Find companies:
Murphy Oil Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
481 reviews

Murphy Oil Corporation Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much work for little money
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 24, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: says there is advancement when really there isn't
as an assistant manager, you're pretty much a cashier with the title of assistant manager. they don't train you for what you need to do. Depending who your manager is they won't help you most of the time, and the labor and work put in is hardly recognized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
COuldn't even handle hiring process
Almost Hired (Former Employee), Hutchinson, MNJune 24, 2015
Pros: I wouldn't know
Cons: Incompetent Person in charge of Hiring Process at Store
I was interviewed and sent an email congratulating me on my offer of employment pending background/drug testing. I went and took my drug test waited a week then called to inquire if they got it back yet. – more... They did not. Another week went by. Called again. They said they couldn't access it and asked me several times for a tracking number. After a few more days I called the testing company who informed me the results had been sent during the first week I had called to inquire about it. They sent it again and told me if the employer did not receive it in an hour to have them call. Did that and called employer to let them know. They said they still didn't get it and asked for the elusive tracking number AGAIN. I gave them every number I had down to the specimen number and all other numbers from the form given at the clinic. I have not heard from them since I gave them that info and it has been another 2 weeks. I live a clean lifestyle and have always passed background checks and drug tests, so I know it is not something I did. If you are applying at Hutchinson, MN don't expect competence. I told this person I had already put in my 2 weeks notice at other job and only had 2 days of it left. They never even bothered to tell me I might not want to leave my old job yet, they just let me end up without a job at all.
I have heard from others that people quit within weeks. I am not surprised. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned value of teamwork
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Jonesboro, ARJune 23, 2015
Pros: Fine tuned my cash handling and problem solving skills
Cons: Not enough training for job
I was asked to assume temporary management of store during a time the store manager was on medical leave. The hardest part of this time was the challenge of dealing with other managers. This occurred – more... before I had completed my first 90 days of employment. It was demanding but rose to the challenge even though I did not have all the tools I needed at the time. I enjoyed most of my coworkers but its a transient type of work force. I would still be there but family obligations caused me to relocate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away.
cashier (Current Employee), localJune 19, 2015
Pros: customer interaction
Cons: no breaks bad management low pay
I should have taken all of the bad reviews into better consideration. I gave the company the benefit of the doubt and maybe my location would be better than theirs. I was very wrong. First day consisted – more... of video testing which were more time consuming than challenging. After that I was sent home and to come in the next day for hands on training. I watched someone run the register for how ever many hours. Within a few days of very poor training I was set to close alone and always work alone. Which normally I wouldn't mind but all the tasks they expect you to preform is way more than just one person. You are not able to give your customers the attention they deserve. There is also no breaks which would be fine cause if you're a cashier you are only allowed to be hired on as part time. But the hours you work are long and just several days out of the week. Management is extremely poor, I've never been treated like a nobody till I started working here. The company is number one in their eyes but when they tell you customers are number one. It's very flip flop, I guess could be the best way to say it. If it's your first job I say go for it till you find something better. It's definitely not a great company to work for in my eyes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed being with the regular customers.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Johnson City, TNJune 18, 2015
Pros: Enjoyed learning everything.
Cons: Corp didn't care about the people out in the work field.
It depends on what day of the week it was that I was really needed. I was able to learn so much over the past 5 years. I was able to go to other store to help clean and reset them. I helped other stores – more... out by getting them staffed. I enjoyed my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was finding really good help for part-time cashiers for under 25 hours per week. People didn't won't to do the work for 25 hours or less a week. Because they had a lot to do on there shifts. I enjoyed my regular customers more than anything. They really made my day when I was able to see them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable but very demanding job.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Quincy, ILJune 17, 2015
Pros: Meeting new people was a pro at my job.
Cons: Being left to do many chores while trying to assist and checkout customers.
I was responsible for counting the deposit, doing the data entry, stocking and cleaning. I liked working with the customers. I learned many things such as entering invoices, managing money and overseeing other employees. The hardest part was working entirely alone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked and underpaid
Cashier (Former Employee), Delray Beach, FLJune 17, 2015
Put simply, one is expected to work themselves to the brink of insanity while simultaneously being kept comfortably under the poverty line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In my experience, horrible place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Reidsville, NCJune 14, 2015
While there is the benefit of flexible scheduling, in my experience, management was atrocious, advancement was slim to none, and they lost an employee out of me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
great corporateon (Former Employee), Meraux, LAJune 12, 2015
Pros: good pay
Cons: contract ended
This job taught me responsibility. As it was one of my first jobs after I graduated high school.
start off the day with assignment from my boss.
hardest part was trying to fit lunch in
Pay check was most enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Experiance
Retail Site Manager (Former Employee), Thornton, COJune 11, 2015
Pros: Companies interest in the employee
Cons: Lack of consideration for Managers
- 100% Face to Face Customer Service

- Gained experience in Scheduling, Hiring, Training, Disciplinary Actions, Inventory Management, Vendor Communications, Bill of Lading, P & L's, INIR's

- Management – more... was by the book but was allowed to make own interpretations

-Co-workers were committed to Goals set by Management

- Hardest part of the job was hiring good and committed personnel

-Most enjoyable part of the job was completing tasks – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sale Associate (Current Employee), Clarksville, TNJune 8, 2015
Pros: Flexible schedule
Cons: Not enough hours
Positive energy how to produce sells while maintaining a safe environment with loyal coworkers, multitasking is the only partial difficulty I experience and the most enjoyable part of the day making sure all my customers are satisfied
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Mansfield, TXJune 4, 2015
Pros: Great team members, reasonable hours
Cons: no breaks, no insurance for part time
have a great interaction with customers day to day. Learn many different things from fixing equipment to how to handle invoice deliveries. Managers are always willing to help work around your schedule, – more... help with tuition reimbursement, and advance in the company. Your co-workers become like family, help each other out with completing task and any other issues that my come about. there is nothing really hard about this job. the most enjoyable part about this job is being around great people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Fun
Cashier/Stocker/Maintenance (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 3, 2015
Very easy going and flexible hours. No breaks, but you have down time when it's not busy. Rapid growth, creating excellent advancement opportunity. Quality of life, transparency from top down. Principles and Core competencies create a phenomenal culture. Upper management truly cares about all team members. You can pick up the phone and call any of them and they will give you their time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poorly ran and operated.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Hot Springs, ARJune 2, 2015
Pros: I can't really think of one
Cons: Do not work here if you want to see your family.
The corporate office has no idea how the stores are operated but they still believe they know it all and will not listen. This forces you to not only put in 80 hours a week in for your normal obligations, but now you have to spend another 20-40 hours a week on projects created by people who have no idea how a store operates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace was not that enjoyable
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAJune 2, 2015
Pros: discount on drinks
Cons: bad mamagement
my typical day at work was getting on the register doing transactions and cleaning i ,learned how to use different tools on the register and how to deal with customers on a regular basis.I really did – more... not like the management did to much like the attitude she had and very unorganized my coworkers were great we got along just fine. the hardest part of the job was dealing with customers that cursed you out daily the most enjoyable part was working with my coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High demand, low compensation
Manager (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INMay 30, 2015
Pays the bills !!!
Does not give an adequate representation of what goes on in the store.
You have to do all the work and customers suffer because the company does not want to spend a little more for employees to be present.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
POOR MANAGEMENT TEAM
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Tiffin, OHMay 29, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: see review
i was hired to be an assistant manager. i never received any true manager training. i was expected to close alone receive a truck and train another employee after 3 days of working. i was called the next – more... morning and when i said hello i got "what the **** happened last night" and during another instance my hand was smacked because i deposited a bill facing the wrong way. the manager is completely inappropriate with customers and employees and its a very unprofessional work environment. family was harassed when i had an emergency out of state about my whereabouts although i had spoken to the store and district manager. after i quit to manager and district manager, i was continually called and my family that went to the store was questioned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fun workplace
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Inverness, FLMay 28, 2015
Pros: Interaction with customers
Cons: Communication isn't always the greatest between management and crew
Depending on the shift because I open, close, and work the mid-shift as well. It can range from opening the store, doing paperwork (hand-held system, updates, processing invoices, preparing orders and – more... P&L, sending in orders), doing audits, counting the safe and lottery. Going to the bank, and taking care of customers. Mid-shift, stocking products, cleaning and taking care of customers. Dealing with vendors and orders, taking care of the pumps, and changing filters if needed. Changing price signs if needed and updating customers on upcoming specials and current specials. Closing shift, locking up merchandise, end of the night paperwork, closing the register and getting things ready for the next day. Making sure the store and parking lot are clean and pumps are functioning properly. My favorite part of this job is the interaction with the customers and I learn new things every day. The hardest part of the job is keeping up with the changes. I run the store whenever the store manager is on vacation and still after being there for awhile I still constantly learn so many things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management completely unorganized, very little training
Cashier / Personal Slave (Former Employee), LouisanaMay 27, 2015
This was by far the worst company I have ever worked for. Unless you're somebody who's desperate for the money I would definitely not even bother. First off, I was shocked when I was called for an interview, – more... showed up, and wasn't asked a single question about my work ethic or work experience. The manager literally told me how they run the store and asked if it was job I could do. So I had somewhat figured that since that was the case the other people he hired could very well be lazy and incompetent but took the job anyways because my husband and I were struggling. I was "trained" within a couple days. Watched some videos then thrown on a register.No hands on training or nearby help whatsoever. Then my manager would get irritated with me for constantly asking him questions about how to do things in fear of doing it on my own and doing it wrong and getting yelled at. After a few weeks my manager decided that I was the hardest worker he had, so he asked me to do everything, while my coworkers sat around talking and taking smoke breaks every hour. This wasn't a kiosk. It was a 24 hour walk in. So there is constantly work to be done. It got to the point to where my manger would call me in or ask me to stay late because he didn't trust the people scheduled to run the store. I was even asked to stay to show the assistant manger,who you would think would know more than I did since he makes plenty more, how to run the store. My hard work ethic was pretty much taken advantage of because my manager didn't feel like firing all of the useless workers to find somebody who will do their job right. I eventually quit because it got to the point to where I was always being called in to babysit all of my coworkers and I was sick of my hours being changed and not being notified. Basically from my experience all I learned is that the Murphy I worked for is run by a bunch of lazy, unorganized people who take advantage of hard workers to make their job easier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Kilgore, TXMay 26, 2015
I enjoy my co-workers and they make my day fun. The hardest part is when customers are having a bad day and take it out on me.

1 2 3 4 5

About Murphy Oil Corporation

Murphy Oil Corporation (Murphy) is a worldwide oil and gas exploration and production company, with refining and marketing operations – Read more

Murphy Oil Corporation Salaries

Cashier
$8.75 per hour
Assistant Manager
$10.25 per hour
Store Manager
$37,000 per year
Assistant Manager
$23,000 per year
Cashier/Customer Service
$8.75 per hour