MTC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lay back place to sork
Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, TXOctober 29, 2017
Short term experience. Uppleadership were fair. Had clean facilities. The pay was not what I wanted. People wete friendly and positive. Had needs to pick up shifts quickly and spontaneously.
Pros
Easy and relaxed work conditiins
Cons
Low pau
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours under stressful conditions.
Corrections Officer (Former Employee) –  Marion, OHOctober 9, 2017
Long work hours under very restrictive conditions. Strong chance of having to work 16 hour shifts. Lunch very brief and required to typically eat at desk in front of inmates. Does not require any education, just a high school diploma or GED.
Pros
Can make a great deal of money in overtime.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my career
Corrections Officer (Former Employee) –  OhioOctober 3, 2017
MTC didn't care about the employees. Will never work there again. The balance of life and family is horrible. Management never showed their employees any appreciation.
Pros
It was my career
Cons
Private organization for state prisons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressfull at times, Long hours
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Henderson, TXAugust 14, 2017
This can be a very stress full, while going through the training everything is great but once you get on the unit its a different ball game. Sometimes it really short staffed and that makes it hard on everyone.
Pros
None
Cons
12 hours shifts but only 30min breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly working environment
Staff (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAAugust 1, 2017
I love this company. A good place to work. It provides good benefits and a nice working environment to its employees and contractors. The company also provides good technologies(laptops, mobile devices, etc) to its employees to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Driver- pre (Former Employee) –  Diboll, TX 75941July 27, 2017
The worst place I have ever worked. Co-workers can't get along, supervisors break the rules more than inmates, never get raises, to much negativity and harassment from coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice enviorment and great workers
Intern (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 21, 2017
Enjoyed my time working and learning from my many co workers here. This a great job to work if you are trying to get on your feet and save money. Great job all around
Pros
Free food, Gifts, easy job
Cons
Very hot climate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 15, 2017
It was good experience for me . I went to job corps to learn and have experience in finance and business , and that's what I did and enjoyed it will doing it !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to be employed room for advancement.
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Raymondville, TXJuly 10, 2017
It was a great pleasure working for MTC because it offered good benefits like medical insurance, 401k, paid vacation, room for advancement within the company and employers were very informative of our jib duties.
Pros
Everything done was a pro.
Cons
No cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People at Job Corps but not so much MTC managment
Executive Secretary (Current Employee) –  Clearfield, UTJuly 10, 2017
Its difficult knowing that you have to renew your contract and you may be cut.
It is stressful because the MTC corporate office undercuts budgets.
they are the lowest paying contractor in their field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job for everyone.
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Lockhart, TXJune 18, 2017
Poor management and lack of room for advancement. Not very compassionate for their employees especially when restricted due to pregnancy and they also try to force employees to work longer shifts after they already worked 12 hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism and harassment
Library Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calexico, CAJune 7, 2017
No breaks or full lunch, retaliation.Many duties that are not in the job description, bad salary and special harassment from some Lt's and sergeants...
Pros
Some good people and free lunch
Cons
MTC follow the ISBN and SOP when there are inspections
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company will lay you off and will give you less than a week notice.
Detention Officer (Former Employee) –  Chaparral, NMJune 1, 2017
Advancement opportunities are slim unless Management feels they can mold you or if you don't have morals or ethics. Management claims to be "pro staff" however will side with inmates and bend over backwards for them even if it's deterimental for security.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
ALWAYS short staff therefore endangering ALL staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mtc is good company work for
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Livingston, TXMay 29, 2017
I work for mtc for two years and cec for five years I injoy being a correction officer I glad I got in this field I count twice a day feed once a day after a year I get eighty hours pro time I get free insurance
Pros
get three breaks 2 15 and 1 30
Cons
i dont get to sit down i on my feet 12 hours a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Janitorial Manager (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTMay 12, 2017
I loved working at the MTC. The people were wonderful. There was a great vibe there. You really feel like you are doing something good for the missionaries that are leaving.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Cleaning toilets
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Prison Nursing
RN (Former Employee) –  Post, TX 79356May 3, 2017
Mostly enjoyed my time there. Had a fantastic co-worker, and we worked very well as a team. Short staffed, so there was never enough time to get everything done. I didn't like the MTC Medical Corporate folks when they came to visit. This facility is slated to close in May/June 2017 by the Texas Legislature, so this review is really kind of useless.
Pros
Loved my co-worker
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a college
TEACHERS ASSISTANT WORK STUDY PROGRAM (Former Employee) –  Tifton, GAMay 2, 2017
This was a college. Moultrie Technical College. i Enjoyed attending this school myself. Had fun and lots of hands on training that actually helped you become a better student.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Dental Assistant Instructor (Current Employee) –  Harrisonburg, VAApril 10, 2017
I so enjoy teaching Dental Assisting I was hired on a temporary year to year basis and unfortunately the enrollment drop so there was not a need for my services
Pros
Staff
Cons
Not any
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproffesional work enviroment
Detention Officer (Former Employee) –  Raymondville, TXApril 4, 2017
Work environment very unprofessional, favoritism all around the facility a lot of unappropriated harassment towards many employees, staff is over worked and not acknowledged.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lousy correctional for profit employer
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Golden Valley, AZMarch 28, 2017
My opinion is that they just want to line their pockets and treat the workers terribly.. You couldnt have an outside life because they couldn't retain employees do to horrible treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MTC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 148 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5