Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good job
GUEST SERVICES /NIGHT AUDITOR (Former Employee) –  El Centro, CA 92243September 21, 2017
horrible job, no good managers, there is no advancement opportunity, no career advancement, rarely get a raise. no learning obtained at all! I would not work here again
Pros
pay check
Cons
working here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Waukegan, ILSeptember 20, 2017
Entry level position into a management role likely. Great hours , with productive and semi regular day to day operations. Locations and management varies.
Pros
Depending on what shift, time to do homework if your a student .
Cons
None really.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Horn Lake, MSSeptember 20, 2017
a daily routine would consist of seeing what floor I was assign to work if Im working alone or with someone. Once starting on the floor first the bathrooms would be clean first then beds , dusting removing all trash then vacuum last.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun and enjoyable place to work
Front Desk Manager (Former Employee) –  Streetsboro, OHSeptember 19, 2017
checking in guest, doing laundry
hardest part of the job was dealing with the multiple people who didn't agree to follow all the rules of the business,
the most enjoyable would be the guest who kept coming back and being able to see a familiar face
Pros
discount
Cons
pay wasnt very good for all that i had to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun attiude with happy fast pace experience
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXSeptember 18, 2017
when i go to work i like knowing what i have to accomplish for the day. ive learned many things working with others as a team member. the hardest part of the job would be the challenge of the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Lead Engineer (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 18, 2017
Ok it a lot of work went through a renovation. A lot of things change d after that includes personal. But hard work it's what makes the job and company better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to meet new people
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  York, PASeptember 17, 2017
It was a Ok job I would rather work at a nicer motel, hotel. I was able to get tips when there where events going on. If there was no events most likely there was no tips.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
motel 6
Cust. Service rep / front desk (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CASeptember 15, 2017
i really dont have much to say but it was a great work experience, you do get to meet a lot of people and its sorta a cool work atmosphere i would like to get another job atone for a part time only
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motel 6
front desk clerk (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, KSSeptember 15, 2017
This was a stressful job to handle. Employees quit all the time. Health Inspectors come once a month because of bed bugs. Sometimes i did not even want to be associated with the company because of the bad reputation. Drugs and Homeless and the police always on the property about a rap or a battery. Just was not fun anymore. Great employees and sometimes manager.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no days off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxing but fast paced
Guest service Representative (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CASeptember 14, 2017
motel 6 can be a relaxing place to work at with a flexible schedule, work isnt complicated, system is easy to understand, but guest can get complicated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont work there
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Waukesha, WISeptember 14, 2017
work day busy at some points, manger was horrible. loved the workers there, what i learned to get out right away I hated this place. i don't reccomend this place to ayonwjrte
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the corporate level it is great but on the hotel day to day not so well
General Manager (Former Employee) –  CTSeptember 14, 2017
It is hard to work as a manager at their hotels. The low price point brings the very worst of guests to your hotel the majority of the time. From drug dealers to prostitution. Mental health abandonment to domestic violence. And then there are some guest who have created self inflicted bad situations that reflect on their rooms and their conduct at the properties your work. As much as you try at a certain point it takes away from your ability to care about people and their situations. It is a lot to deal with over a long period of time. Your safety is always at risk because you have to confront and do your best to prevent most of the situations but when you are preventing things from happening each and every day it wears on you. Not the best environment to work in for a long period of time.
Pros
Great learning experience, benefits, live on property at some locations, great upper level support.
Cons
Low price point brings some very bad guests, safety, damaged property, older outdated facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work no benifits
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Rockwood, ORSeptember 13, 2017
you work really hard get one short break maybe a lunch and the managers don't really appreciate anything. A lot of people call in sick and if you don,t cover for them they cut your hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comments at this moment.
Front desk clerk (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLSeptember 12, 2017
I appreciate the opportunity to work at this place. The manager/owner trust on me to start a career in the United States in spite of my limited English. Working at Motel 6 gave me the opportunity to listening different accents from customers from al over the country and out of the country.
It was a good experience.
Pros
weekend lunch
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely terrible, new owners very inexperienced
Lead maintenance and repair (Former Employee) –  Ridgecrest, CASeptember 12, 2017
Chaos, confusion, very hectic... Owners remodeling, and exterior painting with no caution tape or signs... Rooms had either no tv, no fridge, or microwave, guests constantly complaining, short staffed overall miserable environment
Pros
Free rooms
Cons
All of the above
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent work place
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Bay City, TXSeptember 12, 2017
co-workers made it manageable. decent work space, clean, respectable, laid back just not completely flexible with someone else's scheduled was also shade from management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but stressfull
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Erie, PASeptember 10, 2017
every work day was different and the manager was different everyday everyday I had to do same thing clean rooms and laundry then the manager would always have me helping everyone and who ever else that were done got to leave
Pros
nice people
Cons
bad managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of work
Front Desk Representative (Former Employee) –  High Point, NCSeptember 10, 2017
I will not recommend nobody to work at the motel 6 I have work at the business and managers were terrible there were bugs everywhere the never passed inspection this whole company was the worst ever
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job advancement
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Chico, CASeptember 10, 2017
needed to be more lenient towards family emergencies, hardest part of the job was cleaning up unmentionables such as condoms n other things. Would have been a great environment yo work in since it was fast paced and consistant. Loved that it was all about team efforts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
Laundry Person (Former Employee) –  Oshkosh, WISeptember 7, 2017
I didn't mind doing the laundry but the wet bath towels were outside in a bin and in the winter I got frostbite in my fingers and my toes were cold. didn't get much of a pay raise. Managers were meh.
Pros
none
Cons
cold weather. low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Motel 6 / Studio 6. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,084 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3