NASSCO Employee Reviews in United States

Found 33 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place enviroment
Material Chaser/Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 18, 2015
My typical day is processing material and delivering.

What I have learned is time management and priorities what needs to be done first.

Management has been very reasonable except one which is hard to get work done when questions arrive is always greeted with attitude and all we need is support with information only this person has.

My co-workers are hard working individuals but when given opportunity they will get occupied with other things just to appear busy.

Hardest part of my job is when we have more material than employees to handle the workload.

When our team works together to get things done that would almost seem impossible to get done in one day.
Pros
Lots of work when receiving a goverment contract.
Cons
Overworked and dangerous work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Structural Welder (Former Employee) –  CASeptember 14, 2015
Have a great support team and management staff here is great. One of the best jobs. This place has a great support team and will go over for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal work
Shipfitter, Pipefittter, Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 15, 2015
Worked here for five years and was laid of three times
It is very hard work and sometimes dangerous
working with steel is probably a good idea if your young
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very learning expierence and a fun job
Laborer (Former Employee) –  San Diego Ca,June 24, 2015
It was a great place to work at and a great learnning expierence to with great bennefit and you get to work on all the navy ship at nassco ship yard
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Shipfitter (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 8, 2015
Working at Nassco was fun and productive. Every day was a challenge and i was kept busy all the time. Most foremen are very easy to get along with and are hepfull.
Pros
lots of work and over time
Cons
layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome environment with plenty to learn and advancement possibilities
Rigger (Current Employee) –  San DiegoApril 22, 2015
Overall a great place to work. The intended work environment and job security through the company's policies on the fair treatment of the employees is comforting, but hard to enforce and live up to.
An amazing learning environment and wide open for lateral and forward movement.
Fairly steady work and mixes well with home life. The uppermost management are very safety and people oriented.
Pros
Paid holidays, Employee appreciation, benefits, hours, overtime opportunity
Cons
Speaking specifically of the rigging dept., a toxic and distrustful work environment encouraged by current management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Purchasing Clerk (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 6, 2015
An excellent company where you can be trained and grow in company and always openings and trainings available. I was a welder and later became a Purchasing clerk
Pros
can grow in compaby
Cons
cout out too many people at same time
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family Business
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 2, 2015
worked for step-dad painting houses and various structures.worked off and on for 10 yrs.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Pros
flexible hours and scedule
Cons
family business
Was this review helpful?Yes1No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company underpays engineers
Structural Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 20, 2014
This company was a disaster. The management picked on people that took five extra minutes for lunch, without taking into account that regularly most people instead to leave at 3.00 pm left at 3.45 pm.
The athmosphere was not friendly.
A salary for an engineer with 20 years of experience was $ 86,000/year, which is quite low.
Cons
see review summary
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a challenge & at the same time fun.
Pipe Fitter (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 16, 2014
Getting on board the ship
Start reading my blue print
Choosing the items by spool number with the help of co-workers
To work in between the bulkhead & also under the grating
The most enjoyable part of the job was lunch time!
Pros
all holidays free of work
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging
Journeyman Electrician, Tradesmen (on assignment (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 7, 2014
with nassco it was a great school on ship yards love all the learning and work my way up from cargo halls to the house and engine room greta experience and enjoy the challenge
Pros
opportunity to learn
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rough work
PIPEFITTER (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 30, 2014
shipyard environment typical days yet very interesting and exciting to see your work turnout as a finished product
Pros
stable work
Cons
hazardous conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the coworkers it was a pleasant company to work for.
Medical Clerk / Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 20, 2014
I worked in the medical office. My job was checking patients in, answer high volume calls, type workers comp claims, filing patient charts, cash handling, help patients with light duty, receptionist.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and dangerous work environment that pays well
Journeyman Rigger (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CADecember 18, 2013
This has great benefits but you have to make sure common sense is the best alternative to a hazardous environment.
Pros
great pay, benefits, and co-workers willing to understand.
Cons
dangerous work environment(noise, tripping hazzards, falling hazzards and some breathing hazards)
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical Day!
Electrician Leadman (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 21, 2013
We usually have stretching exercises and a brief meeting before we start work. At the meeting we go over the work assignments and the plan of the day. Then we proceed to our job assignments. Due to working government contracts and Federal Laws, providing details about a particular job is forbidden by law. I enjoy working with the ship and area managers, communication is the key to reaching goals and milestones. My co-workers are professional Electricians that do excellent work as well as being good people, I enjoy working with all of them. I would say the hardest part about the job is working through the obstacles (things that slow down work progress) that present themselves throughout the day, but I look at them as daily challenges. The most enjoyable part of the job is providing quality work and product for the government, it's a way of serving this USA indirectly, knowing the US Navy ships and thier personnel will be safe because of the qualty work provided.
Pros
provided quality service to the us government
Cons
hazardous industrial environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 6, 2013
some places are hot like on blocks,i was 20 years there so i learn a lot.some places are good some places are no good the coworkers friendly but some of them they have their click when is olmost time to go home,that i like the trade of pipefitting.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good old fashion hard work.
Electrician (Former Employee) –  San DiegoAugust 7, 2013
Good place to work if you don't mind hard work. I enjoyed working for NASSCO
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work with benifits
Electrician (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 3, 2013
Don't know what to say except that it is a job that provides for the family
Pros
good health care
Cons
expensive health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked outdoors
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 28, 2013
Selecting orders using pallets and forklifts for delivery to designated areas
Pros
good hours 6am - 230pm
Cons
worked on ships didn't like heights
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career based
Shipfitter (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 9, 2013
This is a company that set on building a career within and offering room to grow.
Pros
great pay and benefits
Cons
over crowded, little parking, strict on time with little concern of the mass crowd and slow flow of traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture