Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employee Reviews in United States

Found 643 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Staff members and lots of work to do.
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Ft. Lupton, COApril 19, 2016
Starting of the day with a good attitude. ready to perform the daily works. Learned many skills in the landscaping and maintenance line of work.
Pros
Good Environment
Cons
Slow with ordering supplies, was not very organized
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Manager
General Manager (GM) (Former Employee) –  Schiller Park, ILApril 11, 2016
General Manager of 142 room property in Schiller Park. Improved guest satisfaction scores, revenue, as well as employee moral.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal
Motel Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Fallon, NVApril 10, 2016
The management makes you feel like family and do not treat you badly. Loved working for them. Had to make as well as to if everyone was working as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Superior customer service (Former Employee) –  Cameron Park, CAApril 9, 2016
Loved the feeling of going to work every day. Very easy job. Never had a hard time working there. Always gave great customer service. Management there was the best.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run down no management
Guest services (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COApril 5, 2016
Would not advise getting job at any M6 health insurance never was applied tell after leaving job horrible management, buildings are ragged and run down not the cleanest place
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply to this company
Front Desk Manager (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCApril 3, 2016
the best thing that came from my employment with this company was the people that I worked with. other than that I would not recommend this company for even my worse enemy. they do not care for their employees. they offer NO tangible incentives. you work extremely hard for very little pay without having the proper training nor the needed supplies. I would not recommend staying with them as they DO NOT change their comforters unless the dirt can be seen.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to meet new people
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Meridian, IDApril 2, 2016
i loved working there housekeeping team was great we got things done as a team meeting new friends working with a great team
Pros
meeting people
Cons
heath insurenc
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly workplace
Laundry Attendant (Former Employee) –  Camp Springs, MDMarch 29, 2016
On a typical day, I would show up and immediately gather all dirty laundry left behind by housekeepers. I bring them to the laundry room and started to separate towels from sheets. Since there's only two medium sized washing machines, I have to be wise and alternate between towels and sheets to make sure the housekeepers have everything they need in timely manner. After being washed, they have to go into the dryers. In those times, I have to constantly check if the housekeepers left any more dirty laundry. After being dried, I have to fold everything that the housekeepers haven't take yet. After all that, I have to wipe down the machines and sweep the floors. I also have to do the trash. I go around the building and see if the trash need to be taken out.

I learned that everyone have to work together in harmony. If one person was not doing what she was supposed to do, it affected the rest of us, which could made us stay and work longer to get everything done.

Since I worked in the laundry room, all coworkers came in and out the entire time. During those times, we had small talks and joked around. Most of the times, it was enjoyable. However, there was one housekeeper who deemed herself a number one priority over other housekeepers. I liked to be fair to everyone and keep in order of the housekeepers of what they need. That one particular housekeeper liked to be the first even though she came in third or fourth.

The hardest part of the job is when there was a very busy day. On a busy day, there was bound to be lots of dirty laundry. Oftentimes, I work alone. To have
  more... to constantly get dirty laundry, sorting them, put them into the machines was very tiring and frustrated, as housekeepers kept asking for clean laundry. It was hard to do considering the load of the dirty laundry and the size of the washing machines.  less
Pros
interaction with coworkers
Cons
No breaks, expected to constantly work the entire time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
down time job
Front Desk Receptionist / Bartender (Former Employee) –  Wentzville, MOMarch 25, 2016
Overnight weekend check in maybe 5 people. I learned how to make up tasks to do. The management was rally there. Since I worked the night shift I did not really see him. my co worker was great. energetic and fun. They left half way in my shift, so I cleaned a lot. The hardest part of my job was finding stuff to do. the enjoyable part was my short time with my coworkers
Pros
time to work on homework
Cons
finding stuff to do
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you learn how to be passions for people
Front Desk Agent/Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAMarch 22, 2016
working at motel 6 in santa ana was not easy you had to learn how to be passion with people becouse people there would just go off on you and most of the time you were by your self so it was not easy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Frank Shalwany-Manager (Former Employee) –  5085 Dean Martin Drive NV 89118March 21, 2016
I enjoy my work. Motel 6 for the last five years. They're supportive and fun to be with, the co-workers are nice and really helpful. I did want I wanted to do, which was maintenanc.
Pros
Good co-workers
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very low Salary and to many hours
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 16, 2016
I would work 80 hours a week for $24,000.00 a year. Very bad location, a lot of drugs. Manager was never on property and was very rude.
Pros
None
Cons
Bad location
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didnt like job
Maintanence (Former Employee) –  Van Buren, ARMarch 15, 2016
just not treated well or payed very well my co workers were great my supervisor was great but the place was victim of insurance fraud
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Maintenance Laborer (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXMarch 14, 2016
replacing broken equipment
lots of things
management was good
coworkers was enjoyable
staying busy
meeting different people
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Vallejo, CAMarch 14, 2016
Nice way to meet people, give them ideas where to shop and site see while visiting this small city. Motel was located close to Sea world, so we were always very very busy.
Pros
Opportunity for health benefits
Cons
worked overnights
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caios
Various Positions (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 13, 2016
A typical day at work at motel6 is pure caios. They are never organized theemployees called in on a reguarly basis. Leaving us short. Thigs was just outta control and that's why ileft
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, just poor management.
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Woods Cross, UTMarch 8, 2016
I was not properly trained after being hired, so I had to learn on the job. The manager was hardly every available and expected me to help her out with her job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow and very disruptive
Guest Services Representative/Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Camp Springs, MDMarch 8, 2016
This job was in a very unprofessional experience the staff were always fighting with each other as well as customers from time to time the manager did not take the time to train each person properly their was also in store theft
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My work environemnt
Guest Services Agent (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMarch 8, 2016
I like working there but it can be stressful at times dealing with some unruly guests due to the low pricing. It is pretty easy work but can be hectic on busy days due to check in and rooms being clean
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and Enjoyable
Manager of the day (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLFebruary 29, 2016
I worked at two Motel -6 in two different states. I was hired as a Front Desk Clerk ( West Memphis, Arkansas) I learned a lot as to interacting with our guest and handling guest's reservation and complaints. I took the courses and was promoted to MOD ( Manager on Duty) I moved to Pensacola Florida and was able to transfer to Motel -6 as a Front Desk Clerk and Night Auditor.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Pay scale low / Benefit package not good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 659 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3