Mullen Employee Reviews

Found 12 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a great time
Security (Former Employee) –  Benicia, CAMarch 18, 2016
All i would do is sit in a office read a book or play on my phone until the sun came up and i would turn on/off the light to light up the lot
Pros
i can sleep and be on my phone
Cons
worked 12 hours every night
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work environment
Assistant Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCJuly 4, 2015
Great place to work with a lot of very smart people that will always keep you on your toes.Be fully knowledgeable about Winston Salem prior to moving. Its a great, small city with charm, but a small city.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advertising and Marketing Professional (Mid-Level)
Senior Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 14, 2014
Results-driven advertising professional with experience collaborating across multiple disciplines and working with a wide range of industries, including health care, retail pharmacy, fashion retail, arts/culture, entertainment, non-profits, higher education and gaming. A non-linear problem solver, who is passionate about leading products and brands to a new level of success. Skilled with managing client relationships and the dynamics of a brand team. Also charged with project efficiency through budgets, timing, and other identified resources.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No26Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clients but will destroy your life outside of work
Associate Creative Director (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 7, 2013
Mullen is full of driven people with varying levels of talent. More thinkers than doers. They've won some great business and the work can be challenging and rewarding. But you will be expected to work 24/7 with little rest between projects. If you're up for it, you can go far at Mullen, but be prepared to work relentlessly.
Pros
good projects, pushed to innovate and achieve
Cons
zero work/life balance, promoting from within is rare
Was this review helpful?Yes49No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, casual environment with many employee benefits
Junior Digital Producer (Former Employee) –  Salem, NCApril 7, 2013
Mullen was a great company that focused a lot on the well-being of their employees. They always made sure that there were plenty of creative outlets for the employees to ease stress or tension away while working on tedious projects or long hours.
Pros
great catered lunches, subsidized meals, beautiful view, lot's of entertainment, friendly co-workers
Cons
diversity and cultural awareness
Was this review helpful?Yes12No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meat-grinder - churns through employees like water
Senior Print Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCJune 15, 2012
Let's just say that there are way more than 300 people that used to work at Mullen in Winston Salem. They fired the HR manager because of the poor results of the company survey.
Pros
subsidized lunches are provided in order to keep employees from leaving the building
Cons
10-12 hr days are the norm, weekends are unheard-of, forget your vaca if there is a pitch that is in conflict
Was this review helpful?Yes29No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management and worse hr dept.
lead (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAOctober 14, 2014
Fantastic coworkers, but that is overshadowed by how horribly the company is run. It's a Boston based company and they're trying to run it from the east coast. They have no idea what's going on internally and if you don't the it "the way we do it in Boston" then you are set up to fail and either fired or pushed out.
Pros
free food, great view of lax
Cons
hr is a joke.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full-service agency
Assistant Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCMay 2, 2012
A typical day would include strategic planning meetings and/or project status meetings, project management, budget reviews and daily client care.

Most of my experience came under the LHC banner. LHC was bought out by Mullen in late 2011.
Pros
nationally recognized agency
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes3No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive busy fun working enviorment
Broadcast Intern (Former Employee) –  Los AngelesJanuary 28, 2015
Great place to work. I learned so much there. Everyone is super friendly and always willing to teach you if you don't know.
Pros
free lunches free dinner drinks during meetings
Cons
none!
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was just an intern
Social Content Artist (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 21, 2014
But it was sweet. That was the job that got me really into Photoshop. I'm really thankful I ever landed that, even just for that summer. My boss taught me the basics that led me to an agency job. TRUTH!
Was this review helpful?Yes13No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst agency in all of NC
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCJanuary 11, 2013
When you do your research on Mullen, you find they are a top agency and have some decent clients. Then you realize that's just the Boston office. When you dig deeper and find out about the horrors they allow at their southern office in Winston-Salem, NC you will want to run.

1) The client list is terrible. They have second rate clients and are lucky to have that.

2) They are located in an area that has several national brands, but none of them want to work with them. HanesBrands is right down the road, but they can't win them as client. They lost the Bojangles pitch to a 10 person shop, they can't ever get past the first round with Lowes. VF is 30-40 minutes away and wants nothing to do with them and the list goes on.

3) They say they are creative, but they don't do great creative work. The creative director is sub-par and could be better, if him and his department weren't being hamstrung by mr Fitzgerald who is so scared to do anything out of the box. Who won an award for doing something in the box?

4) No job security. Basically you work scared for your job. They have layoffs at least once a year. The ones who do have job security are the shining stars of management. The ones they can push around, who will do their work for them, not speak their mind, kiss their a** and/or blackmail them.

Mullen WS is hiring right now, and my recommendation is to not work them. Unless you are looking to beef up your resume and move on to something better.
Pros
nice people, free parking, free food sometimes
Cons
very long hours, lazy management, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes30No2Report

See more Mullen reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2