MovieStop Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Movies, Movies, Movies
Outside Marketing and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALNovember 4, 2015
Not a good work environment. Management is questionable. Terrible hours. Not willing to work with people who go to college.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Orange park, flJuly 9, 2015
Movies, more movies, what's not to like? Management is fun, they'll actually work with you to help you get comfortable with your job. I miss it someday's, but not after hearing the new software they use is difficult. I feel for them now, but other than that... Great place to work for.
Pros
Watching free movies
Cons
Rude customers complaining bout gift cards, part-time opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Comfortable Workplace Enviroment
Cashier (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAFebruary 1, 2015
A very relaxing and enjoyable workplace due to the respectful yet funny personality of my manager. Always had time to cheer up anyone who walked into the store, customers or employees. The Hardest part in particular about this job was figuring out the different operations they had on the computers, after learning this everything was easy to understand and to perform. The most enjoyable part of my experience at this job was how kind and helpful everyone there was, especially when i had first started out.
Pros
long lunch breaks, bathroom break
Cons
very specific dress uniform (bright red shirt, nice dress pants with black belt and dress shoes)
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job not made for advancement
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Columbus, GASeptember 17, 2014
Job was exceedingly fun and the customers made the work worthwhile. However, there wasn't enough hours to produce a livable paycheck to even provide for groceries.Good starting point to learn correct customer service and gain experience but not challenging enough to secure opportunities to gain promotions.
Pros
store discount, friendly and caring atmosphere
Cons
no breaks, no hours, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun while it lasted!
Store Support Desk (Current Employee) –  Kennesaw, GAMay 7, 2015
Moviestop, LLC was bought by Hastings. Worked at Corporate office and lost job because they took over. Love it otherwise
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, NJFebruary 13, 2015
Retail positions will not care about you, and therefore you shouldn't really expect much from them or give them much in return.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Floor Cashier/Inventory Restock (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDJune 8, 2012
Management is nice and very productive. You get to enjoy talking about movies while selling and giving recommendations and opinions on other films or tv series.
Pros
free rentals; discount at moviestop and gamestop
Cons
no discount on discounted items
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive,Great work environment
General Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Lawerenceville, NJFebruary 22, 2013
A typical day would include coming in at 8 am in the morning having a conference call with other store manager's and district manager,discussing ideas,sales goals,accomplishments and problem solving.Bank run,preping store opening.Open the store at 10:00 am.customer service all day, everyday, and every time with every single customer.
Stocking,merchandising,organizing,upsaleing,reserving merchandise.closing,Training,and reseaching product info,standard closing procedures.
Pros
the whole job was a pro
Cons
company went bankrupt.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VASeptember 7, 2013
I looked at this as my "fun part-time job", but that isn't to say we didn't work hard. From inventory to our usual customers, it was a blast, yet productive.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but Minimum Wage
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLDecember 17, 2012
If you don't mind getting minimum wage this is a good company to work for. You are able to check things out, so you save money.
But again Minimum wage and Low hours.
Pros
able to check movie's out.
Cons
minimum wage and low hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un professional and very low pay.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  North Miami Beach, FLJanuary 13, 2014
This company is so bad at properly paying their employees it is ridiculous. On top of that the whole atmosphere is so unprofessional when it needs to be. Would not work for this company again
Pros
discounts on movies
Cons
low pay, terrible leadership, bad support network
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work especially for a high school student
Manager (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALDecember 21, 2011
this company worked around my school schedule. they advanced me very quickly and provided a family atmosphere. i would recommend this job to any one
Pros
worked around your schedule, discount on movies
Cons
no healthcare, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to interact with people.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Buford, GAJanuary 24, 2013
I have learned how to take in a trade and ring people out at the same time. we go from dead to slammed to dead again.
Pros
movie check out and the people i work with.
Cons
no place to get away from costumers for a break.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Prattville, ALNovember 27, 2013
I would keep store cleaned, manage hours of employees and make sure customers where happy
Pros
good pay
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Macon, GAMay 13, 2012
Excellent client taile and amazing managers! Always something to do! "if you have time to lean you have time to clean!"...store saying!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture