National Able Network Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but recent manager was terrible
Career Coach (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 7, 2017
I would say that this organization is a wonderful agency full of altruistic individuals--the work truly has a positive impact on the lives of others. However, for all the good, there seems to be a poor system to hold managers accountable to the same expectations that are set for you as an employee. The higher-ups seem disconnected (with the exception of the monthly meetings and yearly reviews) from the people at the forefront. If anyone in management reads this, I would highly recommend for you to give the employees the benefit of the doubt and check in with them about their managers/supervisors more often than every 6 months/year, especially if they are new in the role.
Cons
No system in place to hold management/supervisors to the same standards/expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Nonprofit -
Manager of Organizational Training and Development (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 27, 2017
Excellent CEO! This nonprofit is a very well run organization that makes the most of its grants. It was an honor to be part of such an outstanding organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able is real low class and full of Pervs for management
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 26, 2017
Able is real low class and full of Pervs for management. Avoid working with this forloarn group who says they "hate developers" or anyone who know how to program
Pros
Leaving National Able Network
Cons
They don't pay but only rep you off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture varies with assignment
Quality Assurance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Columbus, INOctober 18, 2017
This agency provides learning opportunities to assist low-income, older Americans to obtain employment. I was not an employee, but a participant who had a training assignment for which I received training wages.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistance in on Job training
Career Specialist Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waukegan, ILSeptember 18, 2017
Working with mature workers in a meaningful position that assistance the community in researching, preparing, documenting, finding and landing a job. Help with resume wiring.
Pros
Set working hours
Cons
can not work over 20 non-for-profit program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Career Coach (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 14, 2017
great place to work for and fun environment a typical day was rewarding.A great learning environment and the staff and management was very helpful would recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Able Network
Payroll Coordinator/Job Developer (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DE 19802September 10, 2017
Program is geared toward individuals 50+ who want to return to the job force. Assists with upgrading their skills and help them obtain gainful employment.
Cons
no health benefits - paid time off - holidays -sick leave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 7, 2017
National Able Network is great for seniors age 50+ who want to get back on the work force. Learning computer skills, building resumes, meeting other seniors that is willing to work. Fitting you with a job that fits your experience. Making up your sick days with payed time off.
Pros
Work part-time
Cons
None that I can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Career Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 29, 2017
The job cultural is different than i am use to Very disorganized with program requirements. Too many program and poor experienced management. Need to be more organized.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work. great management
Veterans Outreach Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 14, 2017
National able network was a great place to work. This is where I really got my start. This is where I learned so much about working with people. the management there were very involved in my development in this field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good Traning Program
Administrative Assistant-National Able (Current Employee) –  Michigan City, INAugust 10, 2017
It a good place for traning but you have to make sure it what you want if you going into a work place, national able is a traning program that help to get you ready for work if going back. The pros is if you are being train make sure it what you want . To get the job you want . cons is being train for something you not wanting to do or doing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is an excellent place for job training.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Terre Haute, INAugust 8, 2017
This is an excellent company for people over 55 to get training and/or employment for various jobs. The supervisors are good to work with & do their best to help you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but relaxed environment
State Director, SCSEP (Former Employee) –  Bangor, MEJuly 20, 2017
It was great working for National Able Network. They treat their employees well and fairly. I would work for them again should the opportunity present itself.
Pros
Business travel opportunitites
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice location, but everyone was overworked
WIA Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 16, 2017
Case loads were high. Not sure how they got anything done. I was there at the height of the recession, so it's probably different atmosphere now. There was lots of mission drift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nan
Career Coach (Current Employee) –  Fort Dodge, IAJune 20, 2017
I good place to learn a new skills
I have learned how different processes work
Management is not organized
Work culture is diverse
Not enough time to do the work
Working with the clients was the best part of the job and the co-workers
Pros
None
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great opportunity to get into the customer service enviorment.
Unemployment Claims Assistant (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 3, 2017
It was an opportunity to get into the customer service field. I worked
in the Real Estate for 20 plus years and it was basically
an easy transition.
It was a non-profit organization and a place where you
could or had the opportunity to proceed where the company
placed you.

This was a training ground to proceed in another culture.
Pros
A great opportunity.
Cons
Would have liked longer hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and invigorating workplace with excellent coworkers and caring bosses
WIA Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 22, 2017
Wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, great work with lots of people interaction, feeling helpful and getting new insights all the time. Looked forward to coming to work every day. Lots of training - useful and pertinent
Pros
wonderful people and atmosphere
Cons
This is a transitional program hence - low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place to work.
Quality Assurance & Client Representative (Former Employee) –  Bangor, MEJanuary 30, 2017
All supervisors were very helpful when teaching a new project.
Nice atmosphere to work in.
All participants helped each other.
Training was done in a very professional way
Pros
Lot of learning opportunity. Very helpful supervisors
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 19, 2016
it's a job, There not much to tell, it's a job. and I'm not happy working there but until I find something else I will do the best job that I can for the company.
Pros
get employment
Cons
don't pay much
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome placeb to work
Veterans Outreach SpecialistVeterans (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 27, 2016
I was am Veterans Outreach Coordinator. At national Able Network they focused hard on reaching unreachable Veterans. Everyone on the staff were committed to bringing in at least 2 Veterans a Day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Able Network. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 50 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
4.1
Culture
4.2