Find companies:
Motel 6 / Studio 6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
443 reviews

Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All work no pay
General Manager (Former Employee), Cheyenne, WYJanuary 5, 2015
Pros: the most hard working staff i ever worked with.
Cons: long hours very low pay for me and my staff
16-18 hr work day,6-7 days a week, paid for 40 hr a week
Promised to fix problems on property and did not
Hard working staff was promised higher pay that never came
Long hours For my staff and I low pay hard to keep good
people
Working with the staff that stuck with it thru the thick and thin
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NICE PLACE TO WORK
MAINTENCE SUPERVISOR (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALDecember 22, 2014
Pros: close to home for travel
Cons: pay to low
I LIKE WORKING THERE BUT THERE IS NOT ENOUGH ROOM FOR ADVANCEMENT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean and organized
Receptionist (Former Employee), Salina, KSDecember 19, 2014
Pros: meeting new people everyday
Cons: no benifits
organizing rooms and producing clean laundry. I think the only con about the job is when they let me go I didn't clean a room to expectation and wasn't given the opportunity to fix my mistake. I enjoyed the people I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented staff
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Bridgeton, MODecember 18, 2014
Pros: easy job
Cons: part- time
I have always wanted to have the experience of housekeeping, an I was given that, but with not enough hours for work. It was a very easy job, but that was it, nothing ever different besides the measurements we as the staff went to, to keep this establishment up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's employment
Guest Services Representative (Current Employee), VADecember 16, 2014
Pros: i have employment
Cons: no lunch break, little to no wage increase
I enjoy the people I work with not so much the job. Its kinda of a let down to see how much people try to scam you to save a couple of dollars. Constantly understaffed, under prepared. Never received an employee handbook so wasn't clear on what my actual duties were, but gm said its what ever he tells us to do. Because Housekeeping continued to exceed minutes per room, they had to send laundry home early and now Front desk had to do laundry on top of regular duties, and if it wasn't completed we would get written up, but housekeeping was never reprimanded for exceeding minutes per room. Motel 6 is the only place where 8 out of 10 is bad, Even though our product is cheap out dated and faulty we have to maintain a perfect score to keep our job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job for a self motivated person.
Night Auditor (Former Employee), Riverdale, UTDecember 12, 2014
I worked the audit position.

To simplify a standard day; I show up and ask the previous co-worker how their shift was and if there is any information that need to be passed on. After that I would pretty much wait until 5:00. At 5:00 I would print out my audit work and fact check/balance the days money flow. If something was wrong I would have to troubleshoot to find the source of the problem and correct it if I could or forward the issue to the manager. Throughout the shift I would get around 5-15 customers looking for a room. When the next shift shows up to take over, I pass any relevant information to the co-worker and head home.

The hardest parts of the job would be dealing with a disgruntled customer, searching through the days paperwork if there is a problem and staying awake the whole shift if you're not used to working overnights.

The best part of the job is probably the downtime while you work. This job is perfect for people taking online college classes or writers and the like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed place to work for.
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Spokane, WADecember 9, 2014
Pros: stress free
Cons: dirty dirty rooms
I was a housekeeper so I learned how to clean the guest rooms in accordance to policy. The motel was well managed with a manager who lived on property so if there was ever any issues they were always right there. It was a good team of housekeepers we all worked on are own list of rooms, but we helped each other when we would finish are list to help them get theirs done. The hardest part of that job was when we had people come in and trash the room they were in. All in all I liked working there the work was stress free.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good customer service
Guest Representative / Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Vallejo, CADecember 8, 2014
Pros: good working skills
my typical day would to keep a smile on my face and show the customer that you know your job and that you show them respect. The management was great there and the coworkers were great except a couple of them.I learned that you have to make the customer happy and show them that you do care about there experience and making them know you care about them getting a good experience there at your place of employment. they will return and you get them in fast check in. I have had a good and bad times there , I go in to work and i make sure the other shifts have supplies and papers they will need for the day. Also i make sure that the next shift has change, and keys so they don't have vend right out of the get on the clock .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy workplace
Receptionist (Current Employee), Lansing, ILDecember 7, 2014
Pros: college student friendly, flexible, reliable, productive
Cons: poor management
A typical day at work depends on the day of the week, Some days are busier than others. I answer telephone calls constantly, assist customers, and check in customers. There's really never a dull moment. The management is okay but could use some better communication skills. Despite the issues I'm able to fulfill my job. My co workers are great to work with. The most enjoyable part of the job is making someone's day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to gain customer serivce experience.
Guest service representative (Former Employee), Vacaville, CADecember 6, 2014
dealing with rude customers with their racist comments and cursings.
being confident with the job performance I did and never hesitate in completing any job task that is given to me.
co-workers were very friendly and all were very easy going, trustable, honest and hardworking at the same time.
hardest part of this job was getting a preferred room for guests and dealing with their complains.
enjoyable part - police coming in and arresting the guests due to their doings or behavior.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motel 6
Night Auditor (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKDecember 5, 2014
Posts room charges and taxes to guest accounts.Processes guest charges voucher and credit card vouchers.Posts guest charge purchase transactions not posted by the front office cashier.transfer charges and deposits to master accounts.Verifies all account postings and balances.Monitors the current status of coupon, discount, and other promotional programs.Tracks room revenues, occupancy percentages, and other front office statistics.Prepares a summary of cash, check, and credit card activities.Summarizes results of operations for management.Prepare of End of day procedure.Run end of day process in property management software (PMS).Understand principles of auditing, balancing, and closing out accounts. operate PMS, typewriters, and other front office equipments.perform check-in and check-out procedures
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Desk
Guest Service Representative - Front Desk (Former Employee), Palm Desert, CADecember 4, 2014
Checked guest's in/out of rooms. Managed multi-line phone system. Processed cash and credit card payments and refunds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard worker, give 110% at all times
Manager On Duty/Guest Service Representative (Current Employee), Cheyenne, WYDecember 3, 2014
Cons: healthcare
I have worked in customer service all of my life from table buser, waitress, hostess, cook, dishwasher, town clerk/treasurer for a government entity, bar tender, serveral assistant manager jobs to hospitality work. I am very eager to learn new things and would a career change.

Typical day at work now is: greet morning customers with coffee, answer phones all day long, check in and out guests throughout my shift, do the deposit, check the audit packs, check hours for everyone, daily log of rooms sold, hours worked, expenses paid out etc. Handle any and all guest comments or complaints if any. Do paperwork for all new hires or ones that are let go. The most enjoyable part of the job is the customers and book work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Front Desk Agent/GSR/Manager on Duty (Former Employee), Spring Hill, FLDecember 2, 2014
worked with a great team. It was a busy hotel, and I learned a lot about the hospitality industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Needles, CANovember 26, 2014
laundary, making beds and stripping, dusting etc. vacumeing and customer service ski;;s
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Receptionist (Former Employee), Waterloo, IANovember 25, 2014
Excellent Management and Customer Service Requirements. The staff is super friendly and the pay is excellent. Meeting new people everyday was a great thing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Atmosphere
Night Auditor (Current Employee), Riverside, CANovember 21, 2014
Pros: job setting
Cons: healthcare
Working at Motel 6 is typically always a good time, you have punctual and responsible guests. The managements at my location is good and the staff is determined. A lack of security for workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEAUTIFUL ENVIRONMENT
Housekeeping Tech (Former Employee), Vicksburg, MSNovember 15, 2014
EXCELLENT MANAGEMENT
TEAMWORK
DEDICATED
WORKED WITH ELDERLY PATIENTS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Desk
Front Desk (Current Employee), Costa Mesa, CANovember 7, 2014
Pros: great team work
Cons: schedual changes often
Pretty good working with coworkers
Learned to have better face to face communication
Be a great listener
I grew my ability to check in a person my rate from 1-10 is 9
Clients love when I greet them
The hardest part about my job is working with customers who tell us profanity
The best part of my job is when I make sure we are sold out in the building
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workers and customers.
Housekeeper - Housekeeper (Former Employee), Columbus, INNovember 6, 2014
Pros: nice and genuine customers/workers
Cons: property was a mess, the pay, safety conditions, bad communication between management and housekeepers.
Overall, the property was a mess. It was not clean nor safe. But, I have to admit that the extended stayers were very nice, and respectful. It was like a big family, and that's what I loved most about this job. Even though, a lot of the extended stayers had little to nothing, they were still so polite, and actually respectful! I got close to some workers, and extended stayers over the short time I worked there, and although the property was horrible, the people are the opposite. As far as the job goes, it wasn't really hard, but it wasn't exactly easy either. There were things you had to get done in a certain amount of time, rooms always being added to your list, and never knowing when you were going to get to go home that day. Although I would probably never work at this place again, I do not regret working here one bit!

About Motel 6 / Studio 6

Founded in 1962 in Santa Barbara, California, Motel 6 is synonymous with a great travel value. The first Motel 6 in Santa Barbara – Read more

Motel 6 / Studio 6 Photos

Motel 6 / Studio 6 Salaries

Housekeeper
$8.00 per hour
Front Desk Clerk
$8.00 per hour
Guest Relations
$8.25 per hour
Housekeeper
$10,440 per year
General Manager
$35,000 per year