Find companies:
National Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,165 reviews

National Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business oriented work place
Petroleum Supply Specialist (Current Employee), National Guard Armory Savannah, GANovember 21, 2014
Pros: friendly work environment, stress free location
Cons: not enough people for work load
Coordinates an ammunition pick up and supply point. Learning about the different types of rounds each weapon shoot. Management is somewhat organized and my co-workers are very team oriented people we work together. The hardest part of the jobs is correcting the other personals equipment the comes back with defaults. The most enjoyable thing about the – more... job is finishing the turn in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved to drive military vehicles
88M Truck Driver (Former Employee), Cape May, NJNovember 21, 2014
Pros: driving
Cons: only on weekends
was a great time to enjoy the life of a soldier and get away from civillian world as a 88M i drove military vehicles. only on weekends but loved to drive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad
Supply Specialist (Current Employee), Teaneck, NJNovember 20, 2014
its only one weekend a month so it is not that bad i actually enjoy going there. it is something different from everything ive done you learn to love it after awhile it is hard if you do not do a lot of physical activity but after awhile you learn to just love it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work at
Forward Area Air Defense Engagement Operator (Current Employee), Washington, DCNovember 20, 2014
If you want to become more educated, and broaden your knowledge, while getting school paid for. Join the SC Army national Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not for everyone.
Military Police Officer (Former Employee), Youngstown, OHNovember 20, 2014
Pros: free lunches, travel
Cons: unprofessional leadership
If you are on the pt failure program, you have show up at least an hour early for pt before first formation which can vary between ten minutes to a half-hour. After formation, the platoon sergeant will typically have the platoon in formation for an extra few minutes to discuss what he or she has to tell us ( duty assignments, inventory, vehicle maintenance, – more... training, etc.). The rest of the day typically includes noncommissioned officers disrespecting junior enlisted soldiers, clean up duties, etc. The co-workers are from all different types of backgrounds in terms of socio-economic backgrounds, various professions, various degrees of education, etc. Management is not typically the same as it varies from company to company. The management from my company did seem rather unorganized and not entirely professional while displaying heavy favoritism towards other platoons and their leaders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant interaction with COCOMs
Program Manager (Former Employee), Arlington VANovember 20, 2014
Hard to get leave to go back home due to long hours.

Always many meetings and working groups to attend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days and nights multi tasking and following through
Operations Sergeant (Current Employee), USANovember 19, 2014
Pros: worked with the best in the world
Cons: worked in the worst palce on the planet
Start at 6 am and work tell all task are accomplished.
I learned how to deal with stress.
Hardest part of my job is asking others to do jobs that most wont or cant
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Private first class (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHNovember 19, 2014
Pros: free lunch, course, and meet great people
Cons: dress code is a must no inceptions
its a great organization to meet new people and learn new things. the most enjoyable part of the job is field training and weapons training. a typical day at work would be being at the right place, at the right time, wearing the right uniform.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and team players
Supply Sergeant (Former Employee), Jackson, LANovember 19, 2014
Fun and exciting to be around people who you know will go above and beyond to assist you with anything and everything. I have learn a lot of things in the army and to cope and survive at any cost. I missed and loved majority of the people I have worked with and came in contact with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding experience defending constitution.
Armored Tank Crewman (Former Employee), Parkton, NCNovember 19, 2014
Pros: travel, benefits and educational benefits
Cons: deployments, safety.
I learned what it means to be part of a team and work in unison with others regardless of surface differences. I learned how to react accordingly to most situations and set myself up for success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military service
Military Police (Current Employee), Sheridan, ILNovember 18, 2014
Hard job with great rewards, great management and great culture. Plenty of learning and travel opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Military Police Team Leader (Former Employee), Cheboygan, MINovember 18, 2014
Amazing experience and words are hard to describe. I only served 6 years but wouldn't change it for anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work Required but Great Benefits
11B - Infantryman (Current Employee), Tallahassee, FLNovember 18, 2014
Pros: benefits and unique experiences.
- Enjoyable and exciting.
- Unique experiences.
- Hard work required.
- Benefits and pride outweigh the cost.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Requires Emmense Energy
Lieutenant Platoon Leader (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 17, 2014
Pros: active environment
Cons: n/a
Currently, my position as an Army officer my workload is demanding, varied and includes research, writing reports and supervising live military operations. This role allowed me to develop my research, analytical and problem-solving skills as well as my knowledge of the armed forces. I have been able to practice and develop my leadership skills as I – more... am often called upon to monitor large spectrum operations. Working in an officer capacity has also given me the opportunity to work autonomously on more complex task, and was able to foster successful working relationships with colleagues and victims of disasters and emergency responders.

I have also developed my practical interpersonal skills as I was chosen to complete the Master Resiliency Trainer course earlier this year. Which improves soldier readiness and I am currently the primary training official in my unit of assignment. In addition to increasing my understanding of comprehensive issues affecting ordinary people, I have also recently completed the U.S. Department of Homeland Security FEMA Emergency Management Institute independent study introduction course for the incident Command System for Law Enforcement. This experience, among others has reinforced my dedication to professional and equitable stability representation for all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short time, new experience.
Human Resource Specialist (Former Employee), Barrigada, Guam 96928November 17, 2014
Pros: training was fun
Cons: no comment
Great learning experience, training was fun and you meet different people from all aspects of life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard owrking and fun.
Utility Equipment Repairer (Current Employee), South CarolinaNovember 17, 2014
Pros: serving my country
Cons: long days and deployments
I supervise 10 soldiers in troubleshooting and repairs to various different types of HVAC/R systems from small automobile AC to large chillers and ship board containers. I have learned to be flexible in with others working that they may take longer to do the job that would take me less time. I really enjoy teaching solders things that I know about HVAC/R.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, profetional
92w Water Treatment Specialist Rank SPC (Current Employee), juana diaz/ puerto ricoNovember 17, 2014
Its a very interesting job, nice coworkers and lots of things to do and learn every day. Different task and missions to complete and be done its a very good job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment.
Company commander. (Current Employee), Fort Pickett, Blackstone, VANovember 17, 2014
Pros: professional people and great working environment.
A typical day at work involves morning formation followed by a staff meeting. SAR training missions are planned and executed, followed by debriefing and filing an AAR. As the company commander, my fellow officers are highly trained and quite efficient at their job responsibilities. The hardest part of the job is the continuing FEMA courses required – more... to pass as the are redundant, just reworded. The most enjoyable part is serving out country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detailed and organized
TARGETING OFFICER (Current Employee), KUWAITNovember 17, 2014
Daily review mission and target sets, manage soldiers, update data and format to provide information to commander and supporting staff officers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Service
Forward Observer Non-Commissioned Officer (Former Employee), Fayetteville, ARNovember 16, 2014
A typical day was extremely rewarding.
I learned how to manage troops and equipment.
My leader ship was among some of the best still great friends with them and they provide invaluable mentor ship.
My co workers work hard as a team to get the job done no mater what are where it was.
There was a lot of rough stuff that you just dealt with.
Getting to – more... serve my Country here and over seas – less

1 2 3 4 5

About National Guard

The National Guard serves both state and federal governments. The difference between the Guard and other branches is that while – Read more