Find companies:
Morgans Hotel Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Morgans Hotel Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Properies
Catering Sales Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 5, 2014
Great hotels and good people to work with. Competent staff, and a good life work balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company
Regional Group Sales Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 16, 2014
Pros: supportive peers
Cons: turnover- job security
Selling the Morgans Hotel Group was difficult due to the lack of meeting space and the high goals. Over all it is a good company and as I was leaving my last position there, they were going through some positive change within the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn
Night Manager/AFOM (Former Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 19, 2014
Cons: 401k not provided
I learned a lot from Morgans. Some good, some bad. All in all it was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
IT Manager/Support Technician (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 27, 2013
Challenging and rewarding environment. Great and supportive team of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, fun work place
mini-bar attendant (Current Employee), Miami, FLJuly 10, 2013
Pros: free lunch, great co-workers, great enviroment, great benefits.
Cons: no oportunities to grow within the company
I enjoy my job greatly because i see so many people from all over the world. I like a challenge that any day might presnt to me if it is prepping 80% of the hotel for incomming Guest or Setting up Room service for a party being held at the hotel. A typical day at work for me has a routine of paperwork to prepare myself to enter guest rooms, prepare – more... my inventory and have enought items in my cart to replenish all 309 rooms in the hotel. I have learned hot to communicate among the great variety of cultures i see very day. Unfortunaly the only down side of my job is that it is a corporation that very rarely allows for internal growth of employees, they do recognize the great work done but no room to move up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor executive staff that only trickles down the ladder
Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 30, 2013
Pros: people
Cons: zero opportunity for advancement, high turnover
Typical day at work was twiddling your thumbs. Literally. In order to add some value to your day, you have to be a go-getter and make things happen. If you're looking to advance your career, this is not the place. They will create new job titles for "advancement" but with zero compensation. Human Resources is a terrible resource. Execs at this company – more... fear the union workers and allow them to run the show while middle management are subjected to useless SOPs with zero accountability. Most enjoyable part is the people and the employee room rates. They hire some great talent but sadly do not know how to retain the good and keep the bad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Place to work for Talented Minority
Accouting (Former Employee), New YorkMarch 2, 2013
Cons: no job security, stressfull, make you work for 2 position to save money.
This company promotes people who they like, and same ethnic background. Hiring policy is not fair. Minority don't get chance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun employees
Accounts Paybale Specialist (Former Employee), Miami Beach, FLFebruary 1, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
Great company mission.
More room for growth and learning is needed.
Better upper management support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun employees
Accounts Paybale Specialist (Former Employee), Miami Beach, FLFebruary 1, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
Great company value.
More room for growth and learning was missing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disrespectful management
operations (Former Employee), delanoJanuary 20, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: horrible management
In bullet points and simple :
*fake environment
*disrespectful upper management
*unorganized systems
*the only employees that last have been there for over 20 years...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Morgans Hotel Group allowed me to grow in so many ways and you certainly can learn a whole lot working there especially working with union
overnight housekeeping manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 18, 2013
It's a very fun place to work with a lot going on. I learned a whole lot working there, about different cultures, different people and how to deal with people on different levels. Management is somewhat tense at times since this is a union working place. Co- workers pretty good, there were ups and down at times, but that we never could handle. Working – more... when the communication was at it's lowest point. Been able to help whenever needed to, no matter what. I love to see things done right. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, Stressful environment
Assistant Front Office Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 15, 2012
There are great people that work for MHG. Co workers become friends. Lots of people work very hard to make their hotels run smoothly. Unfortunately they underpay and over work their employees.

January 2, 2013

the management team are all amateurs don't know what the hell they doing , they driscriminate , they milking their employees that place is a mess

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top management are the worst, employees are great
Guest Service Associate, Shore Club (Former Employee), Miami Beach, FLAugust 17, 2012
Pros: employees are hard working and willing to help. lower managers are usually hard working.
Cons: gm is a difficult person to work for.
Get ready to deal with alot of customer complaints. The hotel is a South Beach fixture but the building is falling apart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CIRCUS LOUNGE
Counter Clerk Associate/Lobby Greeter (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 11, 2012
Pros: discounted rooms, disounts to the kitchen
Cons: short breaks
The Morgans Hotel is definately the place to be. A company with such a great reputation, it reflects in every property it is affiated to. Unique designs, the place to be events, and a place you never know who you'll bump into. It is a brilliant reflection of its boldness and the place of style.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Colleages
RESERVATIONS AGENT (now Reservations Manager) (Former Employee), Reservations Team LeaderApril 1, 2014
Pros: free lunch, discounted travel
Cons: late shifts, working sundays
A typical day is checking and responding to emails and phone messages. Counting how many reservation the restaurant took the night before and pre-paring for the future booking in the coming weeks.

I learned how to recover guests who were unhappy. I learnt also how difficult it is to please everyone and that some guests can be more challenging than – more... other.

I got along with majority of my co-workers, work was a fun environment for me. Mostly because I got along with my immediate co worker.

The hardest thing of the job was dealing with extremley challenging guests and work the later hours. I found difficult after a while to leave work late and manage to still get in for the early shift.

The most enjoyable bit of the job was working with my team. We always had a laugh and were able to communicate with each other. We made the day fun and enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
detail oriented and very passionate
In charge of mission (Former Employee), Marrakech/MoroccoMarch 14, 2014
Performance-driven & Accomplished Personal/Executive Assistant

More than 17 years of executive expertise & progressive administration practices to all luxury hotel operations, Skills in providing coordination and interface between GM and Executive Team in effective GM’s operations, Providing innovative concepts and their implementation, completing – more... projects within established timelines, and Permanent ability to multitask effectively in a fast-paced and challenging environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Food and Beverage Intern (Former Employee), London, ENGJanuary 28, 2014
This company combines a vibrant, young culture with upscale service standards. Employees need to fit company culture to excel, but if you're right for the job, the company will treat you well. Relatively small company with limited room for advancement compared to larger hotel companies. Coworkers and management make the job great.

About Morgans Hotel Group

Morgans Hotel Group (MHG) is part of a growing trend of staying in boutiques rather than shopping in them. The company owns (wholly – Read more

Morgans Hotel Group Photos