Find companies:
Mosaic Community Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Mosaic Community Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping others succeed
Residential Counselor (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: lots of one on one time with clients
Cons: outdated info
I really enjoyed working here but unfortunately I moved after graduating college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a little inconsistent
Residential Rehabilitation Counselor (Former Employee), Westminster, MDJuly 21, 2014
Pros: very independent job with very little accountability from management
Cons: very independent job with very little accountability from management
I appreciate what mosaic was trying to do with their corporate culture, but in practice it ended up being a very messy affair. management does not convey expectations, employees don't communicate well and often disregard client well being in favor of watching tv. I was very often asked to go into situations that were not safe and not a part of my job – more... description to do things that were outside the rules set by the company, but due to almost no accountability up the chain of command and the unchecked independence of the individual branches, none of this was ever reported, and no plan was ever made even after multiple situations that required police response. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learing environment
Rehabilitation Counselor (Current Employee), TowsonJuly 5, 2014
Pros: free parking, great staff
Cons: crisis clients
Counting medication and doing rounds to check the safety of clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Employment Specialist (Former Employee), Catonsville, MDJune 28, 2014
Pros: growth
Cons: pay
great place. pay not to great but growth opportunities are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning environment
Administrative Assistant I (Current Employee), Towson, MDMay 5, 2014
Pros: working with the patients
Cons: favoritism, inconsistencies, supervisors that do not know how to supervise, lack of pay increases
Greet patients, schedule follow-up appointments, gather demographics and insurance data, faxing, filing, speaking with pharmacies, assist the Dr.s and therapist,typing memos

There are many courses that you are required to take that are beneficial to your job responsibilities as well courses that you are made to take that do not even pertain to your – more... job position and not at all of any assistance to helping you advance. When you sign up for any of the courses, which are required to be taken during your work hours, your immediate supervisor/manager won't adjust your schedule accordingly and therefore make it impossible to attend your required courses. Of which you will be reprimanded by your Supervisor/Managers Supervisor for signing up for the course and not attending. And of course your supervisor/manager denies not adjusting your schedule or allowing you to have back up during your time at the courses.
The hardest part of the job wasn't the responsibilities at all, nor interacting with patients, the hardest part is trying to deal with the favoritism, constant inconsistency, double standards, unreasonable reasons for getting written up. How can 2 employees make the exact same error and only 1 of them be written up for it? Back to the favoritism...
I have learned that you can NOT resolve issues with HR as they say they have an open door policy and confidentiality. When speaking with HR there isn't ANY confidentiality and you can rest assured everyone else in the company is knowledgeable of what you have discussed with HR. I have also learned that it isn't a good idea for your supervisor to hire one of their friends just to have that friend advance without any required skills for the position they are given. Back to the favoritism...
It is a sad when even the patients see the favoritism and comment about it all the time.

The MOST enjoyable part of the job is working with the patients, attending to their needs, knowing that you are making a better day for them by being sincere, accurate, and dedicated to them as well as to your job responsibilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs to start over
Billing (Current Employee), TowsonJanuary 10, 2014
It's a lot of things they need to improve to make this job a better work place and I see that's going to happen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable atmosphere
Residential Counselor (Current Employee), Westminster, MDNovember 13, 2013
Pros: co-workers, nice office
Cons: odd hours, hard to get time off
A typical day involves helping clients with their day to day activities, as well as managing their medications and making sure they are properly taken. Clients also have goals that they are striving towards that have been developed through they're IRP (Individual Rehabilitation Plan). I help clients with these goals providing resources and assistance – more... when necessary. Management and my co-workers are friendly and easy to get along with. Although management is strict with regulations. The best part of the job is the interaction with the clients. They are friendly and interesting and it allows me to get an insight on each individual an see how the same disorder affects people differently. The hardest part of the job is when a client is in crisis and needs emergency care or needs to be taken to the crisis beds at Sheppard Pratt. Although these times are stressful, they have allowed me to learn to manage my time under stress and keep control of situations in stressful times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting work place.
residential counselor/ admin assistant (Current Employee), towson, mdJuly 9, 2013
work in public mental health, started out at residential counselor moved up to admin assistant. create dinner menu for 2 weeks in charge of budget, filing, food order, client information, making copies ordering office supplies and making sure business is able to run smooth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No major complaints
Clinical Case Manager (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 11, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: salary, healthcare
There is a lot of flexibility, which allows may people to construct their day according to what needs to be done. The job has given me even more insight into the mental health field. I enjoy working with my clients and find complete job satisfaction when they reach a goal. The hard part is most of them don't have goals, and working with adults that – more... don't want anything out of life is challenging and often very frustrating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mosaic Community
Rehabilitation Counselor (Former Employee), Catonsville, MDFebruary 19, 2013
Provided excellent benefits package and employee incentive program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disappointing
Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Timonium, MDJanuary 8, 2013
it is a great job to have however once you come to the realization that the company is concerned more about the money then the clients it gets sad. you wish you could do more but you cant you ask the people who may the final decisions to help you help the clients in the tell you no
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Residential Counselor (Former Employee), Cockeysville MarylandJanuary 8, 2013
A typicval day at work has been very professional with learning characters from different employees who brings into the job their different experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, encouraging, great teams and wonderful clients
Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule
Mosaic currently have several different jobs in all areas of Maryland which offer room for growth or advancement. A typical day for me is never the same. I learned over the years more patience and education on mental illness. I have experienced a wonderful management team and my co workers have become my best of friends. The most difficult part of my – more... job is letting go of clients that i have gained relationships with. In this field there is a high death rate and hospitalizations however i do get to enjoy people from all walks of life and assist them with gaining their independence in the community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mosaic
Accounts Payable (Former Employee), Timonium, MDSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: good benefits, great co-workers
Cons: flakey managment, not the same policies for everyone, no room to advance
A typical day at work here would consist of inputting invoices and check requests into various spreadsheets and accounting software, scanning and filing documents, correspondence with coworkers and vendors through e-mail and phone messages. On occasion assisting in printing checks was necessary. Management was constantly changing and rules were changed. – more... There was a lot of grey area and you were told you did something wrong AFTER the fact. People were not always reprimanded when they did the same things as others who were. For the most part-my co-workers were fantastic. The hardest part of this job was receiving no backup when something was handed in wrong or not according to the policies. The most enjoyable part of this job was being able to create useful documents for employees to use to assist the accounting department in processing receipts, requests and mileage reimbursement forms. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I LOVE WORKING WITH AND HELPING THE RESIDENTS
Residential Counselor (Current Employee), Cockeysville, MDSeptember 8, 2012
THE RESIDENTS HERE ALLHAVE SOME SORT OF MENTAL ISSUE AND I LOVE BEING ABLE TO HELP THEM AS MUCH AS I CAN.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation/ Benefits
Residential Counselor II (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 29, 2012
Pros: great learning experience.
Cons: pal time is not enough.
A typical day at work normally is good, and productive. I learn something new about the Clienta I work with everyday. Management could be alittle more supportive. My co-workers could share alittle more of the work load. The hardest part of the job is feeling not supported. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very informative work experience
Residential Program Director (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 30, 2012
Pros: wonderful work enviornment
Cons: long hours
Working for Mosaic Community Services was a great opportunity even though it was just a Grandfathering position. I learned alot of supervising skills along with a magnitude of information that would carry on through out my career.