Find companies:
Motorola Mobility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
106 reviews

Motorola Mobility Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technology
Senior Desktop Support Technician (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMay 22, 2014
Pros: no dress code
A great company to work for. A company that is on the front lines of technology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment - unnecesarily
Business Ops (Former Employee), Libertyville, ILMay 16, 2014
Pros: pays very, very well
Cons: tough, cut-throat work environment
Decision Making:
Motorola Mobility is very fast-paced, but not because of the industry. It is because they rush to make a decision without fully analyzing the pros & cons - which in turn, causes the need to QUICKLY rework what should have been planned properly from the beginning.

Environment:
Has evolved to being very cut-throat. The people are so – more... accustomed to layoffs that a 'fight' mentality is now pervasive through most departments. This is sad, because it used to be a genuinely caring work environment.

Duplicity:
On one hand the new company leaders wants people with either advanced degrees or degrees from top-tier schools. But on the other hand, in many cases when the existing management does not have those credentials, the person with degree is not valued and sometimes even envied by some managers. (not a good place to be) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and advance
Senior Staff Solutions Architect (Former Employee), Santa Clara, CAMay 1, 2014
Pros: learning and reviewing designs
Cons: lack of communication at times
A typical day at work was in reviewing sales engineer designs and testing them for functionality.

I learned a great deal about the industry and MOT place in it.

My manager was very good and hands off so he just let me do what I know how to do.

My co-workers are friends of mine, mostly from before MOT and since.

The hardest part of the job was at – more... times waiting for designs to come in to review.

The most enjoyable part was doing designs and reviewing designs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Network Specialist (Former Employee), Horsham, PAApril 4, 2014
i worked for the cable television products division (home & mobility) for a number of years. i learned a lot, made a lot of good friends, and accomplished a lot in my tenure there. challenging environment with great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Quality Analyst/Test Engineer (Former Employee), Libertyville, ILMarch 27, 2014
Avg day starts with a meeting or email sent out by team managers for daily goals. Then you are free to your work. Good company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelent company to work
NPI, Manufacturing Coordinator (Former Employee), Plantation, Fl. 33322February 5, 2014
Pros: learned a lot, management was very good, excelent benefits
Cons: layoffs
Worked in Motorola Mobility for 15 years and it was a great years of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Software Engineer (Former Employee), Santa Clara, CAFebruary 3, 2014
Nice project to work for, but acquisition and mergers are more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
your co-workers
Test Engineer (Former Employee), Libertyville, ILJanuary 26, 2014
Most of my co-workers are very easy going. They tend to tell you everything you want to know and always tell you the important and pivotal part of the work. It is really a great honor to work with those friendly guys, and they have a big influence on me to help other teammate to work better in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telecom Sales Executive
Moto X Sell-Through Sales Trainer (Former Employee), Kansas City MOJanuary 25, 2014
Outside sales executive with a deep understanding of the service provider market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Machine Setup/Operator (Former Employee), Libertyville, ILJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: consistent work
Cons: not enough people
running machines, driving forklift
working at this job was fun,it was a new experience for me i had just started working on machines and if it wasn't for this company i would have not had the experience and knowledge i have today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It used to be a great place to work, but eroded over time due being acquired sold, re-acquired, sold, etc
Senior Program Manager (Former Employee), Horsham, PAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: great legacy company with great innovators, and early management of quality
Cons: mis-management, and poor insight into cell market, led to their demise. the selloff to google then arris also impacted their success
I was soo proud when Motorola bought General instruments in late 90s. I really was excited and couldn't wait to see how things unfolded and we got better as a result. But this was a pipe dream. The stock went from 183/share to bus fare at one point nearly 3/share. Division fiefdoms, family mismanagement, and constantly changing upper management only – more... led to its demise. It really was a power house for 70 years and then, as usual us managers turned it inside out and upside down, which led to it being kicked out of DOW status by Wall Street for its poor performance. After working there many years, it was a place trying to re-invent itself even after Google Acquisition, but I am proud to say I was part of the digital TV revolution as a result, and we were part of a lot of firsts in the industry. I learned a lot about what NOT to DO in a large fortune 50 company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Consultant; Software Engineer/Project Manager (Former Employee), Arlington Heights, ILJanuary 1, 2014
Good company to work for. Good people with strong process.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Libertyville, ILDecember 29, 2013
Pros: love my job
Cons: 1hr drive
Great work and life balance, health club. Professional atmosphere. Loved the people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work there
Desk side Support Engineer (Former Employee), new yorkNovember 20, 2013
Dead end for IT advancedment. No incentive to move up in the chain.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Test
Sr. Engineering Manager (Former Employee), Chicago IllNovember 12, 2013
Good company.
Good culture.
Good and challenging work.
People tend to create silo's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better before Google
Service Test Support Operations (Former Employee), Libertyville, ILOctober 29, 2013
Good company to work for before Google came into the picture..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong company
Software Program Manager (Former Employee), Libertyville, ILOctober 18, 2013
Leading telecommunications company
Leading technology
Talented people
well-defined processes
high-quality products
high customer satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wide variety of experience
Senior Engineering Technician (Former Employee), Horsham, PAOctober 18, 2013
Pros: professional environment
My tenure at ARRIS / Motorola Mobility was a great learning experience. Working with engineering professionals increased my knowledge of a wide variety of engineering subjects.

As the sole technician in the hardware lab I was able to support all of our associated teams including software, device test and integration and our engineering teams in San – more... Diego and Taiwan. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Senior Electrical Engineer (Former Employee), Libertyville, ILOctober 8, 2013
Friendly and Productive workplace
Nice environment to work at
Flexiable Schedules
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for innovation
DIRECTOR OF ENGINEERING, INNOVATION PRODUCTS (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 6, 2013
Motorola was one of the most innovative companies I have worked for. You get to work with the best and brightest in the telecom industry.

1 2 3 4 5