Find companies:
National Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,819 reviews

National Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sgt Jesse Sublett (Current Employee), Conway, ARAugust 28, 2014
Allot of people think that the military is rough tough and hard to handle. On a typical day my soldiers and I get our task done and then we start training for our next mission. I'am a leader and I lead my soldiers to greatness by using there strengths to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bp Oil Spill
Specialist / E4 Infantryman (Current Employee), Cullman, ALAugust 28, 2014
My unit was activated to respond to Mobile Al, as a Security measure for the Bp Oil Spill, we patrolled on night and day shifts to keep protesters and workers apart during that time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very group Oriented
91B - Light Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 28, 2014
Pros: job skill training, benifits, job security.
Cons: enviroment locations vary.
Note:Work days consist of 2 day sessions per month. 2 weeks during mid-summer.

A typical day at work is slow to start but will speed up to involve maintaining desiel equipment rangeing from Humvees to Millitary Recovery Vehicles. Management is superb due to millitary enviroment. My co-workers are engageing during time of rest and work hours. The hardest – more... part of the job is the work load during annual training. The moat enjoyable time during the work days are doing a job skill that I personally enjoy and wish to continue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Life
71L - Administrative Specialist (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAAugust 27, 2014
If you have been in the military, you would understand. It is hard to explain
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and high paced work environment with flexible hours and people oriented leaders.
Automated Logistical Specialist (Enlisted) (92A) (Current Employee), Grand Ledge, MIAugust 27, 2014
Many opportunities to acquire over time.Working well with most co-workers and not so well with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Family Readiness Support Assistant (FRSA) (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 27, 2014
Excellent place to work. Great people who were willing to help whenever possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Aircraft/Blackhawk Mechanic (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 27, 2014
Pros: everything
Not a company. It's the ARMY. Worked on BlackHawks. Learned alot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding opportunities to learn leadership and develop career skills
Human Resource Manager (Current Employee), Yakima, WAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: assignment variety, compensation, benefits, leadership opportunities, on-the-job training
Great opportunities to gain education, train, and lead during assignements. The military compensation and benefits are hard to beat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization.
State Recruiter (Former Employee), Freehold, NJAugust 26, 2014
Great and positive environment. An outstanding education and employment opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, Demanding and Rewarding
Section Sergeant (Current Employee), Easton, PAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: management skills development.
Cons: takes your personal time, often fustrating
The job is challenging because you have to adapt to continent changes from higher authorities and applying those changes to your team(s).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and an opportunity to serve country.
Security Team Leader (Former Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 25, 2014
The National Guard is a great place to learn skills in many different areas, including leadership skills. Most importantly you gain a sense of pride for serving your fellow citizens.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to advance professionally and educationally
Operator/Maintainer (Current Employee), Macon, GAAugust 25, 2014
I work with the national guard one weekend out of the month and two weeks out of the year. Whenever i go in im being refreshed on the job skills I learned while I was active and also other job skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be prepare to have no life
Army National Guard (Former Employee), Staunton, VaAugust 24, 2014
Some people are built for the military some are not. I just wasn't prepared for what I sign up for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity
HEALTH CARE SERGEANT (Current Employee), AlabamaAugust 24, 2014
I am a proud member of the Nation Guard for over 8 years now.. Every time I report in for duty I am challenge mentally and physically. I gain experience that helps me to be more productive on the civilian side. I interact with several different cultures and ways of thinking which in the end helps to widen my understanding of the world around me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing beats the camaraderie of the military
Avionics Technician (Former Employee), GeorgiaAugust 23, 2014
It is an awesome pleasure to serve with people that willingly make the sacrifice to go above and beyond the call of duty to help protect out great country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing beats the camaraderie of the military
Avionics Technician (Former Employee), GeorgiaAugust 23, 2014
It is an awesome pleasure to serve with people that willingly make the sacrifice to go above and beyond the call of duty to help protect out great country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mental and Physical Discipline
Cable Installer (Current Employee), Pensacola, FLAugust 23, 2014
Pros: soldier teamwork
Cons: unnecessary stress
During a normal duty day, we would test our equipment to make sure it was all working properly. We would turn on the equipment and run troubleshooting procedures if the equipment would ever shut down for unknown reasons. Learning the signal equipment such as the STT and networking computer stacks, has allowed me to come to know how to perform a variety – more... of job duties such as connecting the STT to the satellite, connecting to the internet, running troubleshooting tasks, active directory, tacnet, helpdesk technician tasks, and networking and systems administration. My fellow Soldiers and I are a very cohesive unit often praised as the best in the battalion by the battalion Command Sergeant Major and battalion Commander. The hardest part of the job was the long hours spent in front of the equipment to maintain the working aspect of the equipment, but the most enjoyable part of the job was the camaraderie between me and my fellow soldiers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Automated Logistical Specialist (Former Employee), IndianaAugust 23, 2014
Great teamwork, great friends, nice pay, may deploy often, and the national guard is only one weekend a month 2 weeks in the summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful work with life-long benefits
Staff Sergeant (Current Employee), Clifton Forge, VAAugust 23, 2014
Pros: great benefits, good respectable name
Cons: some employers are not a flexible with scheduling and may try to give you a hard time.
Serving in the Army National Guard has opened up doors for me that I would not have ever imagined. The possibility of advancement is always present; however, you have to want to do the work to get there. The hardest thing about this job is that you have to work harder at your civilian job being that you have to show them you are an asset to the company, – more... school or what have you. In other words, you have to make it hard for them to terminate you in the event that you have to leave your position for an extended amount of time due to deployment or training orders. Even though, by law, you cannot be fired for military service, employers will try to find something to "ding" you for. Being here has taught me that hard work does, indeed, pay off in the end. Honestly, if I had not joined the National Guard, I do not know which path my life would be on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Senior Supply Sergeant (Current Employee), Greenville, KYAugust 22, 2014
Pros: stay ready for the unexpected
Cons: staying informed when not present during the week.
Challenging, but rewarding. One weekend a month. Focus is in Logistics and sometimes Administrative.

1 2 3 4 5

About National Guard

The National Guard serves both state and federal governments. The difference between the Guard and other branches is that while – Read more