Find companies:
National Archives And Records Administration
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

National Archives And Records Administration Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at the Presidential Library
Museum Technician (Former Employee), College Station, TXAugust 4, 2014
This job was very rewarding and there was new things to discover each week with the artifacts in our collection.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NARA
IT Asset Management Administrator (Former Employee), College Park, MDJuly 23, 2014
Pros: the historical culture you support
Cons: no structure
Process Tickets
Remedy 7.5, 7.6
Supported High Government Personnel
Held a Key Position in Asset over highly budgeted Asset Management
Great Environment to work in.
Hardest Part of Job- Communication
Most enjoyable- Coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow and develop
Archives Technician (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 21, 2014
Flexible schedule; great benefits; wonderful work/life/school balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Archive Aid (Former Employee), Ellenwood, GAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: work hours were very good.
Cons: very production driven.
I provided reference service by searching for interfiling records in self-indexing filing systems. I also worked with IRS Routine Requests, URP Project, Photocopy Request, and Court Records.
Assisted customers by phone with questions and concerns referring to bankruptcy, criminal, and civil cases, and worked under the departments quota guidelines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Archival Aide (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 25, 2014
Great work - life balance. Management listens to employees. Helping researchers daily. Organizing government information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Archives Technician (Former Employee), College Park, MDMarch 18, 2014
Auditing shelved transfers, training new employees in accessioning processes, re-boxing records from damaged cartons,
and correcting space assignment problems
Screening records in order to separate disposable from non-disposable material including sorting, wrapping,
addressing and logging outgoing mail
Searching, retrieving, refilling, shelving, removing, – more... screening, relocating and shipping Federal records
Performing disposal, refilling of folders and boxes, and relocating records – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work environment was relaxed
Archives Intern (Former Employee), Valmeyer, ILNovember 1, 2013
A typical day at work was pretty relaxed most of the time. I learned how to work more independently rather than in a team such as my previous job. The management was helpful at times but not always clear. My co- workers were my favorite part of my job I got along with everyone very well. There was no difficult part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good cafeteria and snack shop, great sense of history. Fun atmosphere.
UNIX System Engineer (Former Employee), College Park MDOctober 16, 2013
Numerous applications and opportunities to learn applications and new paradigms. Knowing that you are a part of keeping the public informed and keeping the National Archives website online is a good feeling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Internship Program
Archival Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 18, 2013
This was my first internship in a government agency. I really enjoyed working with the staff and felt a great sense of community from the people working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company works well with your schedule if you are a student in college, and acommodates to help you
Sales Representative (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 25, 2013
Pros: friendly supervisors, work well with your school schedule, and paid leave/hoildays
Cons: no opportunities for their employees to grow, lunches aren't paid for, and the location is not the best
This company works well with your schedule if you are a student in college, and accommodates to help you. The supervisors are always friendly, and try to help you as best as they can. However, within this company there is no where to improve. You are kind of just stuck in your day to day activities, and they don't give you anywhere to grow as an employee. – more... After 3 years of the same thing, and no where to grow I am ready for a new job where there are more opportunities for their employees to succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeping the nation records safe and secure for future generations.
Contact Supervisor (Current Employee), San Bruno, CAJune 21, 2013
Pros: secure position
Cons: no cons
My typical day at work is checking the work of others. Making sure that the correct files or documents were pulled and shipped to the customer. I will make sure that all procedures were followed correctly. I have learned to be thoroughly and always on time with my work. I will threat my co-workers fairly and equally, since i was the one writing the – more... Quality Control Notices. The hardest part of my position was being friendly, yet following my own procedures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard environment to work in
Sr. IT Desktop Support Technician (Former Employee), Saint Louis, MissouriMarch 29, 2013
Pros: government holidays
Cons: unfriendly environment - no work/life balance
As a contractor, there were many issues that could not be resolved.
The environment did not feel safe nor friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun Work place.
Intern (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 29, 2013
Pros: government discounts.
Cons: interns do not recieve benefits.
A great place to gain experience while going to school. I gained administrative and personnel training. Co-workers are pleasant to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A demanding yet scholary workplace
Intern (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 14, 2013
What i typically did each day of my internship was file records. I also humidified records and retrieved records for patrons. I learned about preservation, reference, description, educational outreach, and accessioning. Management was very generous in helping me to understand the kind of work that goes on in an archive and in aiding me in completing – more... my tasks. The hardest part of the job was locating records for researchers. The most enjoyable part of the job was talking to my supervisors about the study of history and my own research interests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was a challenging place to work.
Archives Aid (Former Employee), Dayton, OHJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: the pay.
Cons: you have to get out of the building before it locks on you, climbing the ladders to pull files were quite risky!!!
I learned to pull files from the archives. I also learned to climb the ladder can be quite risky to pull the files.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the world's top Archives
Archives Technician (Former Employee), College Park, MDOctober 30, 2012
Pros: smart people
Cons: location not so great
I had the chance to work with very talented archivists and historians.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large government archive with amazing staff!
Archives Intern (Former Employee), Waltham, MAOctober 19, 2012
A really fun place to work. Processed archival collections, weeded materials and indexed information. Incredible information resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job for Robots
Archives Technician (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 4, 2012
Your co-workers, pay and vacation are the only reasons to ever work there. Constantly changing work envoirment that is seldomly in favor with a majority of the work force. Managements discourages their workers from using their earned vacation leave. Socializing is frowned upon by management. They consistently target specific workers to "let go" based – more... on some new job element that is implemented over night. There was a worker who only showed up for work 3 hours before their day was suppose to end, but was paid for an 8 hour day because they were not on managments "radar". They are only looking to employ student workers because they are cheap and do not require a lot of medical time off. The only enjoyable part were the holidays off and the relationships you made with the general workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Archives Technician (Former Employee), Ellenwood, GAJuly 11, 2012
Fun place to work and learned a lot and great for history buffs!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
File Clerk- Duties (Former Employee), St LouisJuly 2, 2012
Pros: knowledgeable of product, customer assistance, over time
Cons: out of stock merchandise, and rain check
Each day started on a review of new toys and ideas from coperrate. We then would have to unload a truck starting with preping the storeroom for new inventory, checking the new inventory list and match this with what we unload. Repack the the empty truck with return merchdise and recycled cardboard and broken paletts. Also helping when called for customer – more... assistence on the salesfloor and carry outs. I also got the chance to enter act with differnt people on calls for store hours of operation and what was ion stock or on sale. – less