National Geographic Employee Reviews

Found 20 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New in kid's tv
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Northfield, ILDecember 8, 2016
They are new in Kid's programming. They are being cheap and hired a cheap and lazy production company to produce our TV show, which showed in the end product.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Journalist (Former Employee) –  WarsawOctober 2, 2015
I’ve brought my news site from green and lean to a trusted resource that is overflowing with all the information readers need to make their lives better.

I am proud of the work I have done this year.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved It
Production assistant for America's Got Talent (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 21, 2015
This was a great experience and I worked with an amazing crew. Definitely an experience I will never forget. We shot a lot and had a lot of fun. I would work here again.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, encouraging work environment with reasonable hours
Music Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 5, 2015
I loved working for Nat Geo, the office was lively and the employees always had a chipper attitude. I felt like a peer and an equal alongside my superiors, something not often found in a major company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific place for a contractor
Map Auditing Contractor (Former Employee) –  Evergreen, COMay 3, 2015
Very hands off management
Terrific work-life balance
Enjoyed the drive the most, once a week to pick up work
Awesome co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and nurturing environment
Associate Producer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 25, 2015
Working at National Geographic with Brain Games has been one of the most rewarding work experiences I've ever encountered. It's rare to find such a diverse group of talented individuals who are so in sync with each other's mission to create a high-quality final product. Despite the physical separations of the pre-production, production, and post teams, the workflow seemed like one cohesive family. The management was exceptional and very encouraging of creativity and advancement in roles. As an AP, I learned an extensive amount concerning not just the content, but about the entire storytelling and producing process. Everyone was always extremely friendly and helpful no matter the task at hand. Overall, an unparalleled and unforgettable experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Deckhand/Steward (Former Employee) –  AKDecember 30, 2014
Responsible for maintenance/cleaning of the interior/exterior of the vessel. In addition, assist with bridge watch/navigation, perform hourly security patrols including nightly engine room inspections, and assist with general boat operations.
Pros
free travel
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
Production Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 27, 2014
Excellent work place. Enjoyed my work there. Wanted to write no openings at the time I was there.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very talented people to work with
Editor (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 8, 2014
These were great shows to work on. The footage was incredible. The subject matter was generally exciting.
Pros
very open sharing environment
Cons
The days could be long and intense
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 8, 2014
Everyone is great, and are very professional. They are considerate of your situation (being in field), and there's a profound respect given
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a graet company to work for.
Egyptologist Guide / Interpreter / Tour Manager (Former Employee) –  EgyptFebruary 20, 2014
Nat Geo is a great company. working is extremly tyring, but the friendly atmosphere is what keeps it easy.
Management is great.
parteners are very cooperative
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing crew
REALITY STAR (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 12, 2014
A lot of stress but worth the pay and experience. Learned everything from how to manage myself better to learning how to listen to others more sufficiently. Hardest part was at the end when the ratings were not as high as we thought and I was left without a job. I also grew apart from my family afterwards but I think that happened for the good.
Pros
YOU WON'T FIND A BETTER JOB
Cons
YOU WILL WISH YOU WERE BORN INTO A NON CONFRONTATIONAL FAMILY
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small firm, nice environment
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Margate, FLDecember 18, 2013
I enjoyed working here and was given more responsibility due to my work ethic.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bluechip pub now relies primarily on contractors
Freelance editorial projects (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 13, 2013
The quality of the staffers is great, but all complain about being overworked & underpaid. They hire contractors indefinitely to fill huge staffing holes, which are the results of many rounds of layoffs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, small and professional office
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 23, 2013
I had a lot of opportunity to write while I was here, whether in development or show-based. That was my favorite part, although I didn't get paid much since I worked while I was in school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 13, 2012
There are a lot of nice people that work here but, you have to be either management or VP to gain the wholesome respect. Overall, it's a nice place to visit with friends or family to explore.
Pros
great learning experience, nice buildings.
Cons
expensive cafe.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked on set as an Locations Assistant.
LOCATIONS ASSISTANT ON "KILLING LINCOLN" (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 15, 2012
Long hours on set, required to keep people off set during shoots. Prior to shoots helping to set up locations.
Pros
free lunches, nice coworkers
Cons
long hours, worked late
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun co-workers
Internship (Former Employee) –  Washington DCJuly 31, 2012
Fun place to work, but at times could get a little boring. Everybody was really nice and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Margate, FLJuly 29, 2012
It's typical office work. You get there you start your assignments and when you have nothing to do you start asking what you can help with. Management is rarely there, the only times are when they need to sign your timesheet/other approvals or when you need some assignments.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report

See more National Geographic reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Geographic. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
4.0
Culture
4.3