Find companies:
Murray State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Murray State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. I understand why it was rated by the Chronicle of Higher Ed as one the "Great Colleges To Work For"
Director of Human Resources & Lecturer (Current Employee), Murray, KYJuly 3, 2014
Nice people. Hard workers. HR is fast-paced with smart people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Review
Student Worker (Current Employee), Murray, KYJune 30, 2014
On a typical day at work, I run errands for my boss, answer phones and office work (fax, copy, and scan documents).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to go to school and to teach.
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Murray, KYJune 27, 2014
As a graduate teaching assistant, I taught one class per semester. It was a great experience. The professors in the math department are great teachers and very understanding human beings. The hardest part of the job was motivating students in an intermediate level math class. The most enjoyable aspect was being able to teach a class at the university – more... level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University Setting
Purchasing Agent (Former Employee), Murray, KYJune 24, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: low pay
I enjoyed working for Murray State. The people were wonderful to work with and the position that I had allowed me to work with everyone on campus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Maintenance (Former Employee), Murray, KYJune 2, 2014
a typical work day learn to management and cooperate with my co-workers and relize th hardest part of the job such as dealing with people is not hard at all because the dealing with the people is the most enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.....................................................................................................................
IET& Interior Design Amabassador (Former Employee), Murray, KYMay 15, 2014
................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Murray, KYMay 14, 2014
I spent my office hours grading papers and assisting students. I enjoyed working with my office suite mates and the camaraderie we shared. The hardest part of the job was leaving it. I really enjoyed every aspect of teaching and working with the students. If I had to say there was a difficult part, it would be writing retention notices for the students – more... not doing their work or showing up for class. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good school
Student Registered Nurse Anesthetist (Former Employee), Murray, KYApril 6, 2014
Professional and friendly staff
Good preparation for future employment as CRNA
Enjoyed rotations in various areas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Murray, KYFebruary 3, 2014
It was a training situation so I got lots of interaction with students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benifits at first
Custodian (Former Employee), Murray, KYJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: had a lot of days off with pay
Cons: we got a 2% cut in pay
We had certain areas that we cleaned. I learned how to clean my area and have it done by the time i went home. I didn't see management a lot. We helped other co-workers when they needed it . There were not really any hard parts to the job. I liked keeping my area clean. I just was thankful to have a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide assistance in any way needed.
Assistant to the Director of Housing (Former Employee), Murray, KYJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: worked a school schedule
Cons: grant based position.
Managed a work crew of 12 students and performed light maintenance repairs on campus and well as safety checks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok work place
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Murray, KYDecember 10, 2013
Cons: healthcare was good
murray state is a good place but some of the workers do not like to work. I had been there for almost 10 years and now trying to find something closer to home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Summer Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Murray, KYNovember 7, 2013
great,university setting. Meet lots of different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work.
Environmental Safety & Health Intern (Current Employee), Murray, KYOctober 28, 2013
Typical work day included checking on the fire extinguisher maintenance program, determining when the hazardous chemical needed to be picked up and stored, file detailed records of inspection, OSHA & EPA documentation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I great organization culture, very fast pace and fun
Basketball camp mentor (Former Employee), kentuckyOctober 28, 2013
Teaching kids the game of life and basketball. The most enjoyable part of the job is being around the kids and seeing how happy they were to get better and see us counselors everyday. I learned that you don't know how much impact you can have on someone life until its done. My co-workers were enjoyable to be around and management was good. A typical – more... day at work was basketball 24/7. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where I found my passion for research
Qualitative Research Assistant (Former Employee), Murray, KYOctober 19, 2013
Pros: research experience
Cons: low pay
I spent most of my time organizing and analyzing data into computer software programs. I was also able to participate in coalition meetings and focus groups. My professor was my mentor and was very helpful in teaching me the basis of research. The most enjoyable part was networking with community members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a student worker
CTLT Help Desk Technician (Former Employee), Murray, KYOctober 9, 2013
Going to college and working can be a challenge, but MSU worked around my schedule and allowed me the time needed to advance my degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Desk Work
Commentator & Production Assistant (Former Employee), Murray KySeptember 17, 2013
Go in, sit at a desk and get paid what could be better. Really it was a great college job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling career
Adjunct Lecturer (Current Employee), Murray, KYSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: working in education
Great institution to be apart of. There is a great since of school spirit and the university is genuinely interested in students' education. There are several campuses including the new Paducah campus set to open in spring 2014.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great perk and benefits....
Groundskeeper (Former Employee), Murray, KYSeptember 10, 2013
worked there for seven years and was able to save a lot while my son attended the university.