Morgan State University Employee Reviews

Showing all 124 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple but Productive.
IT Computer Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 6, 2016
I go in, go to my supervisor's office to get my badge, and I go to computer lab after computer lab to check and inspect the equipment
such as the computers and printers until the end of my shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cardinal Health
Student Accountant (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 31, 2016
Great job! Started with the company in an entry-level position and gain great transferable skills. In addition, the company continuously surpass each goal set each quarter.
Pros
Paid holiday, no weekends, and courtesy lunches
Cons
Promotions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcome
Msu Tutoring Corps. (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 21, 2016
I enjoyed fixing up the various programs so they could run more smoothly then before. It had room for advancement but not much change in pay.
Pros
Job Security
Cons
Pay hours minimal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Grants Assistant, Restricted Funds Accounting (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 17, 2016
My colleagues were very friendly, always looked forward to going to work - they were like family. Great benefits package too e.g. tuition and health cover.
Pros
Benefits - tuition
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fast Pace
Campus Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 4, 2016
Overall, this shall be a stepping stone for advancement
Good for someone's first time job; High School Graduates.......................
Pros
None
Cons
Mandatory 4 hour overtime if relief doesn't show
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horriable
Resident Assistant (RA) (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 4, 2016
Terrible job. Did not always have the pay checks on time. Scheduling was very confusing did not put the correct hours in for your pay at times. Supervisors was very unorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Morgan State is a good university, HR is terrible
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  Human ResourcesJuly 30, 2016
I loved the students and other departments that serve the students. I worked in HR and the department is horrible. The HR department need restructuring starting with the leadership. The department policies are old and not effective. The HR department should be the face of the organization, however its a disgrace of MSU.
Pros
Students, free tuition
Cons
Unorganized, poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the food was good and healthy
Landscaping Laborer (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 25, 2016
morgan univ was a good place to work
ive learned alot working up morgan univ
my co workers were good and cool to get along with
Pros
free lunches
Cons
distractions
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mundane work, no fun
Administrative Assistant I (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 12, 2016
My immediate co-workers are diligient steady workers. In the area I am assigned, we are less than five employed. There is no hard work required, only when coordinating meetings and the intended party does reply in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A check when I needed one
Administrative Assistant/Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 12, 2016
I work very hard and although I have two degrees advancement is not possible and the pay is weak, especially since I wear more than one hat.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workplace with hard working managers.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 4, 2016
The day was usually busty with fast paced workers. I learned to work faster and manage the cashier while assisting customers. I learned to count the registers and keep track of the labor percentage in the store. The managers where very kind and hardworking. The co-workers were polite. The hardest part of the job was dealing with difficult customers who didn't like the prices of the food or wanted to be rude to the employees and managers. The most enjoyable part of the job was satisfying customers and creating a pleasant experience for them at Popeye's.
Pros
free lunches friendly managers
Cons
sometimes rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taught me my first Administrative Skills
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  1700 Coldspring LnMay 26, 2016
Since it was a school it was a diverse working environment and I got to meet all kinds of new people. It was like a family I learned a lot.
Pros
Met new people
Cons
the pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive HBCU institution and professional workplace environment
Special Assistant to the V.P. for Finance (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 13, 2016
It is an enjoyable place to be employed. It provides a great living learning experience and a premiere education to students so that they can ultimately lead the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working at my current job but there is no growth.
Student Mail Clerk (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MarylandMay 4, 2016
Morgan State University afforded me the opportunity to work with students, staff and faculty. First position is to the students. I am responsible for logging in the student accountable mail and packages. I get to met students from outstate as well as out of the country. I've learned how to work with co-workers with different
personality and opinions as well as different nationality.

I hardest part of my job is having to tell a student "we have not received your mail or package". The most enjoyable part of the job is the smile on a students face when they received a check, package or mail from home.
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun-loving work environment that places premium on employee development
Morgan State University (Current Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDApril 28, 2016
Managing a process improvement project that updates the standard operating procedures by collaborating with sectional heads, unit supervisors, and information technology department. Sending and responding to management reports about status of current projects. Sitting on a team that identifies process improvement initiatives in the department to increase performance targets.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, yet fun environment
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 21, 2016
I learned complex algorithms which required me to think beyond my limit and cause me to achieve more. My mentor was very engaging always showing how to approach my tasks in a different way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place of continuous growth
Project Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 1, 2016
I will always be proud as a future alumni to say "I am a Bear".
It was my beginning on my path to success.
It was a learning environment that allows one to grow if they know how to reach out for new opportunities. It is a vibrant campus and the work varied project to project.
Pros
Time management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a regular tutoring job with a lot of fun
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 15, 2016
Typical day will consist on helping students grasp some class concepts. Students will make appointment and you have to teach them using different way of teaching. You can only teach what you can teach, and also help new coming employee to understand their jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Office Assistant & Print Shop Pressman (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 11, 2016
typical work day was to help people
I learned how to operate a printing press
management sucks
co-workers were cool
hardest part of the job was the boss
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Professor (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 9, 2016
Great place to learn
Fun, engaging, clean campus
Polite co workers
Multiple parking areas
handicap accessible
The buildings are very new
Cafe has variety of options
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 124 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9

Morgan State University Reviews by Location