Find companies:
Muscular Dystrophy Association
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
92 reviews

Muscular Dystrophy Association Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muscular Dystrophy Association Review
Fundraising Coordinator (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYApril 9, 2014
Pros: community interaction, work atmosphere, job duties
Cons: temporary
At the MDA I started each day with a meeting to encourage and inform my donor recruiters of the days goals. We went over numbers and pitch performance to enhance the days outcomes. I would then check correspondence and notes, as well as contact donors to see their progress in fundraising for our upcoming events. I also contacted local community business – more... to inform them of our cause and see if they would like to donate for any MDA event.
The management was amazing. I was lead by a very capable and friendly woman who I worked well with. My co-workers were all very open and friendly, and were there if I ever needed anything.
The only difficult part of this job was knowing it was only a temporary position and that I wouldn't be able to stay on.
I loved everything about this job, from interacting with co-workers and community members, to organizing fundraising events. The greatest part was working for a non-profit that served such an important cause. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Health Care Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Tucson, AZMarch 19, 2014
Pros: x
Cons: x
Worked in various areas, learning a tremendous amount in each one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and friendly
Customer Service Representative and Recruiter (Current Employee), Milwaukee,WI.February 27, 2014
Pros: friendly people
Cons: not stable
Working hard and helping changing people life. I like it but the hrs. are not full time and not stable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Contractor (Former Employee), Denver, COFebruary 12, 2014
Competition!!! Love daily goals and games played.. Love the joy of communication among team players and management..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the mission, but that was all
Health Care Services Coordinator (Former Employee), Portland, ORFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: the families you serve.
Cons: management is ridiculous and embarrassing.
If you can ignore the fact that you will be micro-managed and treated like a teenager by someone that doesn't understand your job and is supposed to.
If you don't mind constantly having to send your boss emails and information about what you are doing to help them understand and they don't bother to read any of it and they still continue to give you – more... grief.
If you can let go of the fact that you will try and try for work/ life balance, and still get to spend early mornings, nights and weekends making sure that you do all the things on your list that need to be done without the support of the rest of the team.
If you can't wait to put thousands of miles on your own car and pay for work related purchases on your own credit card.
If you don't mind having no salary increase or being discouraged in trying to advance.
Then you will love the MDA as a Health Care Services Coordinator. The only reward is the families that you help but they are even treated like second class people by the "fundraising" team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest experience of my life!!
Sales/Community Services (Former Employee), San Juan, PRFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: everything !
I loved working for the MDA , you make a difference in someones life. It also allows you to speak and to meet different lines of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary
Volunteer Recruitment Coordinator (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIJanuary 29, 2014
Temporary job not enough time to get to know any employees. Fun, and independent work place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced Work Environment for Goal-Oriented Individuals
Fundraising Coordinator (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: good training, benefits
Cons: long hours
There are many opportunities for advancement due to hard work and dedication. This is a fast-paced working environment and demands a strong dedication to the cause. The job involves multi-tasking and juggling multiple projects concurrently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great temp work environment.
Volunteer Recruitment Coordinator (Former Employee), North Haven, CTJanuary 21, 2014
I really enjoyed my time at Muscular Dystrophy raising funds for the Lock up program. It was very organized we met every day before the shift and when we finished. The hardest part of the job was not being able to leave any personal information or email information to high level clientele. I was able to bring on some great people from referrals I asked – more... for. I liked the work environment and our direct supervisor was very positive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping Colorado families that struggle with Muscular Dystrophy
Event Planning Intern (Former Employee), Denver, COJanuary 10, 2014
I have volunteered many years in the office and was offered an intern position this summer. I was able to plan five watch parties for the MDA regions in CO and one in WY. The people that work at the MDA are sincere and love their mission. The families a part of the MDA are also amazing and just so loving. The management it ran very smoothly and everyone – more... is willing to help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place never any down time.
Volunteer Work (Current Employee), Boynton Beach, FLJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: free food
A typical day at MDA is very fun, there is food and always something to talk about with my peers. I learned that work is fun really. My co-workers are nice friendly people and there is no hardest part of the job but the most enjoyable part of the job is showing up because there is always something to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MDA
Healthcare Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Seattle, WADecember 26, 2013
Good people, good cause. Not much room for movement upwards, cuts are happening like in any non-profit. The work you do is rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and it was a fun place to work
Customer Service Representative II (Former Employee), Charleston,SCDecember 18, 2013
Pros: good friends
Cons: low pay
I enjoyed meeting new people. I enjoyed helping those in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and up beat environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Atlanta, GADecember 17, 2013
My day would begin at 9:00am. I would typically begin with a phone call confirming and getting pickup times from fundraiser participants. I would go to events to help assist with the fundraising. I learned that I was working for a wonderful cause. My co-workers very helpful. The hardest part is when a future participant would cancel. The most enjoyable – more... part was helping to raise the money for such a wonderful cause. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emotionally rewarding place to work
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Hawthorne, NYDecember 16, 2013
Due to being a non-profit organization my typical day would vary depending on the needs of those served. My day would consist of handling the accounts payable/receivable, assisting individuals, the office organization and anything needed for upcoming fundraising events. I enjoyed the most being involved with those MDA served and being a part of the – more... fundraising events. The hardest part of my job was learning of those MDA served passed away. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helps people
Administrative Assistant / Grant Liaison (Former Employee), Evansville, INDecember 16, 2013
I enjoyed helping the families that are affected by MD. It was a very satisfying job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
answering phones
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LADecember 9, 2013
Pros: phone calls
Cons: long hours
ansering phones trying to get as many pledges as we can in a 8mhour day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating management and environment
Fundraising Coordinator (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OkNovember 21, 2013
Pros: most co-workers were very nice
Cons: never backed up from management, lots of night & weekends
Fundraised for our AMAZING MDA families
I learned how to work in an enviroment that I did not agree with
My co-workers were great. It is sad most of them are unhappy because of the management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated Employees work with no reward.
Executive Director (Former Employee), OhioOctober 21, 2013
Pros: make a difference for those you serve.
Cons: benefits are terrible, expensive, and not all emcompasssing, pay very low compared to other non profits, no structure, no policies. a child association pretending to be an adult.
Job description says 35 hours a week. On average, you will work between 60-70 if you would like to remain employed. There are antiquitated forms for fundraising that consume your day and you have no ability to give feedback or improvement strategies on the "Core Four". Management is often imcompetent due to lack of training and only hiring from within – more... (while this is often a quality many look for in an employer, MDA will not hire from outside to even find a qualified individual for field work mid levels.) The saving grace were the co-workers. They were reliable and consistent, and we were like family. Our common bond was the fear or losing our job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MDA
Fundraising Administrator (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAOctober 14, 2013
Unfortunately this organization does not live up to its Mission Statement. Clients and employees are not cared for the way they deserve.

1 2 3 4 5

About Muscular Dystrophy Association

The Muscular Dystrophy Association (MDA) is a not-for-profit health agency that supports research into more than 40 neuromuscular – Read more