National Guard Employee Reviews

Found 7,963 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Bellemont, AZSeptember 27, 2016
Great team work, benefits and a reason to get up every day and keep going in life. Additional pay helps out with family life as well.
Pros
Extra Income
Cons
Part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a way to gain the best second family
Personal Fitness Trainer (Current Employee) –  RISeptember 27, 2016
hard work at times, but always fun. outstanding comrodery and friendships gained trough the years that will last a life time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starting point.
Avionics Mechanic (Current Employee) –  JBLM, WASeptember 27, 2016
They send you to training, but you don't use the trade enough to retain any of the material. Promotions are limited. But they do pay for college, so if you can stand the one weekend a month and two weeks in the summer. and the deployment overseas every three years to get a degree than the guardis for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 romeo
21r interior electrician (Former Employee) –  Mocksville, NCSeptember 26, 2016
21 romeo is a electrical engineer. Following schematics to the tee i had to wire buildings foreign and domestic. While being a soldier and training for missions.
Pros
Money, college, and freedom if you do right
Cons
None. I did right
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving your country
1st Lieutenant (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXSeptember 26, 2016
Spending a few days a month and two weeks a years to serve your country by being a member of the Army National Guard. Building friendships and connections with people you may never know otherwise.
Pros
Use of services on Base
Cons
Balancing civilian life with militay life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to work with
Captain, Aviation (Former Employee) –  Camp Murray, WASeptember 26, 2016
Awesome group of people to work with daily. Able to learn lots and given great leadership by some of the finest officers and senior enlisted the Army has.
Pros
Great Boss
Cons
Job Security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best thing that could ever happen to someone
All Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Clovis, NMSeptember 26, 2016
The people I work with are like family we always have each others backs. Every one learns each others jobs if your a mechanic you can cross train and become a driver. the hardest part of the job is getting deployed means your away from your family from 9 to 14 months but when your deployed your family is taken care of by your battle buddies families every one helps everyone. the most enjoyable part of the job in my opinion is you get to help people in need.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
a lot of free time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work space
MOTOR TRANS OP & SIG SUPP SYS SPEC (Current Employee) –  Teaneck, NJSeptember 26, 2016
Easy place to work for anyone who has a clear focus on what they want their career path to turn out as. Great room for improvement and growth. It's very diverse and culturally based.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Texas Army National Guard / Military Tech
Aircraft Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 25, 2016
Great at first, really good money. You must wear two different hats in order to be successful at being both a soldier and a Military Technician. The stress level of having to change out those hats can become problematic at times.
Pros
Great Pay, Job Security.
Cons
You have to wear two kinds of hats causing problems between home life and work life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
M1 Armor Crewman (Former Employee) –  Red Springs, NCSeptember 23, 2016
was a great company to work for and a great experience. i would recommend this company to anyone. would work for them again in the future. i find them to be ethical.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the training and team effort
Squad Leader/2 PLT 3 Squad (Current Employee) –  Fairhope, ALSeptember 23, 2016
I've enjoyed my service and would never trade it pack. I meet wonderful soldiers and people from all over the country and world and learned you can never judge a book by its cover.
Pros
Training and experience
Cons
Time consuming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with limited assets availbile
Logistics Officer (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, NYSeptember 23, 2016
Due to the limited funding the NGB receives and distributes through out each State, The National Guard, from the highest to the lowest levels do what they can with what they have. Especially since standards need to be achieved with-in the Active Components parameters.
Pros
Good training and opporunity to learn
Cons
limited resources
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Computer system was outdated.
Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALSeptember 23, 2016
Training on the computer system we had at the time depended on whether or not the computer was working. Our computer training relied on being assigned to a regular Army computer unit during our 2 week annual training. Much of the other time was spent training in basic soldier skills. My fellow Guard unit members were a good group. As mentioned before, the lack of training on an outdated computer system was a detriment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical infantry training
Specialist (E-4) (Current Employee) –  Green Bay, WISeptember 23, 2016
It is nice being able to serve my country and be a part of a brotherhood and still be able to enjoy the civilian life and be able to have a civilian job and spend time with family and friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Systems Administrator (25Q) (Current Employee) –  DelawareSeptember 23, 2016
I would rommend rhe Delaware National Guard to every man and woman. There are so many perks to include help with paying off college swbt ro life insurance and medical coverage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Indirect-fire Infantryman (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 22, 2016
Words cannot explain how much my service meant to me. I recommend anybody willing to serve their country and community to call a recruiter ASAP!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Human Resource/Training Generalist (Current Employee) –  Little Falls, MNSeptember 22, 2016
Good employer with flexible scheduling, and great benefits, depending on your manager. This can also be dramatically different if you have poor management.
Pros
Benefits, Pay, Flexibility
Cons
Constant Change (both pro and con), Subject to unwanted relocation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company cohesion
Squad Leader (Current Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GASeptember 22, 2016
Through out the company there is a great cohesion through every level. If anyone needs help there is always someone there to assist them in anyway possible. When it comes to getting tasks completed by the deadline it always gets completed with effort from all the leadership. The knowledge is vast and strong for everyone to be able to learn from.
Pros
Great Leadership
Cons
Being away from family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Rear Detachment Training NCO (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, FL 33020September 22, 2016
THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A TRYPICAL WORK DAY

I Became highly proficient in various Ms Office Applications,

CO workers are great

I did not and do not like the toxic micromanagement climate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and some extra cash
Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, NYSeptember 22, 2016
great benefits and some extra cash. plus you get to help your community and country by serving. learn new skills and you can get into shape also. you will learn military tactics and drills, weapons training, job skills and hand to hand combat.
Pros
benefits are great and the money isn't bad
Cons
stressful and physically and mentally draining
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 8,115 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
4.4
Management
4.2
Culture
4.4