Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent work
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALAugust 16, 2017
I really like the fact that nobody was looking over my shoulder I got to d my work alone and had good hours I just hated working every weekend amd switching managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motel 6
painting and Customer service (Former Employee) –  Hesperia, CAAugust 16, 2017
Helping customers with any problems at the motel from fixing appliances to cleaning and taking out trash. I learned a lot about people and the troubles they face. I also had to hurry and rush to get my tasks done and always completed them on time. The management at first was very calm and acceptable, but the new management was very distressing and the management was letting many workers go and cutting pay. The hardest part of the job was miscommunication among workers. The most enjoyable part of my job was talking with the people that stay there and getting to know them and their struggles and comforting them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Petaluma, CAAugust 16, 2017
I enjoy working with the public, assisting them with their needs and making sure the customer is happy with their experience with our company. Customer happy makes me happy.
Pros
Meeting people
Cons
Boring at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place to work
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Troutdale, ORAugust 16, 2017
Too much drama working here. Management is not good.Other workers gossip about everyone in their language. They have someone train you that don't know English. Skip steps for cleaning to get done with the rooms faster.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do allot for staff motivation
Manager on Duty (Former Employee) –  Nashua, NHAugust 16, 2017
I had a great general manner who was a good mentor and the company was great for advancement. We had daily meetings and motivation. We had monthly events for staff and took care of customers needs well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Marysville, CAAugust 16, 2017
Bad management. They don't offer very many hours to work so they don't have to provide you with any benefits. The pay is not the best and management was horrible.
Pros
Discounted hotel rooms
Cons
Bad pay bad hours no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Laundry Worker (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZAugust 16, 2017
When I worked there is was always busy..plenty to do..but the employees not management run the business..Hardest part of the job was communication with co-workers
Pros
Allowed to work overtime
Cons
Need to know spanish
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMAugust 16, 2017
Love working here, sad I had to move, great team and fun guest. Would love to work with this company again some day hopefully. Real close places to eat and have fun.
Pros
Managment
Cons
Some guest
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCAugust 15, 2017
The pay isn't great. The job is relatively easy and the environment is okay. You interact with lots of people every day but it gets boring at times. I wasn't given lunch time so I had to eat at the front desk.

I made 8.50 as a GSR
Pros
Free coffee, not physically demanding
Cons
You aren't allowed to leave the building for lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ohkay place to work if you have co workers who know how to do their job and a manager who actually enforces the policies and has scheduling fairness
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Salinas, CAAugust 15, 2017
Point blank period not a place you would want to work. Motel 6 needs managers who enforce the polices all across the bored and has no favortism for any guests regardless of their situation.
Pros
Manager bribes employees with "staff motivation"
Cons
Manager cries about not clocking out on time regardless if its busy, cries because you clock out on time and a guest walks in and is just standing there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back setting but tiresome
Front Desk Attendant and Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Cranberry, PAAugust 14, 2017
Cleaning entire scheduled motel rooms in a day. The learning process was not available was self explanatory. The main manager was fine the but other one was not very easy to deal with. The work place culture was ok during the warmer months but a bit of a hassle during the cold months due to the room doors being outside. Hardest part the job was finishing up extremely dirty room by the end of the shift. And the most enjoyable part was the end of the shift and going home.
Pros
nearby restraunts
Cons
small breaks and low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the people terrible staffing and management
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCAugust 13, 2017
Love working with motel 6 since the very first day of employment with company, never miss a day of work. although staff is terrible including the management and staff, their is always someone making a complaint about housekeeping staff and management not following through with job or belongings going missing while housekeeping is going in rooms, Staff is very unprofessional and very uncoordinated. Needs better management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dirty
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Buena Park, CAAugust 13, 2017
Its a fun summer job to get on your fit if you just turned 18. The management was great and fun. they always tried to make it a good time at work. However the rooms were so out of date and dirty guest complained about everything.
Pros
managment
Cons
short breaks, never enough people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean enviroment
Front Desk Attendant (Former Employee) –  Marble Falls, TXAugust 12, 2017
Management and owner were very bias, allowing family to come and go as please, leaving the front unattended sometimes hours at a time. Reprimanding employees that were faithful when they would do one minor mistake while the family employees could not be reprimanded. Best part of the job was meeting all the new people and keeping busy up front. Thoroughly enjoyed providing quality customer service for the customers.
Pros
Good pay, decent hours, enjoyable work
Cons
management, miscommunications
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced night shift
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Branford, CTAugust 12, 2017
I liked the actual job and I learned a lot, including doing night audit, and front desk check-ins and check-outs. The night shift was difficult for me because it could be terribly slow.
Pros
Great learning experience
Cons
Night shift was very slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work at.
Front desk clerk (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 11, 2017
I enjoyed everything about this company. Great owners and great employees. I've always was given new tasks to learn. This is were I utilized my experience in customer service the most.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Head House Keeper (Current Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDAugust 10, 2017
the management sucked along with harassment. I of course rejected any advancement towards me which ended up with me being put down to the low end of the jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work flow and benefits
Motel Auditor (Former Employee) –  Horn Lake, MSAugust 10, 2017
The management was fun to work with a typical day would be to check guest in or out make sure housekeeping knew where to start.

The management was a different culture, but once we got to knowing each other they where more freely of teaching you more things.
Pros
Night audit you really only had the audit to run the rest of the night your just there.
Cons
No insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not What Was Expected
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Palm Bay, FLAugust 10, 2017
The overall job was not what I expected. General Managers are not treated very well. We were required to work 7 days a week no days off and 24 hours on call. I don't mind hard work but I do expect some down time. Not at the Motel 6
Cons
No time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Springfield, VAAugust 10, 2017
My employees were the best and the customers
Management is sloppy
They hire anybody to do the front lobby and most of them were never on time, customer would complain a lot about the front end
Pros
Employees
Cons
Short breaks and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Motel 6 / Studio 6. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,108 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3