Find companies:
NAACP
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

NAACP Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Buffalo State EOP Mentor (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYMay 22, 2014
Pros: experience, volunteer work
Cons: n/a
This is not a paid job this is volunteered work that i did. I did it for the purpose it stood for and to better the community. My organization consisted of people in the Buffalo community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was volunteer.
VP of the New Castle Branch (Former Employee), New Castle, PAApril 2, 2014
No typical workday. Just managed the NAACP program. Hardest part was setting up events. Most enjoyable was having successful events.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and Fun Environment
Student (Former Employee), Gary, INFebruary 25, 2014
NAACP Entreprenuerial Program was a program teaching young adults how to be business owners. Create business plans, budgets, and accounting strategies were just a few lessons that were taught. The overall program was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Volunteer (Former Employee), Portsmouth VirginiaJanuary 14, 2014
Good. I enjoyed working there. There was plenty opportunities within the origination.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace
Clerk (Former Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 11, 2013
This was a part-time position that consisted of processing payroll, accounts payable, paid annual taxes, and transferred funds between accounts. Processed bank deposit slips.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow-paced work enviorment with really layed back enviorment
Secretary Assistant (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 25, 2013
Pros: leaving early
Cons: not having anything to do after showing an intiation
A typical day at the office consisted of completing travel expense reports, creating spreedsheets, etc administrative duties. I gained a more comprehensive history of the NAACP and all of its contibutions to the black nation. Management was care-free. The hardest part of my job was not having anything to do. The most enjoyable was being able to leave – more... early because there is nothing else to be done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
naacp
President (Former Employee), shreveport laOctober 20, 2013
Loved the job but they had no money to pay us it was all volu. I really wish a postion was aval. I would still be there although the President found me a job with the senator its not thier fault it wasnt ran properly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
keeping families connected
Parent Involvement Coordinator (Former Employee), Riverside, CASeptember 25, 2013
Pros: connecting families to all events and services
Cons: no advancement
parent coordinator ..make sure all paper work is complete

communication is key

was hired on day of interview

unruley parents

making families work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work experience opportunity for youth
Program Coordinator (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 26, 2013
Pros: the opportunity to work with youth
Cons: short term project
Sign in participants, assign work activities, co-ordinate and visit work sites, complete reports, counsel participants as needed, supervised clerical staff, submitted timely reports, was responsible for inventory of equipment for the program - met with Program Director.

I learned to work with and manage youth who wanted to experience an opportunity – more... to work and earn an income and to counsel and encourage those who were presented a challenge.

Management of the program was handled professionally according to program's guidelines.

Co-workers were team players and respected authority.

The hardest part of the job was the travel distance to the different job sites.

The most enjoyable part of the job was to counsel and encourage the participants. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job!
Youth President (Former Employee), Columbus, MSApril 28, 2013
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping the kids! They make up the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very productive, educational, and they were very nice people.
Community Service/Volunteer Service (Former Employee), Detroit, MIApril 10, 2013
I had a chance to volunteer for the NAACP and it was wonderful. Going out into the public and helping them accomplish great goals made me feel like an important person. They teach you alot and give good useful information that you will need in your life. The NAACP work is very challenging but end in great success. It was wonderful to work under such – more... great people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great day
Telecommunications Clerk (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: great smiles
Cons: after break time it got slow
A typical day is coming in getting greeted my security and management. We were always adviced to come in twenty minutes early to have a group meeting, to set the goal for the shift, a prep talk to keep the positive atmosphere going and to make sure that we are all in attendance. We go to our respectable work places, set up and get to work. What I learned – more... from managent is to always be punctual and come to work with a positive atittude, you get the work done in a timely fashion. The hardest part of the job was keeping the timeline but, i got the job done. The most enjoyable part part was the atmosphere, i enjoyed did enjoy the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time with the NAACP.
Volunteer (Former Employee), Columbus, OHSeptember 3, 2012
My time at the NAACP was not particularly enjoyable, and I would not recommend the organization to anyone seeking to volunteer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work schedule great off days.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 11, 2012
Pros: working on grant funds
Cons: grant funds not being recognized by superiors
My typical day at work I would unlock the building and retrieve the mail from the box and turn my computer on. I turn off and retrieve all message from the answering machine. I prepare coffee for the office staff and checked supplies. I then log on to my computer using my pass word to get into all areas of the system to assist me in my daily task. I – more... retrieve my emails, answered all uncompleted emails from the previous day. I reviewed up coming appointments for the day, and filled cancelled appoints with stand-by clients. Throughout the day I would answer multiple phone lines, receive clients, monitor the computer room, inform counselors of appointments, balance bookkeeping, bank deposit and total number of clients for the day.

I learned how to interview clients and potiential employee's. I learned how to assist clients in financial distress, directing them to the correct sources in there crisis.

Management were agreeable in decisional efforts with finalizing project prepartions and plans.

Co-workers were supportive and agreeable on most projects.

The hardest part of the job was unlocking and letting the security door up the bad weather.

The enjoyable part of my job was being successful in finding financial assistant for the clients and seeing the clients utilize there new skills set in using the computer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
naacp
vice president of youth council (Former Employee), deetroit, miMay 2, 2012
i love to travel and got to meet a lot people. my co workers and boss are neat
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable organization to community
Religious Affairs (Current Employee), Palmdale, CAMarch 15, 2012
Pros: excellent organiztion to volunteer
Cons: no cons
Great way to give back to community and socity as a whole.
I had an oppoutunty to understand the heartbeat of the palmdale
area. I encourage all that can join.

About NAACP

The NAACP (National Association for the Advancement of Colored People) strives to ensure that all people are represented and have – Read more