc . I am a quick learner with excellent team work abilities and can meet tight deadlines. Possess excellent communication, interpersonal, analytical, and problem-solving and team management skills. Possess – more... excellent eye for design, creative and very eager to learn. In all my previous jobs I have worked as a Business Analyst whereby my main role was to act as a liaison between Business and technology, providing solutions to business/technology teams, reporting on the progress of the projects, escalating at risk milestones to senior management, collecting and documenting requirements for various projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work.
Summer Intern (Former Employee), Charlottesville, VANovember 10, 2014
Was only an intern there for a summer. Great location downtown, good people to work with. Highly Flexible schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QAPM Engineering Support
Quality Assurance Project management(QAPM) (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 10, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: lack of people level communication from management
Morgan Stanley is a global company. Support teams are located all over the world. The firm has created a technical infrastructure that is solely specific to their environment requiring new employees to undergo specific technical training to be functional in their technical roles. This is a good thing for in the long term for employees but for consultants – more... the time required to be functional in their jobs usually is 6 months or greater and they typically go off contract within a year or more and have not really gained transferable skills to their next assignment. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Morgan Stanley

One of the world's top investment banks, Morgan Stanley serves up a smorgasbord of financial services. The company operates in three primary – Read more

Morgan Stanley Photos