Find companies:
Mount Sinai Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
151 reviews

Mount Sinai Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced, friendly enviornment
Medical Records Associate / Receptionist (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 7, 2013
Pros: healthcare, lunch-ins
Cons: short breaks, bias union representatives
Receptionist: Retrieval of records for clinics and hospital personnel’s. Assist patients with release of medical records within their hospital stay. Interact with several applications to perform my daily duties. Applications such a as Soft med, Cerner, On base, EDR and Epic. Assist insurance companies with inquiries on patients and the reason for their – more... billing. Answering of the telephones to assist callers with what is being requested, transfer calls if necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer.
Clinical Nurse Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 3, 2013
Pros: flexibility and room for creativity.
Cons: too many competing initiatives without stability.
Very busy, dynamic and challenging workplace. Potential for growth and mobility is significant. Very demanding leadership but supportive with excellent opportunities for mentorship. Difficult to find balance given less than optimal infrastructure in management. Great palce to nurture leadership skills and relationship-centered leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy my job however, there are those days that are stressful
Billing Supervisor (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: we are more of a family then co-works
Cons: commute is weighing in on my after 12 yrs.
Hardest part of the job is informing patients that they will be reposnsible for the balance are their primary has paid & they can not afford a 2dary insurance carrier,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Average Work Day
Social Worker (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: friendly work environment
Some of my responsibilities at Mount Sinai Medical Center included:

• Coordinate safe and effective discharge plans for in-patient surgery patients with complex social and medical problems

• Works alongside an interdisciplinary team in the treatment and facilitation of the health and well-being of patients

• Provided psychosocial support and for – more... patients and their families as they learned to cope with new realities of chronic and potentially life-threatening illness

• Provided psychosocial support for patients and families facing various social problems including homelessness, drug abuse, psychiatric instability and many others – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational advancement in every department
Nurse Tech/PCA (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: great staff
Cons: short breaks
Worked in the mommy baby unit n loved every minute of . I took vital signs on antepartum and post partum mothers. Bathe feed change new borns in the well baby nursery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be stressful at times but a fun place to work in
Billing Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: an occasional free lunch voucher
Cons: working through my lunch break on most days
During my years at Mt. Sinai, I have learned many different computer programs that pertain to my job here. A typical day at work consists of processing the Ambulatory billing for Maternity patients and dealing with the Finance Dept on a daily basis.
The hardest part of the job would be troubleshooting those problem cases that are denied. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job is the close relationships I have with my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff to work with.
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 30, 2013
Flex schedule allowed me to earn my nursing degree while working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
Billing Coordinator Dept. of Dermatology (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 29, 2013
calling insurance companies find monies
the most enjoyable is finding and getting claims paid
learned to work with multiple providers and different people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So far is a great place to work...but it will take a chunk of your life
Laboratory Service Representative (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 26, 2013
Pros: pay, benefits, things to do when you are stressed
Cons: demanding times, challenging environment, high expectations (sometimes way too high!)
I just started working there. And I have to admit its a great place to work with great benefits and pay; and depending who you are working with or under it can be a good place for advancement but the demand is tough and sometimes the hours can be tough as well too;
But when you think about it you are working in a hospital setting where a person's life – more... is in your hands in whatever you do. So there are some rewards along with some risk.

The area where i work at now wasn't my first choice and i will admit there are days where it can get pretty hectic to borderline overwhelming but like the benefits there are things and people to talk to when you are feeling the weight of overwhemness.

Would I like to work here? yes.
In the area where i work at now? No, honestly its too demanding where i work at i rather work in area or part of the hospital where it i can at least have time to work in the day and my evenings to me
Is it demanding? Yes, rain, sleet, or snow, one expects you to be there its a tough business but the pay is great depending on what you are doing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Experience - Very Cliquey, Staff can be very mean and uppity if they don't like you
RN (Former Employee), Med-SurgAugust 18, 2013
Pros: gain experience
Cons: cliquey, rn responsible for a lot on the floor, busy
Was so excited to be employed here, but management and co workers made the experience HORRIBLE. Very unpleasant and uppity. They are discriminatory but are very subtle about it. Typical day you can learn and see alot. RN's are responsible for a LOT on the floor. Co workers can shut you out if they don't like you or you don't kiss up. I hope not every – more... floor is like this but i've had about 5 people say the same. If you can make it, it's all about the name. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is fun place to work
Support Associate B (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 16, 2013
I like working there but I moved. It have job security, good benefits and it is life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy working environment multitasking skills is a must to possess
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 12, 2013
Pros: healthcare, benefits
Cons: working environment, leadership
It was a busy working place but one can find some balance with respects from the previous management leadership. Environment and moral has been rapidly plummet and deteriorating after retirement from previous management and nothing seems what I had presented on my first day at the orientation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive place
Financial Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 8, 2013
Pros: paid vacation and sick time with paid hoildays
Cons: long hours with no overtime pay
what I learned at working for Mount Sinai Medical Center is, each case I received everyday was never the same so I always learned something new. Management always kept us updated with changes to the company. My co-workers always made sure we helped each other out if it was needed. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help my patients – more... and explaining to them about their insurance benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was there for 7 years
Clinical Nurse GP (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 7, 2013
Pros: very family oriented
Cons: no breaks at times
i learned a lot there,
went from an unexperienced RN to an experienced RN precepting nurses
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mount Sinai Medical Center RN Observations
Pediatric RN (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 18, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: communication issues among doctors and between nurses and doctors
I enjoy working at Mount Sinai as an RN for many reasons. I work on a pediatric liver and kidney transplant and gastrointestinal system floor. On a typical day I take care of four to five patients with varying medical conditions and acuity. I participate in rounds to learn and gain and understanding of the plan for each of my patients, I do a lot of – more... patient and family teaching, and I advocate for my patients' rights. I work as a team with my co-workers to provide the most efficient nursing care possible. I enjoy running ideas for the unit by my manager, who is very receptive to feedback and nurse-lead initiatives. She is a terrific leader.
The most difficult part of my job is that there are problems with cohesive care on my unit, because there are so many teams involved in the more complex patients, and often as the primary nurse I have to do a lot of chasing of doctors to get the answers I need to be able to provide the best care possible. The most enjoyable part of my job is the kids. I love their energy and the ease of forming relationships with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Senior Billing Coordinator, FPA Department (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 17, 2013
Pros: on the job training.
Cons: choice of health coverage limited
Mount Sinai Medical Center, like many hospitals, contain many different departments and profit centers, each of which is run almost as a separate business or entity within the facility. Each department provides many hospital job opportunities in a variety of interesting roles. This is an establishment that reward hard working and dedicated employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Company
Epic Consultant - Go-live (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 10, 2013
Always a place i would refer people to go and work for. The staff and employee's have a welcoming feel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, benefits are great, apportunity for growth is always present
Food Prep G/Hostess (Current Employee), Manhattan, New York, New YorkJuly 9, 2013
Pros: free lunch, ability to learn about different cultures, great benefits, opportunity for promotions.
Cons: constantly on your feet
Overall a productive workplace, constantly on the go in order to keep up to the demand of the job, Mount Sinai strive for the best so only your best can be good enough, which i strive to achieve. Its a fun place to work and i also love all my coworkers that makes my days much easier and finish faster. The hardest part of the job is to pleased my patients, – more... sometimes you are not able to please every one and when i don't i feel sad, however i know that it not any fault of my own and i just do my best. I enjoy talking to my patients as most of them really just need someone to listen, also i like to help the elderly ohhhh they are so sweet and funny really makes my days a lot better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity
Research Nurse Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 3, 2013
Lovely organization. Worked in BMT with excellent physicians doing research coordination. Loved every aspect of coordinating clinical trials including travel to investigator meetings. Co-workers were resistant to research in beginning but warmed up with proper education. Hardest part of job is IRB revisions. Most enjoyable part of job is investigator/working – more... with brilliant minds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Recruitment Specialist, Consultant (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 23, 2013
Great place to work, very professional environment, dedicated staff

About Mount Sinai Medical Center

Mount Sinai Medical Center

Mount Sinai Medical Center Photos