Find companies:
National Amusements
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

National Amusements Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workplace with multiple departments and services
Manager (Former Employee), Lowell, MAJuly 13, 2014
Excellent place to go see a movie and get concession food items.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Edgewater, NJJune 30, 2014
This a great theater with lots of care for their customers. Great with working on your schedules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place for youth
Manager (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJune 30, 2014
Pros: free movie tickets
Cons: long hours sometimes into the next day
work was easy but days where long. Cant have a personal life they want your whole life to be about them when your in a management position. Benefits were not that good. Taking time off was always a hassle. Not a good job for someone with a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company;fun place to work; learned alot
Cash Reconciliation Clerk (Former Employee), Dedham, MAApril 15, 2014
Pros: people; job itself; hours
Cons: leaving due to relocating
This was the best place I've worked!

I learned a lot; worked with great people; challenging and always busy but relax at the same time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive and friendly work enviroment
Usher (Former Employee), Holtsville, NYApril 13, 2014
A great place to work. Co workers were always friendly and very helpful, Management always on top of things and were always there to lend a helping hand if need be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very welcoming, and productive
Cashier (Former Employee), Bronx, NYApril 7, 2014
My typical day of work will be greeting customers entering the Movie Theater, Prepared tickets to all customers. making sure that there need are met. What i learned is making sure that the customer is happy and satisfied with my work and how to conduct better professionalism. I've learned excellent phone skills, and also computer skills. I work with – more... my pears well if i'm giving a task to work as a team if need to work with someone i am that team player. The hardest part of this job was trying to service people on a busy day and being the only cashier among's all the people i had to move fast to make sure that they are dealt with in a timely fashion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most educational but frustrating job I ever had.
Manager (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMarch 5, 2014
You had three or four different jobs as a manager at Showcase Cinemas. You worked box office, which is where you buy tickets to go see a movie. You are responsible for their drawers plus the safe that handles money for the entire theater. The 2nd is being in charge of the projectors. The most stressful part of the job for the mere fact if you screw – more... up, all the customers in that particular movie, know you screwed up. The 3rd is concessions, which is the most tedious because you are doing inventory every night before close on all the concession items.
I was the least experienced, so I was always asking a lot of questions to all the other managers. It was a nice environment as long as you knew when to keep your mouth shut and ears open. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Concession Stand Attendant (Former Employee), Worcester, MAJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: they were flexible with my hours
Cons: pay was low
I worked here while my two girls were little so I could be home with them during the day. I enjoyed working in the concession stand and made some good friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Cashier/Store Clerk (Former Employee), Bronx, NYDecember 25, 2013
Pros: hours, free tickets, flexible
Cons: ghetto
great place to work. Flexible with hours and management was very nice and helpful. It gets incredibly busy but it is great. You get a raise every couple of months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and exciting with free movies
Manager (Current Employee), Dedham, MADecember 19, 2013
Pros: free movies
Cons: very busy
Typical day includes helping customers with their movie going experience, making sure they have an enjoyable time. Keeping the staff productive while maintaining an enjoyable environment. Management works with staff to ensure productivity and cooperation. Everyone you work with is dedicated to the business and a team player. Hardest part of the job – more... is trying to be in many places at once when it is busy. Most enjoyable is when a customer compliments our theater and says they had a good time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and given a fair amount of responsibility
Property Manager (Former Employee), Toledo, OHNovember 29, 2013
With this job, I was able to work on my own hours, or as the renters saw urgent. I was given a large annual improvement budget for the property (roughly $500k), and had the ability to make day-to-day authorizations up to $1500. There were a few times that I was required to be there on a moments notice, which was likely the most difficult part of the – more... job. All in all it was a great opportunity and a great way to learn to manage all of a property's assets and finances. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Work to Life Expereinces
Box Office Manager (Former Employee), Valley Stream, NYAugust 6, 2013
They value the company before the employees, especially as a member of management. You must work all holiday, it never closes at all, even through the worst weather events.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Atco, NJMay 28, 2013
Pros: free movies and meeting new people
Cons: pay
From working at National Amusements I learned all of my management and customer service skills. Management and central office everyone was very helpful. They were always open to new ideas and felt comfortable to call at any time. We had a high turn over rate, but co-workers were always very friendly. Hardest part of the job was the long hours work each – more... week. Most enjoyable was meeting new people everyday, talking with the public, and free movies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid well, but not a lot of work/life balance
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee), Perrysburg, OHMarch 30, 2013
Pros: free movies, paid well, great health insurance
Cons: open 365, long shifts
Typical day was varied, which was a plus. Never doing the EXACT same thing every day. Learned a lot and was a lot of room for advancement if you worked hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/Usher/Concession (Former Employee), Berlin, CTMarch 23, 2013
Pros: free movie passes and unlimited popcorn
Cons: having to card for r-rated movies and inforce the company policies regarding enterance
I worked here from high school until well into my twenties. A typical day varied, as in that time frame, I worked in just about every position, depending on the need.
In those years, I learned about customer service, and the difficulties in maintaining a balance between being a friendly service person, and having to tell teenagers they couldn't go into – more... an R-rated movies unaccompanied.
I also learned about training new employees at this job.
The most enjoyable part of the job, though, was the free movie passes and unlimited popcorn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Concession Attendant (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYMarch 11, 2013
My first job was initially a seasonal job that I stayed with for 5 years. Management cares about education of employees. Diverse customer base.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviornment
House Manager (Current Employee), Valley Stream NYJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: building relationships with staff and management
Cons: lack of personal time, lack of advancement, work hours
This job has been by far been one of the best jobs ive had. Not only do you get to interact with the public but the mangement always tried to make it fun. Although at times it can be hectic due to fluctuation of the business, it allowed each and every employee and manager to be there best and achieve many goals. Also who doesnt love free movies and – more... popcorn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviornment
House Manager (Current Employee), Valley Stream NYJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: building relationships with staff and management
Cons: lack of personal time, lack of advancement, work hours
This job has been by far been one of the best jobs ive had. Not only do you get to interact with the public but the mangement always tried to make it fun. Although at times it can be hectic due to fluctuation of the business, it allowed each and every employee and manager to be there best and achieve many goals. Also who doesnt love free movies and – more... popcorn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work space
Food Stand Lead (Former Employee), White Plains, NYJanuary 16, 2013
great discounts, clean work space, freashly made popcorn, ok management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After the show
Manager (Former Employee), BrooklynAugust 28, 2012
Pros: meeting different cultural lifestyles, working in the entertainment field, bringing laughter to the movies
Preparing theatre for 55+ employees, handled inventory, assisted customers with anything positive or negative that arose along with administrative tasks.

About National Amusements

Media mogul Sumner Redstone puts the business in show business through National Amusements. What began as a humble drive-in theater – Read more