Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employee Reviews in United States

Found 623 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Job
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 30, 2015
I was doing this part time. When I was there it made me want to sign on for more shifts. They had a very eclectic cliental. I got meet all types of people.
Pros
Meeting so many different people
Cons
Co workers would always call out
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing more than a paycheck
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cameron Park, CAFebruary 3, 2016
I wouldn't come back if they pleaded with me to do so. Slum lords, through and through. Worst job I've ever held and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing nice to say....
Motel Manager (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCJanuary 31, 2016
I worked for this company for 2 years and I have completed my management duties and was never paid for the work I had already completed
Pros
none
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Zion, ILNovember 4, 2015
I felt like my presence mattered and was valued. I enjoyed working with people from all over the world who came to stay. It greatly increased my customer service skills and I feel it gave me an excellent set of skills to apply to all other fields.
Pros
Well paced
Cons
Difficult to get time off
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recognition for accomplishments for staff and ability to reward when appropriate.
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Elizabethtown, KYSeptember 22, 2015
The hardest part was finding staff willing to work at a physically demanding job and paying attention to detail for the pay the company set for the job. The fun part was recognizing and rewarding staff members for accomplishments.
Pros
Ability to do the job with minimum oversight.
Cons
High turnover due to pay for housekeepers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Guest Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Schiller Park, ILNovember 29, 2015
Friendly staff, management is great they willing to work around your schedule, you get to meet new customers everyday, you can become more higher inside the company
Pros
Customers Service, Friendly Staff
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did the job that was required of me
Front Desk Agent/ Weekend Manager (Former Employee) –  Marion, AROctober 23, 2015
I did the job that was required of me. I did't dislike the job. I learned how to do the job and did it. I do not wish to speak ill towards any job nor is it necessary to talk about the persons inwhich I have worked with.
Pros
it was a job
Cons
i didn't dislike the job
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Front desk clerk (Current Employee) –  Idaho Falls, IDFebruary 7, 2016
This was a great temporary job that I loved having but unfortunately the did not have enough hours to keep me on the schedule!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Job
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Dania Beach, FLNovember 7, 2015
Manager never on site, and prefer to friends instead of a boss. To cheap to get security had us the team members patrolling the premises in and unsafe environment full of druggies and homeless people.
Pros
Easy Job, great pay, and good hours
Cons
Management sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work place
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, TXNovember 3, 2015
Dependable and supportive management. Pleasant work environment with the ability to meet and interact with new people everyday. New guests everyday offer a variety in the work environment while stability continued with regular job duties.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gave me a lot of experience in management
General Manager Motel (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 22, 2015
Great workplace with opportunities to grow and develop. Was working 60-70 hours a week with one day I am not afraid of working hard to get everything done.
Pros
learned alot
Cons
worked alot of hours, only one day off no vacation or sick pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Head Housekeeping Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCOctober 15, 2015
The hours were good but the pay wasn't worth the amount of work that needed to be done. Very ran down. The most enjoyable part of working here was the employees. The hardest part of the job is when they were remodeling and we had to work anywhere from 8-10 hours a day
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very big possabilities to move up
Manager on Duty (Current Employee) –  Dania Beach, FLDecember 23, 2015
They give any one whom is willing to grow with the company. Very good place to work for. Love it. Great company. Great co workers. interesting guests
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
housekeeper
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIDecember 8, 2015
Its was hard at first but at the end was easy. Easy working places for the worker. Fun people all around you. work fast in 20 min or less clean well good.
Pros
no lunch breaks
Cons
bad people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs new management
Front Desk/Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Hemet, CaliforniaOctober 11, 2015
They are involved in illegal business practices. Employees must falsely fill out time cards so that managements doesn't have to pay overtime. Managers are paid to do their job yet leave it for the minimum wage employees to do.
Pros
full-time
Cons
unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good office experience
Front desk clerk (Former Employee) –  Horseheads, NYAugust 24, 2015
A typical day of work at motel 6 included checking in guests, taking reservations, and making all guests enjoy their stay in hopes of return business. Making sure the lobby is clean and inviting and coffee at the ready. I worked with a small but friendly staff who I feel all worked well together.
Pros
the ability to use my office experience.
Cons
no health care is offered thru this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job for meeting many different kinds of people
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Binghamton, NYSeptember 19, 2015
The Job was fantastic because it was something different every day and I was able to meet a lot of great people that became friends. The long term guests became almost like family.
Pros
great people, interesting days
Cons
room quality wasn't much to be proud of
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional environment, comfortable, low stress
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Pearl, MSAugust 12, 2015
This was the most relaxed job. Most of the clients just wanted to rest. I've seen blue collar workers to white collar workers exhausted from a long day at work. I learned that networking allows for more opportunities to increase business. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people and learning new cultures. The hardest part of this job was leaving.
Pros
great management, networking
Cons
low and biweekly pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management could have been better
Housekeeping Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNAugust 9, 2015
Supervising the housekeeping department, this consists of:

· Opening and closing.

· Supervising room attendants, Houseman’s and laundry department.

· Working closely with engineering.

· I made sure that all rooms and public areas are 100% clean and guest ready.

· Overseeing Product and make sure it's all labor and cost efficiency.

· Placed orders every month.

· Inventory every month.

· Inspecting due outs and all stay overs.

· Making sure that all guest were 100% happy.

· Lost and found.

· Scheduling for over 150 employees.
Pros
Learned alot!
Cons
Management could have been better.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Desk
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Cleburne, TXAugust 24, 2015
The hardest part of the job is knowing the different check in and out procedures while maintaining calm and efficient. The co-workers are nice and offer their help when needed. Management is amazing and calm with a good work attitude.
Pros
Kind of laid back, sitting down and allowed tv on down time
Cons
work wages is low compared to other jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 639 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3