Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employee Reviews

Found 752 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need Work
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VADecember 15, 2016
this was the worst experience I encountered, bed management I had to learn on my own far as housekeeping goes, there barely and co workers to help me around and show me what to do. a lot of work for little pay and not enough hours to being with ,
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job I loved the best
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INDecember 23, 2016
Lots of freedom, and customers are great at motel 6 or was when I was there. The company does care about it's employees, and gave great compensation.
Pros
set schedulle
Cons
people quit all of the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pride themselves on being a "minimum wage company"
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAJanuary 12, 2017
The compensation is poor and there are a lot of guest issues involving police. Managers are expected to work 6 days a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Lake Charles, LANovember 1, 2016
It was a great place to work
I had all my hours I needed
I learned how to do different things in each area
I was hired as a housekeeper and I did front desk
Maintence and laundry
Pros
Great workers and management
Cons
The enviroment was horrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interact with customers
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Lansing, ILOctober 11, 2016
Make sure that the customer gets everything that they need from front desk before they go to their rooms. Let them know where different locations are ave what time is checkout.
Pros
Customers are lovely
Cons
Not enough benefits or managment didn't do their job
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhausting and Low-Pay
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Denison, TXMay 30, 2016
I'd clock in at 7 and immediately picked up my list of rooms to do. There were only three housekeepers total, including myself. I was the only housekeeper who spoke English so that was a challenge. On average I had 18-20 rooms to clean. You got to clock out and leave when the work was finished so if you didn't clean your rooms fast enough, you wouldn't get to go home until 4, instead of 2 or 3. It was laborious job and very physically demanding. I was on my feet all day and bending over a lot. When I got home I couldn't do anything for at least an hour because of exhaustion and pain. The one thing I enjoyed about this job was that I could listen to music all day. It irritated me that the housekeepers were paid less than the desk clerks because we did so much work and they just sat all day. I'm happy I had this job because it was a very humbling experience and it made me appreciate those who have very physically demanding jobs.
Pros
Good learning experience, humbling
Cons
only housekeeper who spoke English, low-pay, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This motel was ok to work for not the best but not horrable
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Rocker, MTOctober 10, 2016
When I would get to work there was always a rush to finish any laundry that was left from the day before. There wasn't enough linen to start stalking rooms in the morning always had to wait for laundry to finish in order to have any rooms completely finished. I learned that not all hotels are ran the same way and that organization helps a lot in keeping even the house keeping department running smoothly. The part I enjoyed the most was my co workers I did really like and enjoy there upbeat personalities and fact we all helped each other even on the hard busy days.
Pros
the co workers
Cons
poor pay and to much required in a 5 hour time
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work enviroment was feesible the guests were also nice
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCDecember 18, 2016
I enjoyed working Here it was closed to home the guests made you feel welcomed the staff was just basically doing there job I enjoyed meeting new people every day. I especially enjoyed the staff the stuck together toake the job happen the receptionist was also nice i all I can say is I enjoyed working there until I got sick I couldn't perform my job the way I was supposed to so they had to let me go
Pros
At times we were rewarded meals for keeping our work up
Cons
Breaks it was hard to do breaks you are on a timd limit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great owner
House Keeper (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INNovember 22, 2016
Worked outside, so enjoyed nice days. They didnt rush me to get rooms done. management listened to problems. Was allowed to take days off.
Pros
2 breaks a day
Cons
danishes and donuts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSJanuary 1, 2017
Great place to work just no advancement and not enough money ran my local family and they treat you like family, Would still be there if not for the hours and money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed to be fully staffed
General Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaOctober 11, 2016
Training is awesome benefits are great only not enough on salary in order to live to keep up in times. Requires to live on site so staff can impose at any time otherwise ok.
Pros
Extensive training
Cons
Not enough in salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Do it Walk away
Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  King of Prussia, PAMay 13, 2016
At the time when I worked there, there was a murder, an accidental death and someone that killed them selves. the people that came in were hooker and drug addicts with a daily visit from the police. It was hard to get good businesses. I was promised the moon and when I had to take a family leave they put in a new manager, when I returned from my family leave I was fired for working below standards. I sued them for unjustifiable firing and won. Had sworn statements from the businesses stating that if it weren't for me they would have their employees staying else were. The Place was a mess.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and confortable work place
General Service Representative (Former Employee) –  East Brunswick, NJMay 23, 2016
The hardest part of the job is dealing with people that want to take advantage of the system and gain money or free stuff from the company.

The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting friendly travelers and foreigners, talk about their traveling experience, know more about other cultures and practice speaking other languages.

Recently the hiring system has been less strict, by which not all the employees are as competent as they should.
Pros
Friendly environment, can do homework in any free time and sometimes had free food
Cons
Some of the guest want to take advantage of the company
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Housekeeping
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Geneva, OHFebruary 4, 2016
Housekeeping at a motel is a back-breaking job. The job is relatively simple--change sheets and clean and stock the room. The constant bending over to make beds really wears on your back. Paid minimum wage, with no benefits and no opportunity for raises. In my case, management was completely useless. We never had the supplies we needed, and I had money stolen from me and the offending party was still allowed to work in the building even though everyone knew he was on drugs. No overtime was paid, even if it was owed. The extra hours worked were just added to the next pay period. One coworker was owed over 40 hours of overtime, but only paid the regular rate. Due to management's incompetence and uncaring attitude, we were constantly understaffed so working 14 days in a row wasn't uncommon. (After quitting, I ran into a former coworker who told me she had just worked 4 weeks in a row without a day off, just because the manager was too lazy to hire someone.) Even on my days off I was called to come in. The plus side: some people leave tips, and anything found in a room that wasn't claimed within 90 days was ours to keep. I got a lot of free shampoo, etc. I prefer to work by myself, so that was a plus to me.
Pros
self-paced, tips, get to keep items found in rooms
Cons
back-breaking, low pay, unappreciated, horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the worst plase i have ever worked in my life
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Yreka, CADecember 4, 2016
I currently put in my two week notice at motel6 cause it is the worst motel in town I don't get enough hours or pay and I can honestly say this is the worst place to work ever but I don't want to just up and leave any job so I put in my two week notice I will make sure they have me replaced before leaving their cause I don't want to do that to anyone no matter how bad it is.
Pros
None
Cons
No breaks work off the clock i could go on but i wont
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaos
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Destin, FLNovember 16, 2016
The hours were horrible. And the housekeepers we're overworked and underpaid. Management was very disorganized and unprofessional. I would not recommend this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone was family
Housekeeper - Head Housekeeper - Front desk (Former Employee) –  Cocoa Beach, FLAugust 16, 2016
Well working here was interesting. Having to jump from different jobs was adventures. I did 4 jobs here did not know what I was going to be doing sometimes. I started out as housekeeping then moved up to housekeeping supervisor them crossed trained in front desk (GSR). When I left we just got a new manager. That was the 3 one in a year. We had to carry our linen on our backs in a plastic bag to get it to the second floor. Can you say workout. But over all the place was a great place to work at if you wanted to be challenged with the weather and your physical ability. The 2 managers I worked for where great men that I would not mind working for in the future
Pros
breaks company lunch great workers
Cons
un and down stairs to laundry room
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at Motel 6
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Merrillville, INNovember 30, 2016
Motel 6 is an okay place to work at, if your in college but not for a career. I've learned how to be an independent worker here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant and Friendly
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Jeffersonville, INAugust 18, 2016
Good company to work for. Pleasant people, decent locations, good opportunities, many training opportunities. Lots of room for growth and advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was terrible
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Shamrock, TXOctober 29, 2016
Did not enjoy working for the company. Management just needed bodies on the floor, didn't care about accommodating staff issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Motel 6 / Studio 6. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 771 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3