Find companies:
MultiCare Health System
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

MultiCare Health System Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Core Values
Shipping & Receiving Supervisor (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAApril 21, 2014
What attracted me to MultiCare Health System is the values that they stood for which correlate with my personal values. Those values are stewardship, integrity, collaboration, kindness, excellence, and respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
RN (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAApril 16, 2014
Staff and charge nurses helpful and allow good coverage and good patient to staff ratio.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive on continuing education
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee), Tacoma/Auburn, WAFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: great connections in the medical community
Cons: limited residency programs
Started with Multicare as a Mary Bridge phlebotomist then bridged into Labs NW as phlebotomist/lab processor. Worked on/off with Multicare over a span of 13+ years. As I grew up, married, and started a family Multicare has been great. I obtained my LPN and worked in the outpatient Medical/Oncology clinic for 4.5yrs. Had the opportunity to worked with – more... the best MD's and Nursing staffs. I was responsible for starting a clinic from scratch and growing it into a thriving practice, tons of experience gained. I coordinated care for patients in the community and worked with professionals outside Multicare, for example:Doctors, Hospitals,clinics and scheduled appointments for patients to obtain local care for my patients. The hardest part of the job was leaving to obtain my RN. The most enjoyable part of my day was knowing that I was part of a team that helped medically fragile patients and families get through one of the hardest times of their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Linen Worker (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: benefits were great
Cons: not very helpful as an employee
most co workers were friendly, job is routine, which is nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good manager and nice place to work.
Billing Systems Analyst II (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: able to work from home.
Cons: parking lots
Co-workers are easy to work with and teach new procedures. Management always available to instructed when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and outgoing team to work with
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Tacoma, WADecember 28, 2013
Pros: great work enviornment
Cons: n/a
Working for Multicare was one the best experiences I have had so far, every employee that works for multicare work hard and care about the patients. I enjoyed working the providers who was willing to teach you about what was going on with a patient. The management at every clinic that I worked at was always working hard and ensuring that every employee – more... that came in was well taken care of and that the clinic was running as was required. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work.
Admin Assist-Engineering (Former Employee), Tacoma, WADecember 23, 2013
Pros: lots of time off
Cons: lots and lots of walking
Loved working with all types of people. I learned a lot of regulations that hospitals have and I loved volunteering for the patient advocacy group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decline
Information Intelligence Developer III (Current Employee), Puyallup, WADecember 1, 2013
You must be self-motivated and able to know your personal career path.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
full filing job
Insurance Follow Up Specialist II (Former Employee), Tacoma WANovember 18, 2013
The company is well established and treats their employees well.
But when down sizing it is hard to get another position wit in he company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong healthcare operating model focuses on quality
Director (Former Employee), Tacoma, WANovember 9, 2013
Multicare has made sound investment decisions especially as it relates to quality and it's IT infrastructure. Work environment however is very toxic which is demonstrated in low patient satisfaction and employee satisfaction. Arrogance abounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to get my career started
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAOctober 24, 2013
I worked with between 60-100 patients on a daily basis. I was the sole nurse for an Orthopedic Surgeon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MultiCare Health System was a fabulous to work at
Epic Enterprise Analyst (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAOctober 21, 2013
I started my IT career at MultiCare. They were great at advancing employees.

There was always quite a bit of turnover with the management while I was there which sometimes was difficult.

The benefits were great and flexibility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits package, manager required everyone to be cross trained which made my job interesting
Senior Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAJuly 24, 2013
Pros: management forums were held every quarter so that employees knew how the company was doing
Cons: hard to take breaks and cubicles were very small.
My manager was excellent to work for. She had open door policy and really listened to concerns or ideas. I enjoyed my job as a lead because it was never boring. Always invoices to pay, vendors to talk to, helping co-workers with their workload while they were away, cross training and learning different aspects of the department. Also, I dealt with different – more... departments within the company and answered their questions about vendor payments. Worked with procurement to assure invoices were correctly billed for payment. Hardest part of the job was waiting on managers to approve their department invoices for payment in a timely manner. Had to keep after them especially when discounts were involved. The best part of the day was when the phone didn't ring and I could actually get ahead in my workload. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I have ever worked.
Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee), Spanaway, WAMay 23, 2013
Pros: great team work
Cons: management did not listen to suggestions from any of its team members
Once I got to the clinic it was the most friendly, great atmosphere and everyone did their part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
CNA (Current Employee), Puyallup, WAApril 28, 2013
Pros: learning new things, benefits
Cons: bad attitudes from other people
Multicare is an excellent company to work for. I am always learning new things on the floor, I have learned how to perform CPR and take care of peticular patients needs. Management tries to problem solve. My hardest part of the job is learning how to figure out what my nurses expect of me. I enjoy the patient care and new challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very community oriented and proactive company
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAMarch 20, 2013
Pros: mutliple sites for employment opportunity
Cons: not as personal as a smaller sized corporation
MHS is a very large hospital system throughout the Puget Sound Area. It has made great strides in improving the outcomes of healthcare services to an expansive community. MHS offers a wide array of healthcare and health related services with exceptional service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad managers, highest regard for the bottom line over staff satisfaction.
RN (Current Employee), TacomaFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: good pay, staff
Cons: too many to say.
Some of the staff are fun to work with, but the gossip and back stabbing is out of control. My experience with the managers have been that they allow and encourage staff member's bad behavior to continue.. The managers that I have experience with have led with punitive styles. After working as hard and fast as you possibly can, the pressure to do more – more... is almost intolerable as well as unsafe. I have experienced public humiliation by a manager. I have always enjoyed my work, but never in over 30 years worked in such an awful place and am thinking about getting out of nursing completely. The management is currently in negotiations with the union and MB management is trying to take away our disability insurance, taking away benefits if one works less than a .7 FTE or have the ability to change health benefits with a 3 month warning, instead of every year. Bad deal! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Therapist (Former Employee), Puyallup, WAJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: everyone worked as a team.
Cons: no overtime, high stress environment
I enjoyed working with the team. I felt confident about coming to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wide variability of cultures/ethics across departments
nursing staff (Former Employee), Tacoma, WANovember 24, 2012
Pros: public environment appears clean, welcoming
Cons: short-staffing, inconsistent management policy, stressful work environment
Lots of politics. Stressful environment. Disorganization and inconsistency between managers, as well as with management styles. Employee self-evaluations in annual reviews are edited by some managers to reflect what they want stated. Increasingly fewer staff and increasing productivity and job requirements, with less supports to accomplish this. Cronyism – more... is rampant. Frequent changes in department managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Land of Opportunity
Perioperative Services Technician (Current Employee), Tacoma, WAOctober 28, 2012
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: poor management in some departments
I have worked for Multicare Health System for 6+ years. I began in food service and am now working in the operating room. The most enjoyable part of working for Multicare is the many opportunities for advancement. Multicare likes to promote within the company and offers tuition reimbursement for those looking to further their education. Amongst tuition – more... reimbursment Multicare also offers education within the company. I was able to take advantage of a health unit coordinator course offered to employees, free of charge. – less