Find companies:
MP NEXLEVEL, LLC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

MP NEXLEVEL, LLC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Network Engineer
Network Engineer (Former Employee), Maple Lake, MNJuly 3, 2014
• Managed the networks for 10 external companies and helped support the MP Nexlevel staff and network.
• Responsibilities include:
• Setup, installation, upgrades and maintenance of Windows servers/computers, printers, copiers and scanners, telecom equipment, iPhones, Androids, iPads, Surface
• Configuration of users and computers through Active Directory – more... and Group policy
• Patch management of Windows servers and workstations
• Management of Microsoft Exchange Server
• Accurate record maintenance of hardware and software levels
• Routine auditing of systems, applications, documentation and business processes
• Network support and training provided to clients and all staff members
• Monitored external clients servers through 3rd party software
• Maintained billing system for external clients – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to be with if looking for career
Tower Hand (Former Employee), MinnesotaJanuary 7, 2014
Loved the atmosphere while working with this company. Hardest part was working in the negative degree temps. Other than that I would recommend this company to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family-owned and operated, fun place to work
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee), Maple Lake, MNOctober 8, 2013
Pros: easy drive to work, management trust, opportunity to grow my department and work with employees
Two brothers and their sister have brought this company from two dump trucks to a nation-wide leader in the underground utilities industry. Office staff is friendly and connected. I learned to appreciate a small company with big potential. I enjoyed being the HR Manager and working directly with upper-management. I enjoyed the responsibility of meeting – more... the needs of both employees and the owners. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not work there again
plow operator (Former Employee), m.o. and k.s.May 10, 2013
Pros: lots of time off if thats what you want
Cons: equipment, management, time off, lies, et.
thought i was going to a great place started out ok with alot of promises. soon found out that family ties are a huge plus which i did not have. people are suppose to be reviewed by area supervisor after 90 days with potential for raise at that time, the review never happened. company does not provide proper tools it is up to the employee to provide – more... tools, such as duct cutter-pad wrench-knock off tool for rock saw teeth and other misc. hand tools. when job moved to ks was under different area manager, still had same family issues. he did not know the proper allowance for per diem although he was the area supervisor. pay is a huge issue your time is turned in by someone who is not even out on the job when you leave at the end of the day, you never see a time sheet. they promise to make up hours or per diem thew owe you but they never do. too much down time for weather. was off 6 of my last 11 weeks in ks. i have worked in utility cons. the past 7 years and never shut down week at a time for what should be one rain day. even inspector did not know why we couldnt work most days. if you know the right person or can afford to draw unemployment every time it rains then this is the perfect place. if you are here to make money and be treated fairly then i suggest looking elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Locator (Current Employee), united statesMarch 17, 2013
Pros: benifits great
Cons: seasonal layoff
Learned locating and marking skills, id types of lines to locate, Co-workers are great to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On The Road All The Time
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Maple Lake, MNFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: fun people
Cons: on the road, no home life
was on the road all the time, didnt like that. Fun people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Quality Company
Manager (Current Employee), Where ever NeededOctober 25, 2012
Pros: very solid company with great people
Cons: travel
MP Nexlevel is a great place to work, with great people. MP has been around for over 35 years and is a very secure place to have a job. They alway have plenty of work for their employees and they strive to find work in the southern states for the guys that want to keep working in the winther months. Mp provides great benifits and pays on time every – more... week. Some jobs are only allowed to work 5 days a week and some are 6 days a week but that all depends on the customer they are working for. But either way i have no problem getting 55 to 60 hrs on a 5 day work week. I have been with the company since 1998 and seen allot of places and meet allot of people. This is a great place to work and start a career!!!!!!!!!!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK
administration (Current Employee), Maple Lake, MNOctober 25, 2012
Pros: fun, friendly, great benefits
I have worked at MP for almost 2 years and have found it to be very rewarding and fun. I have been given opportunities to learn new aspects of my job and therefore advancement within the company. The benefits are great with a full medical, dental, voluntary life insurance and 401k package. They have been very flexible with my work schedule along with – more... the management team having an open door policy. They are always willing to listen to concerns and/or suggestions. I would definitely recommend MP to my family and friends as a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another ex-employee...
Crew Foreman (Former Employee), VariousApril 19, 2012
There was a time when I first started with MP Nexlevel that I thought, "Wow, this is a pretty good place to work. The employees are pretty cool, it's good honest, hard work, you get to travel a little bit and see some sights, and the supervisor's are pretty stand up guys as well." Well, not all of that was true, nor was all of it a lie. I did meet a – more... lot of good people and I did get to see some new places. Most problems that you will face with MP stem from the main office and the fact that they do not stand behind their employees very well. They are out to make a profit....period.

Now I'm not against a company making money, but I don't believe that it should be at the expense of those guys who are out on the job sites running the daily operations that generate the income that pays for the salaries of those people, which it seems, that sit in a climate controlled office all day, working 8 to 5 trying to figure out the next place that they can cut down their employees to make or save another buck. They will tell you anything you want to hear so that you will do what they want you do at the time. You will hear a lot of hearsay, you will be told many things, made many promises, 95% of which will never happen.

At MP Nexlevel, your role in the company doesn't have all that much to do with your experience, your time with the company, your education, your skill or your knowledge, but it has a lot to do with who you are and who you know. I have seen countless times where new guys were hired in to do a job that they claimed they could do only to find out that they couldn't do it, meanwhile they are being paid a higher wage than that of someone who has been with the company for several years and is already doing the work themselves on a daily basis. Most days, you start at 7a.m. and work until dark, longer days in the summer months, shorter days in the winter months. You are to get a 30 minute lunch each day, if they let you have it, and no set breaks. You are allowed to take a break during downtime or as long as production is maintained.

Another thing that MP lacks on most, but not all jobs, is organization and communication. I have seen many times where guys are running around frantically trying to get things done, yet have no idea what is going on, sometimes they haven't even seen or spoken to a foreman or supervisor all day who was supposed to be getting back to them on this or that. There are times when equipment, supplies, materials, locates, or something that was supposed to be done or at the site is not done or at the site. Of course this usually falls onto the employees not doing something right rather that the supervisors or guys in the main office just didn't have the foresight or take responsibility and get it taken care of ahead of time.

MP Nexlevel does offer benefits to their employees including medical insurance, short and long term disability, life insurance, dental insurance, 401K plans, worker's compensation, vacation, and per Diem when away from home. You have to pay for medical insurance, short and long term disability, life insurance, dental and your 401K.

While employed for MP, I found that the medical insurance seemed pretty expensive for just myself and began checking into it. The medical insurance benefits that MP carries are pretty good, but I found that I could get the same insurance with better dental and vision on my own cheaper than what MP was taking out of my check to get it. If you hear that you will get an extra $4 an hour increase on your pay for finding your own insurance not through MP, don't buy that for a minute, it won't happen. If you happened to get laid off, your insurance will be cancelled unless you continue to send them a check for the premiums to keep it in place. During layoff, even if your think you have insurance coverage and you speak with the insurance company and they say you have insurance coverage, does not mean that you do. I had an accident while on layoff in which I needed stitches. After getting medical attention the insurance carrier told me that I had coverage at the time of the accident, but once the claim had went through, MP called the insurance company and backdated the termination of my insurance to three weeks before my accident. I was responsible to pay 100% of my medical costs.

MP does carry worker's compensation on their employees, but employees are highly discouraged against claiming on it in the case of an accident. What they like to have you do is turn it in on your personal insurance and then send the receipts to them and they will, in most cases, repay you for your expenses so it keeps their claim rates down. Although I have heard and seen them not reimburse some employees if they feel like the bills were too high or if they could get away with coming up with another excuse of why you were injured and in which case your most likely out of that money because you didn't claim it on worker's compensation. However, claiming an injury on worker's compensation is so highly frowned upon that it may result in your termination so you should consider that carefully as well.

The paid vacation time is something that many people love to have through their jobs. MP will give you vacation time after being their for a full year, but what they don't tell you is that you have to work 1400 hours to "qualify" to receive it. That doesn't seem like it would be too hard as that's an average of about 27 hours per week for a year, but then you have to figure in the time off for holidays, your monthly breaks to go home for 4-5 days, personal days off that you take, layoff, etc. These times off add up pretty quick and will not count towards your goal of 1400 hours. The last year I worked, they had me down for 1392 hours and refused, at first, to give me my vacation time because I didn't meet the goal. Then after two phone calls to the main office, they gave me vacation, but would not let me use it at the time I decided to quit. They approved it to me at the time and it was supposed to be my last paycheck, but when it came time to pay it out, they informed me that they do not have to pay out vacation time to employees who are no longer with the company.

The 401K is set up for you to contribute a percentage of your income that you decide on into it, except in some of MP more recent jobs where they put a mandatory amount into a 401K account for you. This amount is a certain dollar amount per hour of your hourly rate. You are able to draw this money out at a later time, but I don't know for sure what the tax implications are on this method of reimbursement. I also do not know what is in it for the company by doing this, but you can pretty much guarantee that something is or they wouldn't do it. MP will match approximately 3-4% of the voluntary contribution to your 401K.

With this being said, I did learn a lot while I was at MP, including leadership, organization, communication, managing a crew, and other miscellaneous things, most of which were learned on my own and by seeing what not to do from MP, but the biggest and most important thing that I learned was how not to treat the people who make your money for you, your employees. That is why I will never work at MP Nexlevel again, nor will I ever refer or support anyone who is thinking of trying to get a job with MP Nexlevel. Their profit is the bottom line and they will do, say, or take advantage of anyone and anything that allows them to get to their bottom line. – less

September 6, 2012

I understand completely. I was hired on and loved my job and what I did. I saw so many things within a few weeks that let me know what kind of company they were. I saw everything from drinking and driving company vehicles to drug use by all but a select few employees. Company vehicles damaged and lied about. I saw employees injured and battle to get paid or even harassed by the company. Read the reviews before you make a decision about where you want to work, unless you like lies and promises that are not kept, and a workplace full of users, with the exception of a few.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WOULD NEVER WORK FOR THIS COMPANY AGAIN!!!!!
ex employee!!! (Former Employee), MNMarch 5, 2012
Cons: too many to list
This company is VERY poorly managed!! Make there employees promises then once you get to the job site (many hours/miles from home) the dont follow thru on those promises. When you take another (much better job) they will fight you tooth and nail for your unemployment the next time you sign up for unemployment. there are many other companies out there – more... that you will do the same type of work but make more money. When I am away from home I prefer to work more hours (60 - 65 or 5 1/2 to 6 days a week) than they will allow you to work (50 - 53 max on most jobs). If you decide to work for this company and they promise you ANYTHING make sure you get it in writing or you will NOT get it I promise you that. If you are looking for a job for this type of work research some of the other companies there are ones out there that are much better and pay WAY better!!! Overtime is where the hourly worker makes their money and you wont get many OT hours with this company even when you are 20+ hours from home. – less

About MP NEXLEVEL, LLC

MP Nexlevel provides full service underground utility locating for all types of infrastructure. Whether it's gas, power, and communications – Read more