Mount Sinai Medical Center Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, intense and dangerous environment
Mental Health Technician (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 21, 2017
Very intense and dangerous environment that staff has to work in with minimal support when issues to take place.. Patients are very physical and don't mind hurting staff.
Pros
Na
Cons
Very dangerous environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Clerical Assistant (TEMP) through Forum Staffing (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYSeptember 5, 2017
Depending on who was your supervisor, you may or may not have a good experience here. I was told I wasn't hired to be permanent because of something that could have and should have been told directly to me. However, I took this job as a lesson learned, and took with me all that I learned on to the next job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced day-transporting
Patient Care Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 30, 2017
Each day is different today I may be picking up patients, tomorrow I may be in the ambulatory section and another day I may be in the operating room. If I am picking up patient it is a non stop of going unit to unit picking up and dropping off patients to their procedure site. But it may be a busy day so in addition to that I may need to perform vitals on a patient before their procedure. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that I am helping someone who is about to undergo a difficult procedure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome!
Senior Research Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 30, 2017
great enviroment

excellent co workers

commute terible

no parking

bad benefits

job was very detailed


need to learn to multitask

organized place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
RN (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 29, 2017
Great benefits for all employees. Day care center available on campus for all employees. Elementary school on campus available for all employees. Excellent workplace culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional
Surgical Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 23, 2017
It's a very rewarding to know that you help someone. I am a business major but I have learn a lot from being a surgical assistant. Mount Sinai hospital is one of the biggest and best hospitals in New York. I am very happy to be part of the staff.
Pros
Great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool work culture
administrative Assistant / Patient Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 18, 2017
Not a bad work place. Great employees. Benefits could be better. Hard work does pay off. Nice work environment.. Do you job be on-time all is well. You get comfortable quick
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work in
Summer Intern / Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 15, 2017
A place where you can gain experience for future career, treat you like a family, well respected, and where you feel safe. I recommend anyone to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced, requires high accuracy, very busy
Registrar, Core Lab (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 12, 2017
Well organized, optimzed work style, fast paced and quite busy. Team work, diversity.
The hospital operates 24/7 - 3 main shifts and some floating shifts.
Need to work every other weekend and 3 major holidays.
Very good health benefits and paid time off.
Pros
Job security, covered by the 1199 union
Cons
Have to work some weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff.
Staff Nurse on Cardiac Telemetry/Stepdown Unit (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 10, 2017
Great staff. opportunity to grow. Definitely would recommend others to apply. Union position helps with job security. Great healthcare benefits and time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
standard workplace
Patient Representative (Current Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLAugust 10, 2017
for the department I worked for, I had great workers, but was not able to transfer to a different department. I would answer up to a hundred phone calls a day for scheduling, for multiple offices
Pros
friendly atmosphere
Cons
unable to transfer to different department, no room for advacement in department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Intern (Former Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLAugust 10, 2017
I was an Intern at the hospital so don't I wouldn't know about the pay. the employees were always kind and willing to teach you and treat your time there as an opportunity to learn and grow.
Pros
You learn a lot
Cons
i didnt do the work i wanted
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Junior Biomedical Engineer/ Technician (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 8, 2017
It's a good place to work, but it could be a better place.
There is no pressurein my department. I wish that training could be available more often and they would have some over time to boost my salary.
Pros
Salary is decent
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with plenty of diversity and personality
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYAugust 8, 2017
While doing volunteer work, I was able to acquire work experience that I feel will serve me well in the future. I worked as a sticker for Starbucks so I have a lot of experience when it comes to stocking.
Pros
Free lunch, good break time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surgical Service assistant
Surgical Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLAugust 7, 2017
The job was great for anyone wanting to get their foot in the door at the hospital. However, It was a lot of work for the pay and zero room for advancement. The Staff was friendly overall.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emergancy Room registration & etc
customer service, collections, cashiering (Former Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLAugust 7, 2017
Worked in the ER doing registration of patients and verifing insurance
Enjoyed working there for the 17 years
MSMC had all of the employes go through training each year
Enjoyed working with the nurses and doctors
Pros
always learning
Cons
saw people die
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Hospital and Medi cal School, terrible managers
Senior Training Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 4, 2017
I worked at Sinai for 10 plus years and only ever got a 3 percent cost of living increase 3 times. no advancement, short staffed, terrible managers and awful leadership in IT
Pros
29 days PTO
Cons
Terrible managers and directionless leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning center
Citologist (Current Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLAugust 2, 2017
Will be very happy with a part time job with benefit
My place to work is cytology
I work with pathologist, processing sample and the first to screening and report a draft diagnosis
Pros
Learn
Cons
Per Diem
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, but again undermined by incompetent management
Medical Transcriber (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 28, 2017
I had ten very happy years at Mount Sinai Medical Center, rising from the ranks of the temporary help pool to become a salaried employee after three years and being hired away from one department by another - always flattering.

Unfortunately, the end of my tenure at Mount Sinai coincided with sweeping regime changes within my department that saw an experienced, approachable, effective office manager replaced with a career "floater," hired by the executive office to bring down costs. This resulted in a scorched earth atmosphere that brought office morale way down and ended with my leaving the hospital to work as a freelance transcriber.

Happily, although too late for me, the original management was restored after a year. I was glad to see the executive office saw the error of its ways.
Pros
Originally, a family style atmosphere and plenty of work
Cons
Ultimately, incompetent management and a harried environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
farmed out management
floor maintenance (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 27, 2017
hospital has a company to run building services they lack experience an poorly trained.over worked an undertrained.but pretty good enviornment to work.
Pros
management lack bldg serv knowledge
Cons
if you know all aspects of the bldg serv job you will be fine
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mount Sinai Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 352 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7