MVP Health Care Employee Reviews

Found 39 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment. Good project management. Interesting assignments.
Senior Data Administrator (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYFebruary 2, 2017
This company was heavily involved in state of the art database technology. Performed data modelling tasks. Wrote documentation and project specifications. Thorough review of all documents created. Management was great when first started working for them. Later, they had a lot of turn-over of senior management which made the work environment unstable.

Typical work day was a normal 8 hour day. Flexible working hours. Project manager was interested and involved in a personal manner with all employees.

Allowed to take advanced training with no restrictions on location of the training. Became well versed in advanced data modeling for both transactional and data warehouse techniques.

Co-workers were friendly and always willing to step in when asked for input on design activities.

The job was challenging and exciting. There were many opportunities for difficult tasks to add to skills.

Team members were a joy to work with and there was no need for competition between them.
Pros
Exciting assignments kept you busy and made the job fun, salary and benefits were excellent had personal time that carried over from year to year, included both sick and personal time.
Cons
Changes in senior management made the job environment unstable in the last year of emmployment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mvp
Health Insurance retention associate (Former Employee) –  Westchester County, NYMarch 15, 2017
a typical day of work at mpv health care plan consist of providing members with outstanding customer service and solve health care issues in a professional manner and fallowing the company rules.

at MPV health care plan i learned how to manage and solve different types of cases at the same time in proficient way.

we had members from different countries making the work place a very nice and diverse place when it comes to cultures.

i dont think there is something hard when it comes to work because i take everything as a challenge.

the most enjoyable part of my job was having the chance to work with different people and learning how provide them with excellent service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Silo of Information
Integrated Care Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Tarrytown, NYJune 26, 2016
Management is very territorial. Not only from my departmental experience but from first hand interactions with multiple departments. Management seems insecure with their standings and withholds information from other employees and prevents collaboration. This attitude trickles down to the employees as well. Satellite offices are isolated and treated as 'underlings' to main office. Imbalance of power between management and employees during conflict resolution. Company is often blind to cancerous workers due to overall unorganized, over worked employees. You may work for an insurance company, but the coverage is awful.
Pros
gym, free workout classes, volunteer day PTO
Cons
hours, management, benefits, bonuses, review, workload
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Bilingual Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Tarrytown, NYDecember 10, 2016
Worked in busy call center. Typical high volume call center environment. Not much opportunity to advance especially if you speak a second language. Management likes to keep you there due to high need. Micro-managed environment. Good learning experience. Lucky if you can move to other position, otherwise you just stay where you are. Learn what you can and if you need to move on, go.
Pros
Knowledge of Health Care Industry
Cons
Micro Managed Environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life
Outreach Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Tarrytown, NYJanuary 8, 2017
Working here, you would just do the same tasks everyday. There wasn't much room for advancement, but I appreciated the experience
Pros
pay
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Customer service representative (Current Employee) –  Tarrytown, NYSeptember 21, 2016
Many of out coworkers have been working together for many years and have built a great place to work. I have learned a lot about helping people get health insurance and assist them in getting health insurance. Management is great with providing leadership to there employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No day at the beach
Senior Service Desk Analyst (Current Employee) –  Tarrytown, NYSeptember 20, 2016
You come in do your work and are given minimum training. Management is all about the numbers, your coworkers will stab you in the back in a heart beat in order to look good. Hardest part of the job is not being able to help people the way you should.
Pros
Have a job
Cons
No training
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall ok place to work
Talent Acquisition Specialist (Former Employee) –  Satellite Beach, FLMarch 24, 2017
I enjoyed my job at MVP Healthcare. I am not sure what the environment is currently as there has been much change since my time with the company due to changes overall in the Healthcare Industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work/Life Balance, Constant Fear of Layoffs
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJuly 7, 2014
Company looking to 'lean' operating expenses results in constant, unannounced layoffs. There is an extreme lack of transparency from Senior Leadership in terms of long term goals and 'ideal' company size.

Work/Life balance is adequate, but compensation and advancement opportunities are very poor.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
Frequent Layoffs, Low Salary, Lack of Vertical Advancement Opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes21No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job insecurity- low employee morale
current employee (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYFebruary 10, 2014
As with most companies today, this one continues to hire, but at the same time they are laying off valuable employees. Emplyees with over 10+ years with the company with a vast amount of knowledge are being let go due to down sizing they say. This is definitely effecting the morale since they claim it's for down sizing, but hire new people for the similar positions right after letting the seasoned worker go. Hmmm... sounds like another company trying to save the almighty dollar by letting go of seasoned employees and hiring for less.

Very poor management on all levels and way to many managers in most departments. They have managers for the managers. Ridiculous.
Pros
benefits
Cons
management and job insecurity
Was this review helpful?Yes39No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun place to work, on site gym.
RN Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, New YorkApril 14, 2013
Most days busy require ability to multi-task. The company has provided considerable amount of,on site and off site training. Supervisors are great if you have an appointment and need to readjust schedule to accommodate work home life!
Great unit/team morale. Supervisors & Associate Division Director out in unit multiple times daily if you have questions. Many resources if you need them. Overall culture of wellness and inclusion of all staff.
Have current IT software/Hardware needed to perform job.
Many opportunities for advancement.
Pros
work environment, ability to work from home.
Cons
limited opportunities for ot.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic
PM (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJuly 17, 2013
MVP has undergone significant change over the last few years. The outside influenced changes to the health benefits industry are significant enough, but the self inflicted issues are even greater. MVP took 5 years to integrate two companies, while a merger of equals sounds nice, in practice it meant that there were competing power centers in the organization at all levels of management, with goals, strategy and management direction changing on practically a daily basis. This was directly caused by the then-CEO spending more time fighting ACA in Washington DC and trying to play political power games, rather than focusing on effectively managing the company.

Over the past six months or so there has been significant leadership changes, it remains to be seen if this is will have a long term positive impact. In the short term, layoffs have drastically affected moral and there has been a large exodus of knowledgeable resources across the company.
Pros
Nice people. If you like change, there is a lot of it.
Cons
Poor management at all levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Customer Service Representative and healthcare (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAJune 24, 2016
Was a ok job but they didn't pay the workers. I was there for a few years and they were giving every new person more hourly pay then me
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stability
Quality Control Coordinator/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYOctober 20, 2015
Excellent working environment, hands on management, great opportunity for advancement. I really felt like part of a winning team
Was this review helpful?Yes8No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They always have ads that they are hiring
sales (Former Employee) –  new york, nyAugust 10, 2013
MVP has a lots of ads that they are hiring. The problem is there is too much politics, and a lack of follow-through from management.
Pros
Lots of ads they are hiring
Cons
Too much politics. No follow-up by managers
Was this review helpful?Yes22No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company will destroy your self esteem
Former employee (Former Employee) –  SchenectadyOctober 22, 2014
MVP was the place to be employed perhaps 15 years ago however dedication to this company means absolutely nothing. They will chew you up and spit you out. MVP is sinking. How many additional layoffs will occur before the end? Do yourselves a favor, update your resume and begin networking before you are laid off. Unemployment is not enough to support anyone.
Pros
Met beautiful people
Cons
Upper management is horrific
Was this review helpful?Yes36NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and down to earth employees
Quality Improvement Assistant for HEDIS Scanner (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJuly 21, 2015
On a typical day I would get my work from clinical review nurses and scan them into the database for the HEDIS 2015 program and for auditors to analyze these reviews from the providers of continual visits of the patients health. Filing of these reviews after all scanned into the database.

My co-workers were excellent teachers, fun, professionals and great to bond with them in all the work that we did together as a team.

There isn't anything that was hard about this position and the enjoyable part was to be on a great team and provide a different way to make all our jobs effective in a faster mode.
Pros
Recognition of all our hard work with free lunches.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provider service rep, answered calls, gave benefit info. Set up cases, Took pharmacy calls, Checked on claims , sent them back ,if not denied correct
Provider Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYOctober 27, 2013
Must be on phones at 8:30 am . Calls start coming in , Providers are calling ,to ck on claims, pharmacy, set up inpt cases. for admissions\ck benefits, ck eligibility, we work off of many different programs. Try to take calls as efficiently as possible. Some calls may be as long as a hour or so. When you check on claims, appeals and denials. Also sending remits ,and denial letters to Providers. We must follow all Hippa laws.
We have two 10 min breaks, a day 30 min for lunch. If you take a last call @ 4:30 , you need to stay on call until complete, could take a very long time .

The hardest part of the job, is that everything keeps changing every day. Each person handles call coaching differently, so you get a lot of mixed messages.

The most enjoyable part, is when you are on with a provider,You get all the information, and solve a problem , that is going on for a long time.

Most co workers are very nice, some never speak to you, You be respectable to every one .

Management is ok, We have a very nice supervisor and manager now.They are very good, but follow every bit of procedure, there is no give and take. Also ,the rules are the rules. Except for the favorites.

I follow the rules , I give 110% every day. Try my best, Sometimes , very hard place to stay positive.
Pros
we get a free lunch once a month for stats being good, very nice
Cons
So many people leaving the company, either on there own or being let go, because of mistakes, or being out to much. Lots of people left on there own, due to the fact, they keep addding more and more to the job, with 22 reps not there anymore.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excessive unwarranted micromanagement
informatin technology (Current Employee) –  rochesterMay 22, 2013
Wonderful people throughout the company. Unfortunately good employees are brutally micro-managed unnecessarily. Some managers are absolute bullies. There are a handful of amazing managers that actually work and step up to the role of true leadership in times of crisis.
Pros
vacation time, free workout room
Cons
poor management in too many departments
Was this review helpful?Yes18No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive yet challenging work environment that developed the
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJuly 4, 2013
A typical day involved me meeting with law makers regarding health care reform. I would meet with managers and senior partners to discuss our goals for the day, week and month. The co-workers were hard working and enthusiastic. The most enjoyable part of my job was the working with such a wonderful group of individuals. They were a tight knit group that believed in one another and working together to get the job done. The hardest part was dealing with some of the upper managers who would impose upon us unrealistic demands that could not be reached and trying to compromise with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No10Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MVP Health Care. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1