Find companies:
Munson Healthcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

Munson Healthcare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Healthcare system in Northern Michigan
Executive Assistant/Office Manager (Current Employee), Traverse City, MIMay 22, 2014
Munson has been a very good place to work. My current management is excellent allowing me to grow and values my opinion. The pay is decent and benefits as well. My co-workers are second-to-none.

I can't really say there is a hard part to my job, I take things in stride, go with the flow and just try to do the best job that I can. I really enjoy all – more... the complexities of medicine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsibly run business
Critical Care Nurse (Former Employee), Traverse City, MIApril 29, 2014
Work schedule very flexible, able to do self scheduling. Easy to get time off for vacations. Job is always changing, hands on patient care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company to be
System Analyst (Current Employee), Traverse City, MIMarch 16, 2014
Very organized place and a very good team to work with. Complex environment but good relationships helps.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
RHIA, RN, Coordinator CDI (Current Employee), Traverse City, MichiganFebruary 27, 2014
Very nice place to work. People at this organization are exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Fascility
Registered Nurse in Emergency (Former Employee), Traverse City, MIJanuary 13, 2014
Busy 42+ Bed Level II Trauma Center. Very qualified staff and Doctors. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ONE OF THE BEST!
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Traverse City, MIJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: night cafeteria with pretty good, hard working employees, great cardiac physicians, good continuity of care, managers were respectful and hard working.
Cons: different floors have very different ways of doing things (breaks, patient care, management directions/rules)
Munson Medical Center is one of the best hospitals that I've been to. The cardiac unit is very up to date and utilizes the best cardiac physicians around the state and country. Patients come from all over to receive care from this facility. Being a part of the health care community at Munson was a great experience. Management on A4 was good. Manager – more... was very understanding but tough, used our unit as a guinea pig for new hospital interventions. It was very interesting. Co-workers were very hard working and had great critical thinking skills. On a cardiac floor, learning something new is a daily thing. The most enjoyable part of the job was utilizing critical thinking, working with patients and their families, and having hard working co-workers. The night could be crazy busy or a dead, depending on the time of year. Summer was always busier than winter. Usually I had 4-5 patients to take care of for the night. Started at 7pm, recieved report, started by introducing new new via bedside greetings, took care of loose ends from previous shift if able to, looked up patient information, did research, and took care of patients until 7am. Anything can happen at night, staying on your toes was important. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, no jobs
Respiratory Practitioner Intern (Current Employee), Traverse City, MINovember 16, 2013
Pros: good experiences, good teaching hospital
Cons: no jobs
Small community who fosters the Muskegon Community College R.T. program but can't employ their graduates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers but non competitive salary
Lab Tech III- ER (Current Employee), Traverse City, MINovember 2, 2013
Pros: the people and the ability to help those in need.
Cons: no set breaks due to low staffing and non competitive salary.
The people that I worked with became family and are the people you become closest to. Long 12 hour shifts in a fast paced working environment allowed for life long relationships to flourish. The hardest part of my job is the bad hours and unimpressive pay and lack of a break.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job...
Switchboard Operator (Current Employee), Traverse City, MINovember 1, 2013
Pros: mass coordination for patient care.
Cons: lack of career advancement
I've learned so much while working at Munson Switchboard. A typical day at work, is, using the phone and computer together, we answer all incoming calls to the hospital, transfer calls to doctor's offices, to departments in the hospital, page all the doctors. After hours answering service for all doctors affiliated within Munson Hospital. This position – more... can be stressful at times, because in the switchboard we handle all codes; code blue to code weather. Patients lives depend on our knowledge and urgency in handling code blues. Employees are confident in the switchboard staff, they depend on our skills we've mastered in assisting them in coordinating patient care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy place to work with some great supportive co- workers
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Traverse City, MIOctober 31, 2013
I worked at this company for many years. I started at a low paying unskilled position and worked my way up to a registered nurse. The environment is very chaotic most days because of discharges, admissions,and tests that require patients to be transported off the floor. I learned a lot about nursing. The direct supervisors ie charge nurses / coordinators – more... who still worked the floor or had not been remote from that position were very good. The rest of the management team had more of a focus on filling empty beds asap no matter what. The hardest part of the job was losing some benefits,and trying to manage the work load on the frequently heavy days by making sure that patients remained safe and received the quality care. The best part of the job was building some fantastic relationships with a variety of healthcare team members from housekeepers to Doctors that genuinely cared about people and demonstrated that through positive feedback, a good sense of humor and supportive action. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Munson experience
CMA (Former Employee), Traverse City, MIOctober 30, 2013
Pros: values, benefits, morals
Cons: management roles
Munson Medical Center and Group are both very nice and professional facilities. They have received many awards based on values, missions, and health care overall.
A typical day at work is very structured and detail oriented, however much of the problems among Munson relate to a lack of communication. Management has a hard time playing their role because – more... they are not typically one on one with their employees. I have found that they do not take the time to explain things in detail or explain errors and are instead very quick to point blame. The hardest part of the job is lack of communication. The director only takes into account what the manager relays which can get a bit frustrating when the manager is not paying full attention to all aspects. The most enjoyable part of the job is the patients and the coworkers. Munson has great values and works very hard to make each individual feel welcome. Management roles are difficult in every field and industry so it cannot exactly be a "Thumbs down" for Munson anymore than any other organization. With stronger efforts to fix those areas, Munson is an extremely pleasant place to grow. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life in the fast lane
Cardiac Progressive Care Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Traverse City, MISeptember 8, 2013
Extremely fast paced and stressful environment. Preceptors and management are great. Most people have to start on midnights.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Registered Nurse/charge nurse (Current Employee), Traverse City, MIAugust 27, 2013
Fast paced patient care setting. Overflow unit to the emergency department. Requires broad knowledge base for different types of patients. No two shifts are ever the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment.
Phlebotomy Technician (Former Employee), Traverse City, MIJuly 31, 2013
Pros: great management.
Cons: work hours.
Wonderful place to work. Learned more about proper management and better customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EEG lab is a great place to work;
Electroencephalographic technologist, student (Former Employee), Traverse City, MIJuly 15, 2013
Pros: challenging and friendly work atmosphere
Cons: compensation and benefits can be better
Munson Medical Center is located in a beautiful area of Northern Michigan. It is a great place to raise a family; good school system. EEG lab staff is a team; management is fair and considerate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work if you are looking to advance or gain more extensive experience
CERTIFIED SURGICAL TECHNOLOGIST (Former Employee), Traverse City, MIJune 20, 2013
Management is terrible and employee morale is very low. Employee turnover is very high due to poor morale caused by poor managerial skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my learing experience at Munson. As I became a new graduate to a very stable and established RN
RN Charge Nurse (Former Employee), Traverse City, MIJune 17, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: upper management issues as expected. not enough staff of course
Very demanding job but very rewarding everyday. Love taking care of patients and their families dealing with their private medical crisis.Hardest part of the job obviously was when you lost a patient and unfortunately that was a big part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst employer ever
RN (Former Employee), Traverse cityMay 9, 2013
If you don't mind sacrificing patient care to play political games and increase the profits of the hospital go ahead but count me out!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful workers w/ great team ethics, Bad Management
Mid Management (Former Employee), MMC Traverse CityFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: great employees/co-workers
Cons: management /communications
I had a wonderful experience over 18 years working with most all the other employees at MMC. Management is another matter. Stay under their radar if you wish to have a happy career there. Even those who work in the "trenches" then move up to managerial positions become insensitive, cut-throat, and unhappy people. I learned alot there about managements – more... lack of support, their closed door policy, and little concern for real issues that involve patients. The doctors are like everywhere, most are good, some bad, some complacent. I often thought they were unhappy with management too. Alot of benefits have been taken away from the employees and yes, these are hard times but if they are not careful the unions will return. Mid-management positions are very, very difficult. You get all the blame, non of the rewards and no assistance if you are struggling with issues. You can have a good career there but your job will always be at risk if you try to change anything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mercy HR Lies
Nothing (Former Employee), Cadillac MichiganJanuary 28, 2013
Applied for food service position and went through all job interviews only to be told position was filled already and then offered some low level cleaning job. Apparently job only listed to bring in people for cleaning. HR NEED SOME TRAINING IN ETHICS

May 16, 2013

Same here, manager of department wanted to hire me on the spot (but had to talk to the director who was out of town) was then told to go to HR (same day as interview) and request the Benefits Package so when they called with "THE" offer, I would be knowledgeable of same. Low and behold, after many games, "we decided to go with someone internally!" What a sham and waste of my time and theirs. Totally despicable!