Find companies:
MV Transit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
231 reviews

MV Transit Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Care not to say
Bus Driver/Customer Service (Current Employee), FairfieldApril 8, 2014
Care not to say I can answer during an interview its a cool place to work if you wanna get back in the workforce
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for retired
driver (Current Employee), denverApril 8, 2014
Good job for retired people other then that you have no life really long hours no part time. they fire you for almost anything. Co workers are friendly some not most. Nice thing is you meet different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HOSTILE company in Austin
Administrative (Former Employee), AustinApril 5, 2014
Pros: only the union can protect you if you are allowed in it.
Cons: long hours, poor pay, stressful, to much work for one person.
The management is antagonistic and they do not hire many people. This leaves a person overloaded on work. They are a cheap company and hostile with employees. The head manager hates the union in place and said "If I am going down, everyone else is going down with me." If you also want your personal information for location in Austin to stay confidential, – more... stay far away! This place is full of gossip! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Call Center Representative (Former Employee), Dallas, TXApril 3, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: no employee parking
Co-workers were great, time went by fast, work was easy. I learned how to take a large number of calls. I learned the Dart rail system and the dart oncall buses as well as paratransit services that I was never aware about before. I seen what people with disabilities have to go threw on the daily basis just to get transportation to their medical appointments, – more... school, etc. The hardest part about working in this call center would be when taking certain calls when the customer has a hard time explaining themselves or aren't sure of the location they are going to. This requires a lot of patience and empathy – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MV Transportation
BUS OPERATOR/OTCA (Current Employee), Irvine, CAApril 1, 2014
Pros: meeting different people everyday.
Cons: too far from home, no growth opportunity
Although a great company to work for, MV Transportation is too far of a daily commute from my home. I enjoy working outdoors and interacting with the passengers and learning about their lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee care needs serious help
Mechanic "C" (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVMarch 29, 2014
Pros: not
Cons: listed in review
The fact that I had a job that had decient pay was good. There was an incentive program for ASE ceterficates. But only four paid holidays per year is not user friendly. Also call off sick or being one minute late was a bit too extreme. to be written up and charged when one is legitmatley ill is uncalled for. I also lost desire to work overtime because – more... my paycheck was always short and it took serious hoops to fix every time. Once or twice I could see. But once or twice was all the company got my check right in a three month period of time. Health insurance coverage for my spouse.......It shouldn't ever take so much trouble to obtain coverage. 60 days when probation is complete. Not 8 months latter. Maintenance. Get some parts in stock. missing service filters. How can you run out of engine oil. If you expect your associates to complete a deadline, give them the supplies to do the job. Concidering MV Trans responsability to the Regional Transportation Authority and the public, help is needed here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace to work at.
Driver (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 28, 2014
A typical day for me was to come in early in the morning about 5:30 and start my daily routine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Nice place
Para-transit Driver (Current Employee), Alsip, ILMarch 24, 2014
Pros: fast pace
Cons: no breaks
It is a very busy place to work at. Co-Workers help each other to make sure that customers get to there location safely.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place
Driver for Special Needs (Current Employee), Chamblee, GAMarch 23, 2014
Pros: breakfast
enjoyed working here. had breakfast with co workers every morning, laughed told jokes good place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment which pushes you to excel in all aspects of the workforce.
Scheduling Supervisor (Current Employee), Hyattsville, MDMarch 18, 2014
The most enjoyable part of my job is working with my team who assists in areas to ensure our daily quotas are met. I've learned to be versatle and persistant to reach daily goals. My management team utililzes our department's resources to secure the most productive itenerary for next day's service to be be efficeient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
independence
metro lift driver (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 17, 2014
Cons: short break long hours no set off time
short lunch breaks. a 8 to 12 hour day with only a 30 minute lunch. too much work for the pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not a security job.
Driver (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMarch 12, 2014
Pick up and Drop off clients. Start at 3:00 AM. Work 10 to 12 hrs. daily. I learn safety, security and responsability. Help others. The management is OK. The co-workers is OK, no problem with them.

The hardest part of the job, 10 to 12 hrs. driving every day long distance. We help others with several health conditions and I like to do that, serve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CHALLENGING, FUN, AND PRODUCTIVE!
PARA TRANSIT OPERATOR (DRIVER) (Former Employee), Capitol Heights, MDMarch 4, 2014
Pros: the best part of my job is providing a service, and in doing so seeing the smiles on clients face when i arrive, and transport them to, or from each destination in a safe, and timely manner.
Cons: when someone you know pass on.
If you love hard work that is challenging, fun, and productive. This is a good place to be! Operation hours or basic 13 hours 7 days a week with exception to certain holidays.
The motivational fun part of working with this company.
As soon as you arrive to begin your shift; you are greeted by co workers and management that behave more like family. Maybe – more... a snack and beverage is on the table for the employees. A good old fashion Employee PePP Talk making sure that each employee is properly dressed, equippted, and ready to perform their duties.
Productivity means a high regard for safety, professionalism, and on time performance. The best part of my job is providing a service and in doing so seeing the smiles on clients face when I arrive and transport them to or from each destination in a safe and timely manner.
I saved the hardest part for last. After working with co workers, management, and clients. You show up and receive word that they have passed on. Why is this hard? Because! unknowingly they are like family to! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Driver (Current Employee), Capitol Heights, MDMarch 4, 2014
If you like working 14 hr days, then you would like this one. I enjoyed transporting clients from one destination to another. Coming in contact with a diverse group of individuals on a daily basis was great. I've learned patience when put in certain situations. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the road supervisors and the dispatch. It seemed – more... like they worked against the drivers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job
driver (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 4, 2014
As part of the management team you will be responsible for all aspects of running the store. Our training department has implemented a program that will start you on your path to success. Our organization believes in developing associates into leaders and has been extremely successful with promoting from within. Many managers have found that their hard – more... work and dedication pays off with numerous opportunities for growth within – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senority based job.
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Hyattsville, MDMarch 2, 2014
Pros: had great relationships with drivers and customers assisting on a daily bases, location was close to residence.
Cons: low pay, horrible benefits, poor enviroment inside call center, schedule bids, little to no rule for advancement. poor compensation.
Never a set work schedule do to work bids meaning you can get beat out of your work schedule by someone who has been there longer which in turn you will never have a set schedule. You can go from working mornings to working over nights without warning and you have no choice but to accept it or you can lose your position regardless to how life is structured – more... outside of the work place.Not a good job for single parents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Absolute Truth
Dispatcher (Former Employee), San Leandro, CAMarch 1, 2014
Pros: helping consumers.
Cons: coworkers, management, health insurance, pay
I worked for this company as a dispatcher. The good thing about holding my position for as long as I did was the fact that I helped direct buses to pick up consumers. The bad, well of ugly... If you were NOT apart of the clique then it was all bad. Management stated that the door was always open, but as soon as you voiced your opinion its all bad. Everyone – more... is hood, no respect for themselves or others. Everybody screw each other. Once they find out that your not with it its all bad. This place is NOT for people of Integrity. People looking to advance. If they want you to advance you will, if they stop liking you then out you go. I learned that I deserve better. And that's what I have now.... The hardest part of this job was coming in. Hostile work environment, everyone was self oppressed. Just miserable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Shop Manager and co-workers
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: great people to work with and an awesome boss
Cons: low wages for the work i do.
I have been working in the bus repair shop since Oct. 2013 and still working there. I am responsible for all parts upkeep, sorting organizing, inventory, stocking and reporting of low inventory so as to prevent running out of needed items. I support the Shop Boss with filing, sorting and assisting in many office needs. When a part is ready for pick – more... up, I use one of the company vehicles to run any where in Anchorage, AK or Eagle River, AK to get the parts needed. I also help in recovery and support in driving either equipment or vehicles to bus accident sights or down company vehicles. Such as when a school bus stops working on its route, I will run a rescue bus to the down bus, to keep the school bus route active. Previously I was driving the school buses on routes, one of which was a hazardous route. The biggest reason for switching to the repair shop was for furthering my job skills. I am very happy to be growing and making a difference. The hardest part of this job, is not having the full training to do mechanical work or being able to grow at this time do to lack of being hired permanently in the Part Person slot. The company has restrictions for their own reasons and they are taking a very long time to hire me. So I am working above my pay raise, for a lower wage. I am a hard worker and do not complain, but am looking for a place to grow and be treated fairly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work management sucks some not all!!
driver (Former Employee), philadelphia, paFebruary 20, 2014
Cons: mangement, pay if your not careful you'll be cheated out of your hrs.
Terrible place to work unstable management no commuication. They dont pay enough for all the bullsh*t you take.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Operations Manager October 2011 to Present (Current Employee), Anchorage,AKFebruary 15, 2014
Cons: communication
I really enjoy working for MV Transportation. They believe in upward mobility. My typical day was usually 8 to 10 hours. Problem solving between the union and the employee when necessary. The hardest part of my job is no communication from other managers.

1 2 3 4 5