Find companies:
Nathan Adelson Hospice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Nathan Adelson Hospice Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most rewarding job
Volunteer (Former Employee), Pahrump, NvMarch 5, 2014
I volunteered at this Hospice because my Mom was in hospice. Everyday I cared for her, at home. I gave her injections every 3 hours. Assisted in cleaning her, bathing, emptying catheter, assisting in changing stoma. I took care of her around the clock until she passed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job /Job Work / life balance
CNA Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), N Las Vegas, NVJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: 0
Cons: 0
Well I went from home to home. 5 patients is full time. My day at work was always good because I love my job. Didn't see management unless at a meeting or called into office. Co- workers ok didn't see them much. Unless it was the doctor or a nurse not friendly. The hardest part of my job was when my patient would pass away suddenly. Seeing my patients – more... smile and say thank you was the enjoyable part of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasoned Health Care Professional, Hospice&Diagnostic Laboratory Industries /Physician, Facility, Patient , Client Relations/Referrals & Admissions/
Business Development Representative (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVDecember 28, 2013
Pros: the hospice philosophy of care; no one should end the journey of life alone, afraid, & in pain
Cons: end stage of life terminal illness, 6 months or less.
Promotes the Organization by disseminating information and building
relations with Healthcare providers and Families regarding "End Stage of Life'' and the Hospice Philosophy of Care.
Actively supports the Hospice's vision and mission.
Communicate, create awareness, educate, inform and market Referral Sources in the medical community on a daily basis – more... within an assigned territory for patient admissions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company doing important work
Medical Staff Practice Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVDecember 7, 2013
Nathan Adelson is the leading Hospice organization in Southern Nevada.

Hospice can be very rewarding and Nathan is the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated
RN case manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 7, 2013
Pros: staff very good at what they do. dedicated.
Cons: upper management far removed from the heart of hospice care. only concerned about $.
Dedicated and compassionate staff at bedside. Upper managment very removed from the bedside aspect. Too focused on money and micromanaging hard working nurses and social workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place
Team Coordinator (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 4, 2013
Very rewarding place to work and everyone there are just amazing people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is focused on patient care
Acute Care Center Staff Nurse (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 31, 2013
This is a positive place to work. Typically you have 5-6 patients. You have more than adequate CNA help they care for 6-8 patients. This makes a huge difference in patient care. The atmosphere is generally relaxed. Most people would think this is a depressing place to work. However, contrary to common belief most of the staff are upbeat and friendly. – more... The two complaints I have about the company are, wages increases are poor and if you are in the IPU they are cancelling alot – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
true non profit
Nurse Apprentice/Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Las Vegas NVAugust 29, 2013
A non profit hospice that truly cares about its pt. The staff works well together. The mission of caring for families and patients is taken to heart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with great integrity and compassion for patients.
Admission/Access Nurse (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 28, 2013
Pros: supportive employee atmosphere, great benefits
Cons: long work days, lower salaries than competitors
Nathan Adelson Hospice is an incredible organization to work for. When I first started with the company I was pleasantly surprised to find so many longstanding employees that loved the company and what they did for a living. The organizations culture strives to provide excellence in everything they do, which begins with the senior management. Our patients – more... are our priority and giving them optimal care in their final days is the focus of each employee.
I have grown as an individual and RN while working for Nathan Adelson Hospice. The companies leadership has empowered me to move within the company to increase my knowledge and experience management. Education is promoted in the organization, which has enabled me to become certified in Hospice and Palliative Care and launched me into my Masters program in Nursing Education. My coworkers are true professionals who love what they do and work as a cohesive unit.
The most difficult part of my hospice experience continues to be losing my patients when they die. But the best part of my job is to get to know my patients and their families and make what time they have left on this earth as enjoyable as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is bad
social work (Former Employee), LV, ParumphAugust 21, 2013
Pros: pay is good
Cons: poor management
Worked there as a social worker. Saw SW's ran out of there because they had been there too long and cost too much money, because they were too good at advocating for the patients, because they disagreed with the nurse. The worst reasons. The social work department is a mess. They are not respected and trampled by MD, RN, management whoever. There was – more... no way to advocate for a patient without getting in trouble. It was a sad place. If I worked with wealthier patients it probably wouldn't have been as bad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Scheduler (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 8, 2013
Cons: short to no lunch breaks
Job Advancement within the company, Am Scheduling Very Fast paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun place to work in a new city
LVN/Patient Service Representative (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVApril 11, 2013
Pros: the satisfaction of providing a very necessary service, great pay and co-workers.
Cons: i was not able to stay long enough to notice any cons
My job consisted of explaining the concept of hospice to terminally ill patients and their family members. I learned a great deal about hospice and the misconceptions that exist concerning hospice care. I liked the fact that we were providing a very necessary service, so I took great satisfaction in explaining to the patient and families all the benefits – more... that hospice could provide. Unfortunately my mother was diagnosed with breast cancer back home in Texas, so I had to resign and return to help my family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life changing philosophy of work
Chaplain (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 27, 2012
Pros: excellent benefits, perks, support, and education opportunities from management.
Working in hospice forces you to change the way you think and look at life and death. Being a chaplain facilitates a positive, trusting, and challenging work environment with patients, families, and co-workers. The hardest part of this job is drawing close to patients and their families knowing they will die in a short amount of time. This is also the – more... best part of the job. It grows a heart's capacity to love and support people in one of the hardest times of their life. This type of job needs to be balanced out with a healthy personal life that includes activities that displace stress and fatigue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive /Fun place to work
Unit Secretary (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NevadaJune 20, 2012
A typical day at work starts with checking emails and entering orders for patients as well as tracking Marketing Reps.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was not helpful with traiing
Physician/Community Outreach Representative (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVMay 15, 2012
Pros: community outreach, working with doctors offices and educationing.
Cons: driving to pahrump every day working, without given an option
Was asked to work in Pahrump two days a week when employeed. Without notice was requried to drive to to Pahrump five days week. I was also - asked to stay in Pahump a couple nights a week. I children and a husband. They stated they did not want to pay the mileage and it would save money if I stayed in Pahrump. I did not think it was fair to me and my – more... family. I did stay frequently and missed many of my daugthers school actiivities. – less