Find companies:
Murray Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Murray Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Security Guard (Current Employee), Johnson City, TNJuly 5, 2014
An enjoyable job just long and boring hours. If you can have a book or something to keep you busy in between your rounds you will be fine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job but expect too much..
Guard (Former Employee), Montgomery alabamaMay 28, 2014
Pros: easy money
Cons: management does not care about families and expects you not to care also.
The job is very easy but if you have a family expect them to come second to the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok hours pay was nice, good work envoirment
Security Guard (Former Employee), Security, COMay 21, 2014
Pros: good hours, great pay
Cons: finding something to do was hard
the hours were ok, great pay like the supervisors did mostly hourly log reports, building searches fixed and foot patrol, camera surveillance hardest part of the job keeping from being bored, keep from
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs better supervision at staffing level
Security Guard and On-site Supervisor (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNMay 4, 2014
Enjoyed working there, but needed better leadership at top levels.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, work
Security Officer (Former Employee), Norcross, GAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: working
Day to day at work was great. Customers and employee on the average was great. Treating people the way you want to be treated helps a lot. My managers was pretty nice a very understandable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
probably would not sugest this company to friends or family to work at
Security Officer (Current Employee), Johnson City, TNJanuary 23, 2014
Cons: not a hard job
Working for this comapny has given me more experiance in the security guard/officer field
However I cant say much positively about my most recent direct supervisor or area supervisor. other then that it was a good experiance.
there was nothing hard about the job and the most enjoyable aspect of the job was some of the coworkers were nice to talk to – more... at shift change – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job but they expect to much for the payrate.
Post Supervisor (Current Employee), Berea, KYNovember 15, 2013
Too many chiefs and not enough Indians and until they get that under control there is always going to problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People here are great
Lieutenant (Former Employee), Nashville, TNOctober 15, 2013
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: no cons
Loved working

became supervisor in a short period of time

enjoyed the overtime
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee), Nashville, TNSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: great pay
I loved working for this company. They were very understanding when problems happened and gave me no problems .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee), Berea, KYSeptember 15, 2013
Pros: schedule
Cons: pay
I worked here for over a year. It was 5 days a week and laid back. I had plenty of time for family and friends. The pay was not the best but over all an ok place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The clients site is very dangerous and out in the very rual area of the city.
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 6, 2013
Pros: federal contract
Cons: no free lunch
Murray Guard would be a better job if the management team was more honest and productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours few days off.
Armed Guard (Current Employee), Erwin, TN.June 25, 2013
Pros: equipment furnished
Cons: few breaks not much time off.
High paying job with few benefits. Long hours job duties are mostly classified. Most coworkers young gun ho ex military. Requalification's get harder to pass each year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
EMT/ Fire Officer (Former Employee), Decatur, ALJune 9, 2013
Pros: people
Cons: no healthcare
Emergency medical services and firefighting is very interesting. I learned a lot about different aspects to firefighting. All of my co-workers were great to work with. The hardest part of the job would have to be climbing the 500 foot straight ladders to inspect the fire extinguishers on the cat walks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 stars
Security Officer (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMay 29, 2013
Pros: met chris, good trainer, good guy, new friend
Cons: they are average security company!
they required 5patrols per 12 hr shift,wont let rover hang out n guard shacks even for a little while.4 patrols is enough,nobody going to come out to the middle of nowhere to mess with anything out there! one member of mgmt. unreasonable and not the best fit for the job!! hardest part was fighting boredom and giving them ur time for so little pay!i – more... enjoy guarding and securing things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure and Safe
Gate/Factory Guard (Former Employee), Somerset, KYMay 4, 2013
Providing security and safety to the company and staff as a whole and individually.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviorment alot of nice people.
Security Guard (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 30, 2013
Excting work enviorment I learned alot of search and saftey procedures. Management was great in teaching and understanding. Co-workers where very excited to come to work just as much as me.The hardest part to me was trying not to overwork, space out work for the week and try not to do everything in one day. The best part for me was to excel and learn – more... most positions because its exciting to me to beable to be as much of assistance as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they are a joke
i would not work for frauds (Former Employee), noneApril 18, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: list is to long
They do not investigate complaints believe liars,let employees call boyfriends and report about the what goes on at the site they work at. Do not train their armed properly. I would not let this piece of work protect my dead dog let alone a nuclear power plant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of Hours Available
Security Guard (Current Employee), Homewood, ALApril 15, 2013
Always have extra hours when needed to work. They are willing to work with you on your schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job to support family or make a living
Guard (Current Employee), Louisville, KYMarch 28, 2013
Pros: not one single thing
Cons: this company should be shut down
Overall, horrid company to work for. I have worked for the company for 5 years and these are my experiences: Never have gotten a raise, work every weekend, holidays, midnights (no family life), was laid off for a year, notified by note by the contracted company I worked for, not Murray Guard (no security) stripped me of my 3 weeks vacation I worked – more... for once took bid back I was laid off from (no respect), medical packages are not affordable, management is very unorganized and on a power trip, no chance for advancement/raises (after 5 years, they told me they couldnt give me a 10 cent raise), wont listen to post problems, took 7 months to get a jacket. When you do take a vacation, you dont get paid when you take it. They pay by your last name. So if your last name is Young, you get paid around Sept. You can take your vacation in June but will be like your calling off sick, no pay. I could go on and on. To be short, you are better off working at Mcdonalds. Murray Guard doesnt pay much better, if not the same, but at least at Mcdonalds you have:flexible schedule, raise and advancement oppurtunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work looking to grow make more money
Security Officer (Current Employee), Cookeville, TNFebruary 20, 2013
Its good days for the most part. No room to advance or get raises.