Find companies:
Municipality of Anchorage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

Municipality of Anchorage Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic organization that serves the people of Anchorage Bourrough with support services
Employment Specialist (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: putting people in great careers.
Cons: too much computer work. it became almost like a data entry position.
The majority of my day was on the computer in People Soft screening applications. Forwarded selected candidates to Department Managers for review and interview. Accomplished hires (notification, hire paper work, gathered credentials, arranged in-processing).

Having just left the Air Force I learned the civilian staffing process and governing regulations – more... and Federal and state laws.

The hardest part of the job was being on the computer almost the entire day rather than interfacing more in person with candidates.

The most enjoyable part of the job was to selecting great employees and seeing them so happy to have landed a good job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
Dept. of Child Care Assistant (Former Employee), Anchorage, AlaskaApril 29, 2013
Pros: 9/80's
Cons: difficult to advance in the department
Fun to work, co-workers are nice.
Fast-paced, Chanllenging, Multi-National
Nice office
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-productive, Not Public Health
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Anchorage, AlaskaApril 16, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: poor work enviroment
negative enviroment, no support for your license, no raises,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for People Mover was a very rewarding job.
Transit Operator (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKFebruary 10, 2013
Pros: the most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that i was helping people by serving them.
Cons: the hardest part was dealing with customers determined to ruin my day.
A typical day as a People Mover bus driver started by acquiring
any important information affecting my driving duties such as
detours, accident, or police/troopers alerts.

After performing a ten-minute pre-trip inspection. I'd drive the
bus to one of several locations to start my shift transporting
customers to and from downtown on several fixed routes – more... throughout
Anchorage.

In addition to learning the technical aspects of becoming a better
driver, I learned the art of better customer service.

The management at People Mover, wheather in operations,
customer service, or maintenance were all top notch. They were
the right people in the right place at the right time.

Working with others who enjoyed serving the public was nice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding
Legislative Aide (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKJanuary 28, 2013
A typical day:

-Relaying constituent concerns
-Research
-Public speaking
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Parks Caretaker (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKJanuary 27, 2013
good job, 10 hour days 3 days off. good schedule. nice co workers. working outside is amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could improve
Senior Patrol Officer (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKAugust 14, 2012
Pros: health benefits
Cons: no promotional opportunities
Investigate and document incidents around he community that may require legal action. Respond to calls for service and assist community members that may be in crisis or require assistance. Being able to help and leave citizens with a desirable outcome is most rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Records Supervisor (Current Employee), United StatesAugust 7, 2012
Anchorage is a great city to live and work if you love the outdoors and record snowfalls. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people here who I work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent vocation with the ability to interact with various agencies
Communications Foreman (Current Employee), Maintenance and OperationsJuly 6, 2012
Pros: autonomy
Cons: climate, geographic isolation from other large metropolitan areas
Our division is the backbone of Anchorage Public Safety communications infrastructure. We as essentially the 911 for 911. Behind the scenes we maintain all critical equipment and administer large scale databases of emergency service subscribers as well as maintain all electronics equipment during ay to day operations.