Find companies:
Motel 6 / Studio 6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
441 reviews

Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the greatest
Front desk/Housekeeping/Maintenance (Former Employee), Duluth, MNOctober 22, 2014
this job was tough at times when cleaning rooms. they expect you to clean a messy room in 19 minutes or less. the pay was low and other employees unreliable. management at the time was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok work place
Guest Service Rep (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 22, 2014
Provided customer service to all guest. I cleaned and did laundry helped out the customers providing wake up calls. Not a very safe enviornment to work in it was closed down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Counter Sales Representative
Counter Sales Representative (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 21, 2014
Issued receipts, refunds, credits, and change due to customers.
Offered new promotions, dine in/out service at the completion of transactions.
Received payments by cash, credit/debit cards, and gift cards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable
Night Auditor / Housekeeping Team Leader (Current Employee), Gates, NYOctober 21, 2014
Pros: paid lunch
Cons: location
Fulfillment admin for warehousing company. working along with inventory shipments and accounting departments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nightmare on Hades Street
GENERAL MANAGER, G6 HOSPITALITY (Current Employee), OklahomaOctober 21, 2014
Cons: wages, lack of training, no advancement
Liar, liar pants on fire!! You live on property as a GM, so they can work you to death. You are constantly working hourly positions because their is not enough labor. So you are the laundry person after working your ten hours, you get to wash linen 5-6 days a week. You are constantly being held accountable for an outdated product, old buildngs, dated equpment. Your job s threatened every month based on unfair guest satisfaction scores - even if you make profit. No support!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the work and guests
MANAGER ON DUTY (Current Employee), Lubbock, TXOctober 19, 2014
I love working with the staff and the guests. Hard to move up the ladder.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable, Stable job with flexible hours
General Manager (Former Employee), Lima, OHOctober 16, 2014
Pros: comfortable job, flexible hours
Cons: poor clientel
Nice job to have. Semi flexible hours. Mostly full positions. Fun to help with and plan events. Can learn many things with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware
General Service Representative (GSR) (Former Employee), Paso Robles, CAOctober 15, 2014
The reason I quit was due to a coworker repetitively hitting me on my head. I was warned about several of the employees, which has been there for a while, how they like to push the new employees out. Well, they won and that is why i am searching for another job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manager
General Manager (Former Employee), Mesa, AZOctober 14, 2014
managed the entire motel daily
cash deposits
check ins
payables
receivables
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaning
House keeper (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 14, 2014
I love to clean, far as any type of cleaning so that's what I like most about this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and Full Drama
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLOctober 8, 2014
The job was stressful because of the hours that were needed to work and coworkers were always gossiping
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service is excellent.
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Essington, PAOctober 6, 2014
Pros: an hour for lunch and time to sit in between, if needed.
Cons: no horseplaying, stay professional.
I've only been here for a short time and so far everything is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environment that allowed creativity when sovling problems.
Manager on Duty (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLOctober 5, 2014
Pros: many new customers, something new everyday, hard work.
Cons: often an unsafe and threatening location.
My day at work would consist of arriving early in the morning to count out and drop off the nightly revenue at the bank, deal with any pressing matters from the night before, and correspond with the corporate offices as needed. I would then spend some time with my employees in their different departments to observe, correct, and advise upon their conduct. I would assign daily projects for my team and hold a safety committee meeting as well. The rest of my day would be spent greeting customers, inspecting rooms at the hotel to ensure company standards, and to complete special projects of my own. I learned how to lead a team effectively and honed my customer service skills. The management team personal often changed but I had a great working relationship with all my supervisors and worked hard to support them. I managed two different locations and both teams were extremely close-knit. Many of my co-workers had been there for years and had be trained primarily by myself. I really enjoyed making positive changes and a real difference in my daily work. I believe mistakes are a training opportunity and I loved to watch my employees grow and succeed with my help. The hardest part of the job was remaining safe as both locations were not in a good area. I would often have to contact the local police for external incidents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motel 6 was a nice place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Bangor, MEOctober 4, 2014
Pros: worked in the mornings up till noon then had rest of day to get things done at home family time
Cons: never had enough towels for rooms, had to run up and down stairs, not enough supplies, upstairs never stocked of supplies
Motel 6 was a nice place to work for was a quiet job for the most part and was also hard work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive workplace with great employees and managers
Laundry Attendant (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALOctober 3, 2014
very productive workplace, good pay, good hours, great manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Support Manager
General Manager (Former Employee), College Station, TXOctober 3, 2014
Traveled the U.S. inspecting franchise properties and doing capital expenditures on properties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
front desk clear
front desk cleak (Former Employee), Rubidoux, CASeptember 30, 2014
Provided efficient and friendly customer service , check-in and check-out guest , answer phone calls, make reservation and confirm reservation. Night auditor, make sure cash and credit card match systems before closing the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning is an everyday process
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: learning new things
Cons: evaluations weren't done in timely manners
A typical day at the job requires getting a maintenance statement from the day before detailing what needs to be repaired, fixed, or replaced. I learned a lot of different things at this job: some electrical, plumbing, and how to patch and replace sheet-rock. My co-workers there were great people and we got along great. The hardest part of the job was not knowing how to fix or repair something. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning new trades and the job job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I have had in years!!
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee), Johnson City, TNSeptember 22, 2014
Cons: no breaks
Typical day at work when I worked was usually very upsetting. Management was bad and usually very hard on all the co-workers. I would give them a F- for effort!! Sorry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intriguing
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Pasco, WASeptember 19, 2014
Pros: great people, awesome staff
Cons: property complaints
There is just a vast array of people to meet and tasks to complete on a daily basis that there is no time to call yourself bored.

About Motel 6 / Studio 6

Founded in 1962 in Santa Barbara, California, Motel 6 is synonymous with a great travel value. The first Motel 6 in Santa Barbara – Read more

Motel 6 / Studio 6 Photos

Motel 6 / Studio 6 Salaries

Housekeeper
$8.00 per hour
Front Desk Clerk
$8.00 per hour
Guest Relations
$8.25 per hour
Housekeeper
$10,440 per year
General Manager
$35,000 per year