Muskegon Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 20 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Place to work
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIMay 22, 2015
MCC is an exceptional place to work. The people are all kind and friendly, and teachers are professional and helpful. The campus is beautiful.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Registering For Classes is Fun!
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIDecember 31, 2014
Helping students daily apply for Federal Aid and getting familiarized on Campus was the most exciting ever! I love helping people and career advancement is very exciting.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIDecember 15, 2014
Good environment to work in with good management and co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get office experience
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MISeptember 16, 2014
I learned that as a receptionist for the Vice President of a college it is mandatory to have a friendly smile and outgoing personality.
Pros
long lunches
Cons
was only temporary
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work While Attending Classes
WORK STUDY (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIJune 5, 2014
The ability to be patient and work with fellow students is a must. Accurate filing is very important to this position. Management is very kind and accommodating to employee needs.
Pros
allowed to do homework while working
Cons
flat pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MichiganSeptember 20, 2013
The head of the tutoring center is very pleasant and does a great job with all the students that visit. MCC is very helpful in all areas of your education and they are there to help you succeed.
Pros
helping others is reward itself
Cons
couldn't do it full time
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful enviroment and socialization
RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MISeptember 5, 2013
I worked in the Muskegon Community College Tutoring Center as the Reception. I enjoyed working on the computer and helping the students out everyday.
Pros
talking with different people
Cons
the supervisor was not very helpful, other employeess were not friendly. the employess killed my enjoyment on the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BUSY! BUSY! BUSY!
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIJuly 11, 2013
Nice people. Very helpful. Organized and great place to work and get your foot in the door if you like working as a secretary. I really enjoyed this job!
Pros
very organized
Cons
work study job
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student employee, work study
Student Employee (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIMay 6, 2013
My schedule was based around my academics. I learned to be more of a people person when interacting with patrons and staff. Management gave a lot of advice to young adults like myself. My co workers were students like I was. The hardest part of the job is when there isn't much going on in the library, it can get boring. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping out patrons.
Pros
flexible scheduling
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional production
Generalist (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIApril 8, 2013
A typical day at work will be being kind and helpful to everyone knowing the daily functions of the workplace and following through with productions. I learned that everyone is not going to be kind to you, but it makes the workplace better if you show gratitude and compassion for others and be mindful of others culture. I believe managment should follow out the orders of the boss and makes sure everyone is on board with recommendations. Care for others and their concerns if they were your own and maintain clean and safe environment for work. I dont feel a job is hard unless its straining on your body, but its best to perservere throughout the job and be dependable for other employees. The most enjoyable part of a job is meeting new people and understanding their background and how I can help
Pros
diversity
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Spanish Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Muskegon, MIApril 7, 2013
Great Place, great people, wonderful ambience.
Working at MCC has been a great place for me. I love how people treat each other there. It is a good college.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customer service
OIT Office Student Technician (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIFebruary 13, 2013
We handled staff requests and incidents that had problems with their work computers and fixed them. Ran media requests, setup labs, install new computers, take old computers out.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to work here
Administrative Application Specialist (Former Employee) –  Muskegon MIJanuary 28, 2013
Values are high, usually flexible with time. My co-workers were awesome. Hardest part of the job was being outsourced.
Pros
very friendly and layed back
Cons
not stable with state funding
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIDecember 30, 2012
Customer service and helping students register for classes. Organizing folders and guiding students through the application process for loans.
Pros
teach finances
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place that I was part of the Learning Experience.
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIOctober 17, 2012
Muskegon Community College was a wonderful place to work. Since I worked at night, I didn't meet all my collegues. Those I did meet were very helpful in entering the school of higher education. I feel the hardest part of my job was creating lessons that met the needs of "all" my students. The greatest joy was meeting and touching the lives of students(15-25).
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIAugust 21, 2012
I was a student worker at MCC. It was a great opportunity for me to gain experience in the field in which I was studying. I loved my supervisor and co-workers. My only regret is that the job only lasted while I was a student. I would have loved to make a career at MCC.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIAugust 20, 2012
I enjoyed my time at Muskegon Community College in the call center.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work and learn!
Helpdesk/Lab Services Technician (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIJuly 8, 2012
Nice Co-workers, great enviroment, up to date mangement.

Was able to both work and learn at MCC.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the students was great
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIFebruary 14, 2012
I enjoy helping connect the theoretical with the practical. All my evaluations from the students were above average to excellent.
Pros
students
Was this review helpful?Yes No 

Overall rating

4.8
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture