MTA Employee Reviews

Found 106 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work...Management always questionable?!!!!
Customer service as relates (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 8, 2016
Great place to work, very professional ...
management has its problems and its related
to its hiring practice that when they are wrong
they are right and when they are right they are
right. Not a broad brush for all of management
but, for those unqualified in terms of people skills.
Otherwise a Great place.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
management always looking to be right...
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work is easy
Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 1, 2016
A typical work day is about 16 hours but you only get paid for 14. I learned do trust other drivers or management.The most enjoyable part of my job is when i get off and go home.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly atmosphere and coworkers.
Engineering Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 11, 2016
I have been working at MTA for almost a year. I gained a lot of things through my internship. Like how to deal with upper management people. Overall, i would say working in MTA would be best job ever you will have with great benefits and salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place. Just not into commuting back in forth to LA everyday.
Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 6, 2016
Love to work at Metro but the commute, 1hr there and back and then driving as a job isn't so pleasant. I'm seeking something closer to home. I just moved from Los Angeles to Lancaster and I'm in need of a closer travel to work.
Pros
benifits, salary and recreation rooms
Cons
The commute
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the work environment itself.
Door-to-Door Salesman (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 1, 2016
All my work days were amazing.

I learned about warehousing, stock work, monitoring examinations, overhall shops, city government, DCAS, the examination beauro and warehouse inventory.

All my coworkers were terrific! They were all very nice coworkers.

The work itself and the work environments was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 20, 2016
I did not work for MTA long. I did enjoy my time there maybe one day I will return in the future. Driving the bus was a different experience however I enjoy office work.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On-time and safe transportation for customers
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 14, 2016
Time management is very important. Lots of different personalities when working with co-workers, management and hourly employees. When you take the time to know people you work with, you can find positive ways to work with them to get the job done. It's important to keep an open mind because there is something new to learn all the time. The most enjoyable part of the job is sharing new knowledge and teaching others how to do the job. The hardest part of the job for me is getting there, because I live in a different state. Once I'm there, the rest is easy.
Pros
Benefits and Retirement plans are great.
Cons
Health issues, if you work in the field.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance
Administrative Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 12, 2016
A typical day at work is hectic and ever changing. Extensive learning in regards to contract, discipline, negotiations, employee relations. embrace and love Labor Relations with its diverse challenged. Coworkers are alright but management can be unfair and biased. most enjoyable part is negotiations and savings someone job and helping the employee get back on their feet.
Pros
flexible schedules
Cons
raises are limited and promotions biased
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learned alot from my peers
Consultant, QA Senior Tester (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 5, 2016
Overall I learned a lot about how each Unit conducts their business within the Law department. A typical Day included working with Lawyers reviewing Enhancements and reviewing Integration scripts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern Less than a year
Internship (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 10, 2016
Fun place to work at. Not too many restriction. Many ways to learn and grow your self.
Each division is pretty self sufficient. So you wont know all the things mta does by working as an intern.
Management is friendly (been friendly to me).
Pros
Flexible. Great people
Cons
Little too flexible sometime.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Bridge & Tunnel Officer/NYS Peace Officer (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 6, 2016
good health insurance benefits and also good dental benefits along with vision benfits. Work place and co-workers are all nice
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drivers/operators environment
Bus transportation operator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 29, 2016
Drivers room have TV and pool table, soda machines and other refreshment accessory.

Relaxing environment among operators
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and fun place to work
bus driver (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 8, 2016
Report to the main office
Sign up for route assigned for the day
Inspect bus for safety issues
Drive the bus, pick up passengers and collect tokens, money or vouchers
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always meeting people from other countries and different cultures and improving custumer service skills. not an stressful job
Special Events Assistant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 3, 2015
It is a great company, our supervisor is very patient with our team and is giving us a excellent opportunity to improve our customer service skills. The hardest part is that we have to stand per periods of six and more hours.
Pros
excellent benefits for permanent employees
Cons
Special Events Assintants can not work more than 30 hours a week
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn the transit industry.
Operations & Human Resource Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 1, 2015
I spent my career at Metro, working, learning and developing an understanding of the transit industry. I was able to incorporate that knowledge at every agency I worked for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace great benefits
Traffic Checker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 20, 2015
You may work in any part of the city. You learn how quality control is done. Sometimes you work with others. The cold weather gets to you at times, But not always. Working independently.
Pros
Learning different task is rewarding
Cons
cold weather
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is good for making money if your a hustler
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 5, 2015
Can be a fun work place and can grow through the company. A heavy work load with a complicated schedule. Takes up a lot of your personal time when first starting because it is based off of seniority, but as time goes by you can advance.
Pros
Offers health and dental insurance, State employee badge, ridership, and available overtime
Cons
Some short breaks, split shifts, scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great workplace
Car Inspector (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 19, 2015
A great workplace that I truly enjoyed with great benefits. Its considered a city job with lifetime perks due to the medical coverage you receive even after retirement. One of the few jobs in the city that comes with a pension, free public transportation, and health coverage.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
College Aide Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 12, 2015
A great place to work. Friendly people. Good Management. Great Pay and Benefits. Room for improvement.Always willing to help.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
driver (Former Employee) –  baltimore mdOctober 5, 2015
The work place and rules are very oppressive. Its a do what i tell you or your fired kind of job. Workers have no say an anything and are not heard from the managers or supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 123 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7