Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of work
Front Desk Representative (Former Employee) –  High Point, NCSeptember 10, 2017
I will not recommend nobody to work at the motel 6 I have work at the business and managers were terrible there were bugs everywhere the never passed inspection this whole company was the worst ever
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job advancement
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Chico, CASeptember 10, 2017
needed to be more lenient towards family emergencies, hardest part of the job was cleaning up unmentionables such as condoms n other things. Would have been a great environment yo work in since it was fast paced and consistant. Loved that it was all about team efforts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
Laundry Person (Former Employee) –  Oshkosh, WISeptember 7, 2017
I didn't mind doing the laundry but the wet bath towels were outside in a bin and in the winter I got frostbite in my fingers and my toes were cold. didn't get much of a pay raise. Managers were meh.
Pros
none
Cons
cold weather. low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
clean and do maintenance (Former Employee) –  Euless, TXSeptember 6, 2017
The job is alot of work and sometimes you have to help housekeepers and as well as do your job as maintenance the pay is not worth the work you do the rooms are very nasty
Pros
No breaks
Cons
No hours really
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Front Desk Clerk/Head of Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Madison Heights, MISeptember 5, 2017
the housekeepers don't change sheets , management wouldn't fire them. the employees are over worked.It's hard to move up in the company. the pay isn't good. you hard and are under paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but hared work zoon
housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Camarillo, CASeptember 4, 2017
you would come and get a schedule then go get your supply's then go to the rooms and clean the beds and remove the trash and clean the bathrooms and swipe and mop before going to the next room and each room has to be done in less than 27 minutes .
Pros
some times free lunch
Cons
you dont need a car to work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are a people person. Outgoing and friendly. You will enjoy all the day greating and communicating with many new faces.
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fife, WASeptember 4, 2017
I love interacting with people as well as meeting them. So talking with them and listening to there needs and wants. Too be pleased with are service and are at peace with their stay. So knowing that you are helping people and making sure that they feel safe and secure in the room. And know that they will what to return back and remember their stays. Happy and pleased to inform others and visit again. It's that place.. that we can call home, when u don't have one to go back too.
Pros
Discounts on your motel stays of all kind and any locstions.
Cons
Compatention and frustration and overwelmed at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work inviorment.
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Opelousas, LASeptember 2, 2017
It's a part time jobs that only pays about 8.00hr.if the company would give more hours things would be even better. But they only do it depending on clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Manager on Duty (Current Employee) –  San Angelo, TXAugust 31, 2017
I enjoy working here, I have learned alot from my GM she is an awesome person to work for. They just need to pay a little more but you can more up quickly
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Temple, TXAugust 31, 2017
really enjoyed this place a lot! I can see myself working there again in the future, I loved helping people as they came in with whatever they needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
car broke down and couldn't get back there
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Destin, FLAugust 31, 2017
this company was great and I wish i could continue to be there. They are a great team and work well together. My supervisors were always helpful and supportive Great company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Part-time assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Corvallis, ORAugust 31, 2017
My experience at Motel 6 was a wonderful opportunity in learning and the business cycle of the hospitality industry. Of anyone is looking to gain knowledge or grow their experience in customer service, I recommend working here.
Pros
Discounts on rooms
Cons
No medical
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many drugs
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Charleston, WVAugust 30, 2017
Company will not add cameras or provide property staff anytype of protection. They ignore WV properties and neglect the building and refuse to put any money in it, but expects you to sell more rooms
Pros
get family time
Cons
drugs and homeless
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice place to work .. Friendly at that time .
Desk clerck / night audit (Former Employee) –  1040 E Preisker lane Santa Maria . CaAugust 30, 2017
When I worked for Motel 6 I loved it because the people working outside the grounds and in the office we all get along good .. The manager used to do gatherings at lunch time in the break room for the workers birthdays , holidays she was very nice always trying to be helpful with us her workers inside the office or outside the grounds .. I liked it working for Motel 6.
Pros
Good and friendly environment to work .
Cons
No health insurance .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its fun working here
Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee) –  Newnan, GAAugust 29, 2017
Its good to work here you can know the people and very peacefull place everybody is good in here and helpfull to eachother. And good place for work...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is enjoyable
GSR/ NIGHT AUDITOR (Current Employee) –  Camarillo, CAAugust 29, 2017
I like the workplace, it's like a big family there. Everyone helps out where needs to be. It's very fast paced, the policies are updated every few months. Enforcing those rules to the customers are very strenuous.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 29, 2017
Horrible place to work, bad management, lack of hours, low pay. I would never want to work at a company who doesn't care about their employees. The manager is very rude and disrespectful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Dublin, GAAugust 28, 2017
Nice, pleasent. If need to will work again in this motel, clean and smells good. Very polite people and friendly... Up beat rooms, my cons are they need work on there mirrors
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 28, 2017
On a typical work day its usually around five to six housekeepers a day. I can have any where from eighteen to twenty some odd rooms a day. I learned alot from my manager like how to be more oragnized during a work day. The motel six I worked for was ok it had its ups and down, however I loved everything about my job just no chance in advancing within the company. I really loved my co workers they were helpful and always knew how to get us through the day.
Pros
Free breakfast
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Guest Service & Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Coralville, IAAugust 27, 2017
I worked as a housekeeper and a desk clerk then I switched to a night auditor and train other employers to do the work I already accomplished so I came to work to do just that
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Motel 6 / Studio 6. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,108 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3