Find companies:
National Alliance on Mental Illness
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

National Alliance on Mental Illness Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, caring environment and a great experience.
Intern (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALOctober 28, 2014
Pros: learning about mental illness and the work experience.
Cons: not being paid and only working for 5 months.
• Networks information and disseminates materials about mental illness treatment and resources to Alabama's local affiliates
• Advocates for improved services, treatment and care for persons with a mental illness
• Assists in establishing support and advocacy groups throughout the state so families dealing with mental illness need not feel alienated – more... or alone
• Provides valuable information to enlighten mental health professionals regarding the family perspective
• Encourages greater research into the effective treatment of mental illness
• Works to eliminate stigma associated with mental illness by providing factual information to the public about the true nature of the disorder and its impact on individuals, their family members, and society at large
• Attended conferences and educational programs for individuals with mental illness, their families, health care professionals, mental health providers and other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Outreach and Resource (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 23, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: not well paid
awesome people and atmosphere!
Loved the freedom of the job.
Coworkers are very warm and understanding.
A lot of flexibility!
Learned a lot about mental illness and mental health issues!
The hardest part of the job is that it was sometimes depressing dealing with people in difficult situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Office and Consumer Programs Coordinator (Former Employee), Lansing, MIJuly 14, 2014
Assisting families and persons dealing with mental illnesses in crisis was challenging at best. Providing the best online resources was a challenge I enjoyed, even when the need was outside our coverage area. I became know outisde of Michigan for having great resources; this felt good but did not help the bottom line or bring in much financial support – more... to the organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Support line Counselor (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAMay 16, 2014
I learned a lot about what NAMI does and have nothing but respect for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment with Great Co-Workers
Program Coordinator and Regional Coordinator, (Former Employee), Austin, TXMarch 30, 2014
Pros: excellent work environment
Cons: turnover in leadership
A typical work day would include:
1. Reviewal of e-mails and providing daily responses
2. Managing 7 contractors in 6 regions across Texas
3. Monthly grant reporting
4.Weekly staff meetings
5. Continual program assessment for improvements
6. Management of $250,000 grant budgetary limitations
7. Community networking
8. Planning and execution of trainings

In – more... had never worked under a grant before. I thoroughly enjoyed learning new skills including grant management and yearly program program projections. My co-workers were all team players and we looked forward to working together every day. The most challenging part of the job was the change in staff. I worked under 3 different Executive Directors in one year. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with military families that have sacrificed so much for our freedom. It was a true honor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience
Student Intern (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: a great learning experience
Cons: i did not spend enough time there
Preparing for their annual 5k walk fundraiser, I learned that NAMI uses people with mental illness to work within there organization, My supervisor was great and shared information freely as we worked. I think that the hardest part for me was not being able to work as much as I would have liked to. The best part for me was that I was able to do the – more... childrens booth during the walk. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides education on mental illness to families and indiduals.
NAMI Basic Class Instructor (Current Employee), Wheaton, ILOctober 16, 2013
Volunteer position so that I can provide education and support to parents that have a child with mental illness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship Opportunity
Media Production Intern (Current Employee), Arlington, VAApril 7, 2013
Pros: important work
Cons: relatively small
Though I can't speak to the day to day at NAMI, I can say that all of the individuals I worked with were extremely passionate about their work and very eager to assist me with my projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-profit stigma awareness and knowledge through discovery/recovery
Peer-to-Peer Mentor and IOOV Presenter (Current Employee), Arlington, VaMarch 24, 2013
Pros: good pay, relaxed atmosphere
Cons: no full time positions or benefits
Currently I am co-mentoring a 10 week class every Sunday. The course is called Peer-to-Peer and it is a relaxed, fun, learning experience for everyone. I also work as an In Our Own Voice public speaker. I have spoken at mental health hospitals, high schools, police departments, and to the public. I had the experience of speaking at the Nami Walk Rally – more... to over 300+ people. I love who I work with and enjoy every minute of giving back through Nami. – less