Find companies:
NASSCO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

NASSCO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a challenge & at the same time fun.
Pipe Fitter (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 16, 2014
Pros: all holidays free of work
Cons: short breaks
Getting on board the ship
Start reading my blue print
Choosing the items by spool number with the help of co-workers
To work in between the bulkhead & also under the grating
The most enjoyable part of the job was lunch time!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging
Journeyman Electrician, Tradesmen (on assignment (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMay 7, 2014
Pros: opportunity to learn
with nassco it was a great school on ship yards love all the learning and work my way up from cargo halls to the house and engine room greta experience and enjoy the challenge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rough work
PIPEFITTER (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: stable work
Cons: hazardous conditions
shipyard environment typical days yet very interesting and exciting to see your work turnout as a finished product
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the coworkers it was a pleasant company to work for.
Medical Clerk / Accounting Clerk (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 20, 2014
I worked in the medical office. My job was checking patients in, answer high volume calls, type workers comp claims, filing patient charts, cash handling, help patients with light duty, receptionist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and dangerous work environment that pays well
Journeyman Rigger (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 18, 2013
Pros: great pay, benefits, and co-workers willing to understand.
Cons: dangerous work environment(noise, tripping hazzards, falling hazzards and some breathing hazards)
This has great benefits but you have to make sure common sense is the best alternative to a hazardous environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical Day!
Electrician Leadman (Current Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 21, 2013
Pros: provided quality service to the us government
Cons: hazardous industrial environment
We usually have stretching exercises and a brief meeting before we start work. At the meeting we go over the work assignments and the plan of the day. Then we proceed to our job assignments. Due to working government contracts and Federal Laws, providing details about a particular job is forbidden by law. I enjoy working with the ship and area managers, communication is the key to reaching goals and milestones. My co-workers are professional Electricians that do excellent work as well as being good people, I enjoy working with all of them. I would say the hardest part about the job is working through the obstacles (things that slow down work progress) that present themselves throughout the day, but I look at them as daily challenges. The most enjoyable part of the job is providing quality work and product for the government, it's a way of serving this USA indirectly, knowing the US Navy ships and thier personnel will be safe because of the qualty work provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Pipefitter (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 6, 2013
some places are hot like on blocks,i was 20 years there so i learn a lot.some places are good some places are no good the coworkers friendly but some of them they have their click when is olmost time to go home,that i like the trade of pipefitting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good old fashion hard work.
Electrician (Former Employee), San DiegoAugust 7, 2013
Good place to work if you don't mind hard work. I enjoyed working for NASSCO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work with benifits
Electrician (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 3, 2013
Pros: good health care
Cons: expensive health care
Don't know what to say except that it is a job that provides for the family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked outdoors
Material Handler (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMay 28, 2013
Pros: good hours 6am - 230pm
Cons: worked on ships didn't like heights
Selecting orders using pallets and forklifts for delivery to designated areas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career based
Shipfitter (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMay 9, 2013
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: over crowded, little parking, strict on time with little concern of the mass crowd and slow flow of traffic
This is a company that set on building a career within and offering room to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and busy place to work at
lead in my department (Former Employee), san diego, caApril 17, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: no lunches
I loved working for nassco started really young and learned alot in this trade
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
leadership team was great
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 16, 2013
Pros: always busy
Cons: i was not challenge enough, i want to learn more
cleaned and prepared rooms as needed, check patient's vital signs, perform diagnostic procedures when ordered to, such EKG's , hearing test , urine drug screen test (UDST) , drop blood , work at emergency room , assist the radiologist
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entering work force after Navy ready to learn
Boilermaker/Outside Machinist (Former Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 22, 2013
Pros: learning trades
Cons: not many regrets
Started out in boiler shop learning the trade of machinist/ boilermaker. Build boiler from the ground up. The foremen was great teachers, coworkers was good and helpful. hardest thing was get to build what you once steamed toke for granted toke so much to make. Learning about the equipment on naval civilian ships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned alot about ships and increased my ability to weld
Welder (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 21, 2012
Pros: saturday and sunday overtime was swell.
Cons: balding seems to occumpany the ocupation.
Nassco was not an easy place to work alot of the time however it payed very well and it was kind of fun. I liked the people there and my job there and I have not given up my goals to complete pipe welding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FAST PACED AND PRODUCTIVE
WELDER (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 20, 2012
FIX MY WELDING BOX AND GET MY ASSIGNMENT AND TAKE MY SAFETY PRECAUTIONS. LEARNED HOW TO MIG WELD WORKED UNDER MINIMUM SUPERVISON CO WORKERS WHERE HARD WORKING AND HELPFUL THE HARDEST PART WAS WELDING IN TIGHT SPACES THE BEST PART WAS WELDING OUT DOORS INSTEAD OF ON A SHIP
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
forklift driver
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 30, 2012
shipyard forklift driver onboard ships helper various trades.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved welding
MIG WELDER (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 29, 2012
pick up my tools(50lbs) worth. it my work place. mig weld, grind, cut. ship's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very good place to work!
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CaliforniaJuly 12, 2012
Pros: available self improving classes in the yard, after or before work.
2nd Shift starts at 4:00 p.m. and I always came at least a half hour before and made sure to have a few words with the dayshift supervisor after receiving the turnover information document and the highlights of the scheduled work for that night, also had to make sure that materials and equipment needed were there to continue or start the assigned tasks for that night.
Getting all the materials, tools and equipment on location and making sure the area was safe, was the hardest part of the job.
I had a very good group of journeymen that could complete most of the tasks scheduled every night, and this was a very good part of working at night.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting place to work
Inside Machinist (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 11, 2012
Cons: when the teperature is to hot and you have to work in the yard...
The most enjoyable part of the job is when you do a new job and you do it right !