Find companies:
Motel 6 / Studio 6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
470 reviews

Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is awesome.
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee), Norcross, GAMarch 1, 2015
Pros: live on the property.
Cons: no benefits or room to grow because it's family owned.
My co-workers are great. I need to work for a company I can put my education to work for. I need to grow with a company that will appreciate my hard work and dedication.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good Place to work
Motel 6 General Manager (Current Employee), Dania Beach, FLMarch 1, 2015
Pros: your the boss of your property - low to no micro managemnt
Cons: you have to pace yourself so that you don't over wirk yourself
managing the Motel from day to day can be tough but Motel 6 really gives you the power to run your own property ..... love the upper management as well .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun great workout also and good pay
housekeeeper and some head housekeeping (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAFebruary 22, 2015
Pros: great environment, fee pool accsess
Cons: distance was over what would prefer form my house at that time
clean rooms aprox 20 a day at half hour a room, learned how to fold towels into neat decorative towels. co workers were a little difficult to work with due to language barrier. shower cleaning and toilet cleaning was the hardest part for me. got to work on my own in the rooms and was free to take lunch break whenever and smoke break whenever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politeness when not stressed
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Pompano Beach, FLFebruary 19, 2015
Pros: hotel housekeeping
Cons: everyone is not on the same page.
No clear standards to everyone on the housekeeping team.
Arguments with each other.
Learned something about housekeeper in a hotel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Tucson, AZFebruary 19, 2015
I learned management skills with this company and they were flexible. The General Manager suggested that I take courses online because I was next in line for Manager on Duty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Training Program. Modest Salary.
General Manager (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTFebruary 17, 2015
Pros: great training experience. wearing many hats and being involved in all aspects of the business.
Cons: very long hours to truly succeed. one day off in five months.
The day starts with a brief conversation with the front desk: An update on overnight events, messages, etc.
Check on emails and corporate daily reports.
Review night audit pack. About 40 minutes to reconcile all clerk activities, revenue, refunds, adjustments, maintenance. Dice vagaries.
Brief meeting with housekeeping staff to cover incidentals.
Brief meeting with Maintenance.
Check inventory. Order supplies (usually twice a month).
Check applications. Interviews for Desk and Housekeeping.
Discussions with Director of Operations (my direct supervisor).
Discussions and correspondence with Human Resources (General Managers do a lot of hands-on HR paperwork).
Meet guests when appropriate. Inspect property.
Prepare invoices for accounts payable.
Safety and Security Checks.
Check Due-outs.
Monthly "grading" meetings for each employee.
Daily payroll checks, and bi-weekly submission for paychecks.
Prep for area meetings.
Check occupancy stats and adjust future and near future rates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Motel 6
Front Desk Clerk/ Night Auditor/Housekeeper (Former Employee), Fayetteville, NCFebruary 16, 2015
Pros: free learning to move forward in the company.
Cons: high health care
Working for Motel 6 was a typical day. The most enjoyable part of my job was learning management, greeting the many different guest who travel from state to state and even city to city to stay at Motel 6.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Risky area, late hours, no pay raises.
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee), Commerce, GAFebruary 14, 2015
Pros: relaxing and calm environment, multiple breaks, wonderful people.
Cons: no benefits, no chance to move up, ridiculous hours, no pto.
I enjoyed working at Motel 6 for a while, but after being there for over a year, i still did not get benefits - and it was a full time position - i did not get vacation time, no PTO days built up, sick days. Insane overnight hours, and no overtime pay, hardly any taxes taken out. Horrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Steady work
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, NYFebruary 13, 2015
Pros: alot of fun guest and some employess
Cons: no heathcare and low pay
It's a good job, not much room to move up in the Company. Since this location is private own. After awhile you get to know the Guest and you became Friends with them. A lot of my repeat guest will only deal with me. Since I know what they want i.e. room type extra pillow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customer Service Experience
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee), Mobile, ALFebruary 6, 2015
Pros: i utilized skills that i possess. data entry, communication
Cons: sometimes no break was offered or given
I enjoyed my duties as a Guest Services Representative, I was trained by competent and friendly co-workers, I had a awesome time meeting and greeting new people from other areas of the world sometimes just passing thru the town.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but short days
Room Attendant (Current Employee), Bernalillo, NMFebruary 4, 2015
Pros: nice coworkers
Cons: short hours
Worked hard at making customers happy. I enjoyed working in fast paced environment also meeting different people. The management was really hard to work for it seemed they were never happy in the work place so it made all the co workers uncomfortable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
housekeeping
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Boise, IDFebruary 3, 2015
Pros: working alone
Cons: schedule changed a lot
I liked being able to work in different departments. Other co-workers were able to help you if needed. I liked being able to work alone. I was able to get enough hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career ladder
Area Manager (Former Employee), Central ValleyFebruary 2, 2015
This place was a great place to learn and develop myself as a person. They provide constant training and give you an opportunity to grow with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Co-workers
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Topeka, KSFebruary 1, 2015
A place where you can meet new people. Co-workers are very friendly.A location where working independently is required. You get to learn how to work by yourself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Cheyenne WyomingJanuary 26, 2015
Pros: free lunches
Cons: bad weather in winter time
I really enjoyed working for motel 6. Would like to work for them again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow work pace
Night Auditor/Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Muskogee, OKJanuary 23, 2015
Checking guests in and running end of the day reports.
How to run end of the day reports at a hotel.
Management was easy to get along with.
Co-workers were easy to get along with.
Hardest part of the job was finding things to do when no one checked in.
Most enjoyable part of the job was learning new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Housekeeper, Maid (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJanuary 22, 2015
Arrive at work and start getting all my things together like filling up my spray bottles, getting my mop heads together and my rags that I use to clean my rooms. The other housekeepers were nice and easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work place.
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee), Pharr, TXJanuary 22, 2015
Cons: no benefits or breaks.
A typical day at work included meeting new people from every corner of the world. I enjoyed learning of different cultures daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an alright job.
Head Housekeeper (Former Employee), Augusta, GAJanuary 20, 2015
I learned how to work as a team. I had great hours and learned a lot of customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Elko, NVJanuary 19, 2015
The management and co-workers were awesome to work with. I had no problems with anyone.
My boss liked my work and gave me compliments daily.
I learned how to work faster and efficently.
Hardest part of the job was how filthy of a room we had to clean.

About Motel 6 / Studio 6

Founded in 1962 in Santa Barbara, California, Motel 6 is synonymous with a great travel value. The first Motel 6 in Santa Barbara – Read more

Motel 6 / Studio 6 Salaries

Housekeeper
$8.00 per hour
Front Desk Clerk
$8.00 per hour
Guest Relations
$8.50 per hour
General Manager
$35,000 per year
Front Desk Clerk
$16,000 per year

Motel 6 / Studio 6 Photos

This was my work area